We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Better KOA's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KOA Campground Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 699 helpful votes
“One of the Better KOA's”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is a great KOA Campground located in the Redwoods just off the Redwoods Highway. The grounds were beautifully maintained, free WiFi and cable TV. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was an outdoor pool and camp store. My only complaint with this campground is the same as at most other campgrounds; not enough washers and dryers. This is a large campground with only four washers and four dryers. People were standing in line waiting to do their wash, and I was one of them. My biggest pet peeve concerns the people who put their wash in and then fail to return to take it out, which is just plain inconsiderate.

Other than the laundry room situation, I would highly recommend the Redwoods KOA. It’s a beautiful campground on a beautiful highway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    38
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
68
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

KOA Crescent City is as beautiful as clean. We own a trailer because I usually refuse to use camp showers, but after seeing how clean the showers and bathrooms are at this KOA I changed my mind. The location is nestled in the redwoods, 5 minutes to a dog friendly beach, and 5 minutes to old growth forests. Fantastic location! The owners are very helpful. The general store is fairly priced. Buy the fire starter stuff they sell for $1.25 it worked so well we bought extras. Full hookup sites come with cable and WiFi. The campground has a clean laundry mat also. If you've never seen the redwoods it is well worth the drive. Breathtaking forests, clean beaches and very tourist friendly people. My only fear is that no other campground will exceed this KOA!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFrizzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgis, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This KOA is located about 3 miles north of Crescent City. It is so pretty!!! Some of the RV sites are in the middle with most of the cabins surrounding that area. The middle section gets any sun while the cabins are under the redwoods where it is shady but it is so neat and pretty and our kids loved hiking around in the ferns & trees right next to the sites.

We stayed in one of the two-room camping cabins at this KOA campground. Our 2 kids slept in the bund beds and my husband and I slept in the queen - the mattresses were comfortable. We flew in, so we packed sheets, a couple of blankets, and pillows and that worked out really well (we would have brought sleeping bags if we drove). Each room had a little electric heater that were effective so it was comfortable. Our cabin (K6) wasn't far from the showers/rest rooms which were always clean. The cabin had a nice, covered deck with seating. The fire pits also had a picnic table and a couple of long benches which worked great. Our kids enjoyed renting the banana bikes and those were a good way for them to meet the other kids staying at the campground.

The campground has a number of tours printed out that they recommend with a bit of info about each and directions which were extremely helpful. Jedediah Smith State Park is literally 10 - 15 minutes away and was by far our favorite area. The scenary is absolutely breath-taking - we hiked the Boy Scout and Stout Grove trails. We popped up to Brookings, OR to the Harris State Park and lunch which was fun. We also drove down to the Prairie Creek Redwoods to check out Fern Canyon which was amazing. Also, Crescent City is right by the ocean and the beaches are about 10 minutes from the campsite - we had just as much fun walking on the beaches as we did in the Redwoods.

Pizza Hut delivers to the campground - we ordered pizza on our last night after most of our groceries were gone and the kids wanted to stay at the campground around the fire rather than eat in town. It sounds a bit wierd to order pizza while camping, but it worked really well! :)

Just a heads-up that the flights in and out of Crescent City are not reliable, so we won't be flying the next time and will rent a car and drive Hwy 101 from San Francisco (which we had to do because our flight into Crescent City was cancelled).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bears06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, OR
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I am now a koa believer! Stayed in a kabin with one queen and bunk beds. The cabins have mattresses, desk, bench, nightstand, heater, electricity, covered deck and swing. The site is small, private, tucked into the trees and ferns. Enjoyed the pancake breakfast for $3.50 and ice cream social for $1.50. Rented the banana bikes at $5.00 per half hour. Showers were clean and no extra cost. Hosts were so nice and helpful. Our first day there it poured rain so I was so glad to have the kabin to hide in. Quiet campground.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILOVEMX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This KOA is in a lush and verdant setting. Plenty of soft grass to pitch the tents! It is extremely well organized and clean. The staff were very helpful. We really enjoyed the Sunday pancake breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great place to visit. Very friendly. I will return

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed in a cabin. We don't normally camp, so the kids were quite taken back, when they saw the cabin! However we had the most wonderful time. It was very quiet. We enjoyed BBQ-ing and making smores. Plenty of walks in the area. Would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin. We requested a quiet location, away from the toilet block. Very big plot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orange-Boven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
5.3 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
441 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
451 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
5.5 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KOA Campground Crescent City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA Campground Crescent City

Property: KOA Campground Crescent City
Address: Hwy 101 N, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Koa Campground Crescent City Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing