We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crescent Beach Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Inn(Crescent City)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanfront Lodge(Crescent City)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Inn & Suites(Crescent City)(Great Value!)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Crescent City(Crescent City)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwood Inn(Crescent City)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Beach Inn(Crescent City)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Front Street Inn(Crescent City)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
148
174
51
28
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
174
51
28
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand dollarssliding glass dooroatmealhear the wavesno frillswooden deckcrescent beachhot chocolateenjoy the viewocean frontlight sleeperchart roombed was comfortableslidersnothing fancywould stay here againthin walls
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here two nights, the rooms were very clean and the property was well maintained. The staff were very friendly. Not much for breakfast just had oatmeal and coffee. The rooms facing the highway are a little noisy. We had room 18 which was on the corner of two walk ways lots of foot traffic you could here and the room was never dark at night with lights shining in both windows. Consider a room facing the beach.

Room Tip: Skip room 18!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for the review!

We're sorry about the foot traffic outside of the room; unfortunately, it's somewhat unavoidable, especially during the busy season. The ocean view rooms are certainly more desired than the garden view rooms, but we do have the back deck for all of our guests to use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in a beach-side room for two nights and agree with other reviewers that being right on the beach is a neat experience. The view was terrific. The motel is modest but clean and well managed. If you're picky about soap, bring your own, because the soap bars were dry and crackly, but everything else was perfectly fine. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for the review! We're glad that you enjoyed the views.

Thank you for bringing the soap issue to my attention. I'll have to do some research into other soaps and possibly make a change!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great stopping point in driving up the coast and through the Redwoods.

Didn't choose the beach view (to save a few bucks), but it was okay. We checked in right as the sun was setting and caught the most beautiful sunset on the water. Hotel has a beautiful view- couldn't have asked for more.

Really stopped in for a quick sleep for the night. Booked far in advance and glad we did because they got full for the 4h of July holiday.

Hotel was VERY clean which is the thing I care about MOST in a hotel stay (no hair!). Plenty of parking- we parked right outside of our room.

Ate dinner and breakfast down the street at the Good Harvest Cafe. Wanted to try the new Italian restaurant on the water (Porcini), but they closed early for the 4th of July prep.

Checking in and out was easy, and staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Beach front is on the beach and costs a few dollars more. "Garden view" looks at the parking lot. Motel is right on the main road, so you can hear cars go by... But I still slept fine.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for the review! We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Summertime is busy, so your advice to book early is very sound. I'll let the housekeepers know that you approved of their work; we like to think we've got some of the best housekeepers around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Crescent Beach Motel's perfect location on the beach on the outskirts of town trumps the outdated rooms and lack of amenities. We knew going in that the rooms were old looking, and we got exactly what the photos online showed. No false advertising, no worries. But our experience here at the motel was wonderful! Having a room with a sliding glass door that opens onto a patio/deck overlooking the ocean is so worth it. There is probably 2-3 miles of clean beach in front of the hotel, only steps away. No loading up the car every time the kids want to play on the beach. To the right of the hotel along the highway is a public beach that gets visitors during the day but still is not very crowded, but right in front of the hotel and to the left is much more private with only the occasional beachcomber or person walking their dog. It was so peaceful and beautiful. We went for long walks and could even watch our kids play at the water's edge from our deck chairs. Honestly, the hotel kind of has a Bates Motel look to it at first from the highway, but I ended up feeling very safe there. Staff was friendly. Room was clean even if the bedspread did look like it was from the 70's. We had a great time there.
We heard the hotel was for sale. With a simple guest room remodel and addition of a couple amenities such as fridges or foot wash out back so people don't track sand into their rooms, I think this motel could be even more appealing and profitable. The rooms are very affordable considering the view. Other hotels in town might have more modern rooms but they do not have this awesome beach access. Only down side was that our bed mattress (which did look new) squeaked every time we moved and I did not sleep well due to that. The rooms might only deserve a 3-circle average rating but I'm rating it 4 for overall experience & would recommend it for that reason and the homey feel. We really were happy there.
PS - if you want to eat at the Chart Room know that it is closed on Mondays.

Room Tip: If you book your reservation on their site you can pick your room. Some of regular doors, some have sliding glass doors.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestinIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thanks for the review! We do strive to provide a safe location for our guests and being a couple of miles south of Crescent City proper does help to isolate us a little bit. We have been working on getting more amenities in the room, though it is slower going than we would like. The building is a bit long in the tooth, but the electrician did just clear our middle building for fridges. So (fingers crossed) those rooms will be upgraded very soon. The building will also be getting a new paint when it slows down a little. We have big plans, but we don't want to disturb our guests during these busy times.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was a nice surprise. The motel is very clean and right on the beach. The location couldn't have been more perfect. When we arrived, they had a plumbing issue but it was fixed very quickly and didn't impact us at all. Go here for the beautiful view and know you will have a clean place to relax and a light breakfast. Also, they have a lovely deck outside of the rooms. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thanks for the kind words! I remember that plumbing issue well; we got lucky getting the plumber out here after hours! We're glad you enjoyed the views; that was a good night for beach viewing, especially with the winds being so calm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews