We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Campground!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Redwoods RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My partner and I stayed in a luxury cabin at the end of April with our dog. We loved it and had a blast! The cabin we stayed in (cabin 1) was clean and SO CUTE! It had a fully equipped kitchen with a full refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave and any utensil you could possibly need. The beds could’ve been a bit more comfortable for our liking but overall our cabin experience was AMAZING!

The staff was very friendly and gave us a ton of information on things to do in the area. The resort itself is beautiful and well-maintained with large redwood trees scattered throughout the site and around the outskirts. There is a convenient dog wash station which came in handy after we walked our pup through a muddy trail that runs behind the grounds.

We walked around and noticed some camp sites are much more private than others – I would request a site near the rear of the grounds for increased privacy. It was quiet and peaceful at night while we relaxed by our bonfire with the only downfall being that they leave the “street lights” on all night so it never truly gets dark. The only other con would be a lack of night security and no security gate that closes after a certain time. The site right off the highway and open for anyone to drive through during the middle of the night.

No review on the bathroom/shower since we had our own private bathroom in our cabin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ang2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My family of six camped for 2 nights in our Class A. It was one of our favorite campgrounds, as far as the grounds. We went in April so it was very empty. My kids played all morning in the stump of a Redwood tree. Some of the staff were a bit grumpy, but we explored the Redwoods most of the day, so we didn't see them too much.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank StathamFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The grounds were just awesome. Lots of huge trees and decaying stumps make for really unique sites and quiet. The attention to detail was out of this world. The playground was new and big. We didn't use a cabin, but they looked really nice. I contemplated the Jedidiah Smith campground in our trip planning, but glad we didn't go there as that park was very tight and wouldn't handle much more than a pop-up easily. I was concerned about being 7 miles out of town, but it's an easy highway drive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill_Alisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Best and only good thing were the trees. Bathroom dirty and unacceptable to shower in. Oh by the way...it is located across from a prison which they inform you after you have paid. Creepy.And you are also told that you will hear sirens but not to worry because they are only rescue vehicles not for prison breaks or tsunamis. Live and learn.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Marydruppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We just stayed one night in this amazing park! Our family personally prefers a "state park" type setting that is more wooded and this place hit the nail on the head. Wish we would have been able to stay in the area longer as the kids really wanted to explore the place on their bikes, but atlas time didn't allow for that. The spots were very spacious and with nice large trees. The park was clean and quiet and the office staff was very pleasant and helpful when we checked in. Definitely will be back when we get into the area. Another plus, we were traveling with four children and they didn't charge us extra like some places do. Nothing irks me more than to have to pay $3-4 extra a person each night. How much extra utilities and water do kids use? Thankfully this park agreed and we paid about $35 for the night with our Good Sam discount and the sales tax.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CouponClipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was a lovely cabin, though it was much smaller than anticipated. We were only two people...and two dogs, so the space was fine, but I think it would quite cramped with six people (the number of people it sleeps). We stayed in a luxury cabin....number one. Also, we think this is actually a trailer with cabin siding, which was totally fine, just not what we expected. Also, the upstairs loft area has quite low ceilings....we had to crouch or walk on our knees....it's about 3-4 ft tall. I don't think the pictures portrayed that accurately. I've included pictures...of the loft, stairwell, and our view from the covered porch.

Room Tip: From the outside, it looked like the premium cabin was bigger than the luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank halekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights in this perfect park; and I do mean perfect! Nice manager, clean facilities, wonderful layout and oh! Those beautiful towering trees! Even fully booked on a Saturday night the park is still serene. It was recommended to us by friends and now we recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethanyLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
8.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
792 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
8.9 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
7.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Crescent City
223 reviews
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Crescent City
Super 8 Crescent City
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redwoods RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwoods RV Resort

Address: 6701 Highway 101 North, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 109

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing