We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice”
Review of Bayview Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayview Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on way thru town. Checked out few other places in town also but stayed here. Can't beat the staff & the beds were surprisingly comfortable. Restaurant next door was convenient. Only suggestions would be better shower heads & bent shower curtain rods to make tub a little roomier.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Brandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had an accessible room and this is the first time on our current trip that we've had such an excellent bathroom. There were no obstacles getting into the shower--the floor was flat and constructed so that water simply drained nearby without getting all over the rest of the bathroom. If we had had a wheelchair we would have had complete accessibility.

There was a long vanity with one sink so there was plenty of room for both or our toiletries. The bed was comfortable and we had an excellent night's sleep.

We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrBabs65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stopped here to see the Redwoods. Bay view was is a great location. Not many amenities, but we weren't there to spend time at the hotel. Our room was spacious, clean, and the bed was comfortable. This hotel is a great value. There is nice family restaurant next door that will give you a small discount if you are staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taffyb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We came across this hotel after we quickly vacated the Econo Lodge in the same city due to a horrible experience. We stopped at another hotel right down the street and they wanted $139 for the night. This ended up being only $69 for the night (veteran discount) for a double queen room!

We were very happy with the HUGE room. It definitely could use some updating but I could care less. The vanity area was huge and there was even a sofa in the room. The bed didn't look that comfortable but looks are deceiving. We had a great night's sleep.

Noise was not an issue for us since we were in the back, 2nd building, on the back side away from traffic. Plus we always run the air to drown out any noise.

There was no breakfast but for $69 who cares? We went to the Safeway down the street and got some awesome bagels and juice.

I'm usually one to stick to the chain hotels, but if you are going to be in Crescent City, either passing through or staying a few days, I would definitely recommend Bay View Inn.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about traffic noise, ask for a room on the backside of the 2nd/back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank squiffy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed on the second floor of the newer building in a room facing the street. This motel is right along the highway, so you will hear some road noise. The rooms facing the bay really don't have a view, but they might be good for being away from the traffic.

Your "key" will be an actual single key, not a set of cards. The staff was nice and helpful.

The buildings are outdated and have lots of areas that need repair or touch-ups. Our room had a refrigerator that was missing a leg, drapes with slashes in them, a mattress with stains on the sides, and the bottom sheet kept coming off of the mattress on one corner due to it being too small. The mattress and pillows were comfortable though. We did not hear very much noise from other guests.

Breakfast is not included with the stay, but the Apple Peddler restaurant next door gives 10% off. Unfortunately, it is not a highly rated restaurant and the food is overpriced. We did not try it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2tortoiseshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This place was a second choice as the higher rated hotel was booked solid. The woman at the front desk was friendly and we were just grateful to have a room. The room was in a separate building next to the raunchy restaurant at the top of the stairs. I was a little apprehensive when you see fellow travelers (possibly from Pelican Bay) sitting in front of their windows chain smoking Newports and having some beers...car doors locked, check...front door locked,check. The room looked more like a hospital room than a motel room, sink right next to the bed with a long fluorescent lamp running along the top. The tv came in fuzzy and wifi was great if you stood by the window facing the highway otherwise it was nonexistent. It was clean enough and it was nice having a mini fridge. The bed had seen better days and you could feel each and every spring poking through. I have stayed in worse but hopefully will not have to go back ever!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob_g03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

On our way to Redwoods. Great deal! $59 for 2 adults. Room was spacious, very clean and bed was comfy. We liked so much that we stayed another night! Restaurant next door. I don't look for swanky. I look for clean and good price for senior citizen's budget. This was very clean and didn't break the bank. Also, ocean was behind the motel. No ocean view, but could walk to the ocean.

Room Tip: Rooms on back of building are quiet. No traffic behind motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.1 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
20.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
0.6 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Inn

Address: 310 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531-4412
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Inn is in the center of fun, close to restaurants, the harbor, and all activities unique to the North Coast, without compromising your budget. Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms await your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crescent City Bay View Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing