We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to check it out!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KOA Campground Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed in a bunch of KOA camping cabins through Oregon and California and this location was by far the best. The cabin we had was set back in amongst the redwood forest and the setting was absolutely superb. They had a great rec room with free wi-fi, the playground was great for the kids and the staff were really friendly. You've got to check it out!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were extremely impressed with this campground! Ken, in the office, was friendly and helpful. And, we were able to get a pull-through space, so we didn’t even have to unhook for the 2 nights we stayed. The rates were on par with other KOA Kampgrounds, and they were pet-friendly. There was a nice little gift shop and mini market in the office with reasonable prices. We saw an animal area with goats and chickens, a fenced area of recumbent bikes, a play area, pet area and a walking trail through the Redwoods (which we were unfortunately unable to enjoy, due to rain). They also had a rec room and bathrooms and laundry room next to the office. The park was quiet and well-kept. Our 2nd (and final) night, the rain just poured down most of the night. When we got ready to leave, we were surprised and impressed that we were not in the middle of big rain and/or mud puddles or sunk into the ground from that amount of water. We didn’t get as many pictures of the campground as we’d hoped, but it was a perfect gateway for our sightseeing and rest during a long journey! We happily recommend this park and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a small RV or rent one of the cabins, there are some sites that are actually in the wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We took a family camping trip to the Redwood Forest so we selected the Crescent City KOA to spend three nights during August, 2013. The KOA was very easy to locate. The driveway is on the east side of Highway 101. We arrived very late at night and found our reservation and site information posted and easily pulled into our site (a pull through) with our 24-foot travel trailer. The KOA is just a few minutes north of Crescent City and just a few more minutes to the Redwood Forest attractions we were looking to see. Th KOA staff was very friendly and courteous. My seven year old daughter had a great time riding her bike, laying on the playground and speaking with the staff in the KOA store. The ice cream social was great. The KOA does not have any pavement. The store had a good selection of small things needed. If we needed anything else it was a just a couple of easy highway minutes to Crescent City. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This rural campground offered all the amenities anyone could wish. The sites were well-kept, small cedars offered privacy, and the site easily accommodated our 30-foot 5th wheel. Roads were gravel; the entry paved. Laundry offered 4 washers and dryers, and the showers/rest rooms were clean and spacious. Surrounding the large RV camping area was an extensive grove of towering redwoods where walking paths provided a wonderful atmosphere to stroll among these towering trees. Tent sites were scattered among the trees, and they too were spacious and groomed. Pancake breakfast was offered at $3.50, and ice cream cones could be purchased in the evening. In all,spending the night was a pleasant experience. One caution is that we came upon the campground without much notice. It is approximately 2 miles north of Crescent City on the east side of the highway. The highway at that point is a corridor lined with redwoods, and the southbound sign was partially hidden behind the trees.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sooie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here on the first night of a ten day road trip. We were in one of the cabins which was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The nearby campers were very friendly and it was a very nice experience. The tent areas towards the back seem to be nestled into some beautiful trees. We were trying to conserve car space by not bringing a tent, but if I were to go back, I would be tempted to camp further into the beautiful trees in a tent, even though I loved the cabin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank ashlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed in the one room kamping kabin and were very pleased. The property has a great location, with many large trees for the kids to climb on and around. It felt secluded, but the town was just 5 minutes away. Everything was clean and the facilities were well maintained. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRCLasVegas_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A wonderful campgroud, we have stayed the past couple years for 5 days at a time. its close enough to drive up and down the beach or drive into the Redwoods. campground is very clean. Staff is friendly and go out of their way to really make you feel welcome. Pancake feeds are fun and you get to chat with other campers. I like the ten sites close the the playground since i have small kids. They do have some set further back in the redwoods that are really neat to stay in. The enclosed dog area is a great place to let my dog off the leash for a bit while camping. Bathrooms are clean and have free hot shower. I will keep coming back every year. Thank you for always making our stay a good one.

Room Tip: If you have small children and want to be next to the playground and restrooms for tent camping then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Runnergirl623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
5.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
792 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
5.9 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
5.3 mi away
Super 8 Crescent City
Super 8 Crescent City
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
480 reviews
5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Crescent City
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KOA Campground Crescent City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA Campground Crescent City

Address: Hwy 101 N, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Koa Campground Crescent City Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing