We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location”
Review of Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were please with the location, very pretty. The bed and bedding in the first room we were assigned to was questionable. We always look for signs of bedbugs. The mattress had black specks in the cording seams and the bottom sheet had not been changed, hairs on it and body wrinkles. We asked for another room and were quickly given an upgraded one.

We checked into the second one, it was clean and passed bedbug inspection. The rooms are quite plain. Our dinner was okay as was breakfast. Common areas are nice looking and the view of the ocean was relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels facing the water have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pprff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    105
    95
    52
    67
See reviews for
116
177
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were quoted a different price for the room the night we arrived. Upon check out I asked for a receipt, then realized they charged my CC without a signature & that the price was $20 more than what I was told. When I asked why the clerk proceeded to get agitated, so I proceeded to continue on my adventure and in the parking lot someone over heard me and said the same thing happened to them on another trip through! Renovations were a joke and poorly done with a sloppy paint job! Great view from rooms unless you are on the north end of hotel. I would rather keep driving than stay at that joke of a hotel!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the south end of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Misscvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crescent City hotels

yucaipa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Room was dirty. Repairs were needed throughout the property and where they were done you could see it was a sloppy haphazard job that was visible to guests.....paint on carpet, unfinished drywall with visible screws. The room had a view, to bad the windows were so filthy and blocked with seagull poop. Curtains were broken in our room. Parking lot was unkept with tall weeds growing everywhere. Upon check out tried to pay cash and front desk was unable to accomplish that. Kept taking phone calls rather then handling customers at the front desk. Overall rooms were overpriced for the condition and treatment of the customer. Wouldn't ever stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 81artmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Not much to this little town...dingy motels and closed shops. It was a bit out of our family budget but worth it. Great location and views and clean huge suite for the 5 of us. The three young boys loved the warm indoor pool. This property is on the coast so it is worthwhile to have a room in the back and go walking along the beach to the lighthouse on the little hill. Our room had the softest sheets and comfortable pillows. Loved it! Breakfast was hot continental and enough for the hungry boys to fill up.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaCacic23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I called today regarding the following illegal practice of charging my account. I was given initials CM & XJ as the names of the management. This was a one day stay, we explained we were driving around the country from Florida. We had driven south from Oregon taking 101 which added about 3 - 4 hours to the trip. As usual, I checked the account prior to check out noting a 14.99 extra charge. The staff member behind the desk said the charge was for a movie and signed the receipt that the charge would be removed by the manager/owner. Now, Oceanfront Lodge has hit our credit card for an additional of charge of 4.99 six days after our stay instead of removing the first erroneous charge. In our approximately 3 week trip, this is the only hotel who has placed any other charge on our credit card other than the charge for lodging/room/hotel tax fee. To be clear according to management the charges are for movies, one the day of and another charged six days later. It will be my mission to expose this illegal type of charging by this company. According to Del Norte County, reference: Redwood Oceanfront Resort LLC, Xiao Jin Yuan. Reference: Bizapedia.com Redwood Oceanfront LLC for additional names and of course reference the state of California. It really is a shame that we have received this type of treatment from a hotel in a great location and view on the ocean. The hotel is no longer affiliated with Hampton or Hilton which may have further implications with the facility.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank FLORIDAJONES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We left best western down the road, great decision. This hotel is nice, clean, reasonable, great location, great free hot breakfast. NO COMPLAINTS. Staff also wonderful. The location and the view are amazing. I will return and stay here again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good. 2nd and 3rd floor better yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I booked a specific room at the end of May and was given a confirmation number. On the day of my arrival, July 5th, I find my room has been changed. When I call to inquire, I'm told I'll have to pay a higher rate to get my original room back. From other reviews, I see this is common practice here. Avoid this unethical, pathetic excuse of a hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Jeffrey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
20.6 mi away
Best Western Beachfront Inn
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 100 A St, Crescent City, CA 95531-3621 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanfront Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Lodge, only 30 feet from the edge of the rugged Northern California coast, is the premier hotel in Crescent City, CA. During your stay, enjoy sweeping ocean vistas and a spectacular view of the famous Battery Point Lighthouse from one of our modern comfortable guestrooms. Our gracious hotel is also located in the heart of scenic Redwood country-truly an outdoor lover's paradise where hiking, fishing, bird-watching, and whale-watching opportunities are plentiful. Our inviting rooms are designed for comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Hotel Crescent City
Hampton Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing