We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KOA Campground Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Strasburg, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome campground”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We spent a week here. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable about area attractions. The facilities are clean and maintained. We were lucky to have what we determined to be the best site in the campground, nestled in the redwoods. While it is true big rigs don't have the trees around them, this is what we loved about this place.

Room Tip: If you have a tent or a tent trailer request a site within the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    34
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This was one of many stops on a road trip with our trailer and this stop was a good one. We had an easy check in and a problem with our bill was quickly cleared up and it was nice there was no charge for our dogs. We stayed here 2 nights and had a good time seeing the redwoods. The bathrooms where nice and clean as was the rest of the camp. Our little one had a fun time playing on the swings and playground and the site had a little place where they had some animals that you could feed and the little one loved doing that. We had a good stay here and would come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The Redwoods are beautiful. The smell of fresh air is great. However the service we received was beyond amazing. We stayed on Sunday night May 5 and enjoyed a super clean space with truly nice people who go out of your way to make sure your experience is a good one. This place has a great pet area, trail, laundry, store, cabins, hot shower, restrooms... I could go on and on! Stay here if you want a nice clean place to stay with amazing people.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful campground nestled in the redwoods. We tent camped and had an awesome site surrounded by trees and very private. We loved the giant redwood stump in the middle of it (large site). If we are ever able to return, we would stay here again, the owners were friendly, they had a nice park for the kids and you cannot beat the scenery. Lots of outdoor trails in the state parks here (good ones for little kids too), fern canyon was like walking through a different time and the kids enjoyed the state park nature exhibits, crescent city is beautiful and you must see the light house with its views. This is a place everyone must visit once in their life. Would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akt238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This KOA is gorgeous. There are lots of cabin and tent sites nestled back in the trees and many full hook-up sites close by. The restrooms and laundry are clean and well kept. There are nice paths to walk in forest area and the campsite is surprisingly large. It might be nicer if the pull-thru sites could be in the trees, but that would probably require destroying them(!). This KOA doesn't have as many "attractions" like miniature golf or a swimming pool as some others, but the quiet serenity of the redwoods is well worth the visit. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWBrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed in the big cabin--the lodge. It was a nice cabin but it was NOT clean. Maybe my standards are high because I stayed in Petaluma KOA first and they dust & clean the whole thing. This one is quiet, has a nice fire pit but the "courtyard" they list has an RV space backed right up to it, so it's not private in any way. The staff is okay. Location is great. It is minutes from a casino, a aquarium, the beach, 30 minutes from Trees of Mystery, and is in a beutiful location. I'd stay here again--but next time I will bring cleaning supplies.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank She_Taz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

This was our first trip to the redwoods and first stay at a KOA. We (DH, ds6, ds4 and I) stayed in a one room cabin. The cabin was clean, cozy, and tucked back in the trees. It had just enough room for our luggage, the beds, and a small table for making sandwiches. We loved the porch swing, picnic table and fire pit. We roasted marshmallows nightly and DH and I sat on the porch after the kids had gone to bed.

The little store was nice with some souvenirs, and little things you may have forgotten. The service here was fantastic! They knew all the great places to go and could give you directions to them. They always had a smile and went out of their way to help.

The pancake breakfast was awesome! All you can eat pancakes and children under 5 ate for free! The laundry and bathroom areas were clean and the water was always warm. There are only 3 showers in the ladies room, which can make for a long wait at night, depending on the people in there.

All in all, when we visit the redwoods this will be our go to spot! Much less expensive then other cabins and gives you the real camping in the redwoods feel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Army4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
5.9 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KOA Campground Crescent City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA Campground Crescent City

Property: KOA Campground Crescent City
Address: Hwy 101 N, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Koa Campground Crescent City Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing