We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most GORGEOUS campsites I have been to!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jedediah Smith Campground
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My boyfriend and I are avid tent campers, and have traveled all over the US and Canada, exploring one campsite at a time - and this is one of the most memorable experiences for us!! The lush surroundings were absolutely breathtaking; I was in awe of the towering, beautiful redwoods all around us! The redwoods also offered a lot of privacy for our campsite, which is something that I really appreciated.

I highly recommend this campsite to anyone who wants an up-close and personal encounter with the Redwood Forest! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank Kristian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Jedediah Smith Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at site 22 in a motor home. The site was the largest and most private I have ever camped in in an RV. We had a walking path to a nice beach on the vey clean river. Wonderful visitor center. This was one of our favorite places in Redwood National park.

Room Tip: I think site 22 is the best site in the ark if you like privacy. It is close to the river, but not...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twintravelers04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My wife and I just spent four nights camping here with our tent trailer. I have some positive comments but many more negative ones. The campground fee is expensive, priced too much for sites without RV hookups. It's the most I've ever seen for a State Park. There are showers but you have to pay and even the firewood is costly. The campground has new restrooms but their design is crazy. Instead of a standard men's and women's, each with 4 toilets -- like you see everywhere -- the buildings have 4 showers and 4 private unisex restrooms. The result is that you have to keep circling the building, trying the doors until one opens. Of course there are always several others playing this game with you. Now I'm a guy. Most restroom trips are fast but here, you have to wait with the women. There's more: you're waiting for people to leave the private restroom each with sinks so you're also waiting for them to do their morning/evening routine, makeup, whatever. I'll move on after I make one more point. Like I said, I'm a guy. No matter how long I wait, when an older lady comes up, of course I let her go first. Bathroom waits exceeded 20 minutes every day. OK, moving on: the campground has clouds of mosquitoes, so bring Deet. It's beautiful and the trees are amazing. It's quiet. I figure the steep fees keep the young people and their loud music away. 

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank millron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank CMRS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
6.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
456 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
311 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
7.1 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jedediah Smith Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jedediah Smith Campground

Address: 1440 US Highway 199, Crescent City, CA 95531-9301
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 90

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing