We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the past”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crescent Beach Motel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I thought this motel had a nice beach motel from the '50-60's ambiance. The way car travel used to be. The small rooms have old character and open right on to the beach and ocean. A sun bleached wooden deck runs along all the rooms with chairs. Hear the waves, smell the ocean air. He rooms were clean and comfy bed. We liked the place and the price was fair. I think it is the only lodging actually on the beach/ocean. It fills up in summer and fall.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bluecanoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Hi Dan!
Thank you for visiting and for the review. Crescent Beach Motel does fill up every single day in the summer, so it is best to book early. We will save a place on the deck for you. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Crescent Beach Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were very disappointed once we saw our room. Very out dated inside with poor lighting, down right depressing. No microwave or refrigerator in your room. No real breakfast available. Over priced for the services provided. Beautiful location. Wouldn't stay there again, bad choice!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaragiuffreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Hi Barbara,
We are a little surprised at the review since you came back to stay with us a second night and during the 45 minute plus conversation with Kade at the front desk, none of your concerns were expressed. I understand that he helped you find the local attractions and places to eat that made your stay a little better. We have a microwave available from 6:30 in the morning until 9:45pm in the coffee room next to the lobby. In room refrigerators are available. If you look at Trip Advisor, you will find no mention of breakfast. We provide hot oatmeal and fresh fruit daily to provide that little extra and help you get your day started. During the time you stayed, we were sold out and had a waiting list of people wanting to stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I decided to take a road trip for our anniversary. One of those let's see where we end up kind of things. what a lucky find it was for us coming across to your hotel. The room was a little outdated but very very clean, And you couldn't find nicer staff anywhere. you truly made our anniversary trip a memorable one and we will most definitely!! be back thank you very much. C & K

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babycakessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi C&K!
We are so glad that both of you enjoyed your anniversary! You guys are such a great couple. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We did not have reservations but when we stopped in they had two rooms available but they were smoking rooms. The manager walked us down to see both of them. Since one of the rooms had windows on both the beach side an the opposite side, there was a great breeze going right through the room, so the smoke smell was not even evident. There was a back porch with adirondak chairs, so you could just sit and watch the ocean. The location was spectacular with a long beach to walk on. The rooms were dated, but they were clean and adequate. The location made up for any shortcoming in the room. We were very lucky to have stopped when we did because while I was checking in, the No Vacancy sign was lit. Would definitely stay here again. The management was super friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie49St_Francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi Julie!

We are so glad that you got a room right before all the rooms were taken! The middle section where you stayed will be updated and upgraded this November when things slow down for the off season. We hope that you can return and enjoy the improvements. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our second visit to the Crescent Beach Motel and this time was just as great as the first. This isn't the Hilton, but its very clean, quiet and right on the beach. The management is wonderful, responding quickly to a small problem we had with our sliding glass door. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the deck meeting and talking with other guests and enjoying the beautiful views. We highly recommend this motel to anyone wanting a comfortable place to stay with terrific views.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi Judi1211!

We are so glad that you returned to visit. We hope that you can return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Location on the beach was perfect, room was nice, bed comfortable, staff friendly, even the other residents were almost too personable. The only detractor was a horn that blew out on the water all night every 10 seconds. We tried closing the sliding door to the back deck, but there was no A/C, and it was too toasty in the room to leave it closed. Price wasn't outrageous either.

Room Tip: The Ocean views are priceless
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elbojbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi Elbojbb!

We are happy that you enjoyed your experience even with the fog horn noise from the harbor (a mile away). My guess is that if you expect the sound to go away after each sound off, you could be kept awake for a long time. If you know that it will continue through a foggy night, then it will actually lull you to sleep. I think this is a great post for people to read that are thinking about staying here. Thank you for posting! We enjoyed having you as a guest and hope that you can return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

If you want a beach vacation this is your place. Yes, the rooms are tiny but the location is totally worth it. Staff were all very nice and room was clean with all the necessities. Worth every penny! The proximity to the Redwoods also makes this a great location. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rimrocknoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi RimRockNoni!

Thank you for the review! We do hope that you can return someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
1.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
463 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Beach Motel

Address: 1455 Redwood Hwy. S., Crescent City, CA
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
#3 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: £49 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you get any closer to the beach than from Crescent Beach Motel rooms, your blankets would get wet! Beachfront lodging is what we offer. In pure comfort, you can go to sleep to the sound of crashing waves (or shut them out if you prefer) and wake to see the beachfront without lifting your head from pillow. Open the sliding glass door and smell the fresh ocean salt air. It's a dream come true - Oceanfront lodging- at a price you can afford! There is nothing to spoil your ocean front view from our rooms. No high rise buildings or fast food signs -- just miles of open beachfront - totally unspoiled. Enjoy walks on the beach, whale watching, kite flying, or just lounging on the deck watching the ocean. When you want something more, just a few miles away there are tide pools and ancient, tall Redwoods in Stout Grove. Experience beachfront lodging at the Crescent Beach Motel - the ONLY motel on the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crescent Beach Hotel Crescent City
Crescent City Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing