We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super clean, great location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Super clean, great location and helpful staff”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Great location on Hwy 101; easy to find, and super close to maybe the best restaurant in town- Good Harvest- and right next to the aquarium. It's less than a year old and owned by the same owners as the LightHouse and Bay View Inn. It's listed on TA as a B&B; it's not, and the owners are trying to fix that with TA. Despite what I'd call early 90's decor throughout, the place is spanking clean everywhere. The rooms are big, open with a couch, chair with giant countertops, fridge, micro, coffee maker and cute, warm, kitschy fake fireplace. The beds are new and comfy, the view out the back is of the bay, and if your lucky, you can listen to the fog horn cycle through (we liked that). I can't speak for the hwy side rooms, but the bay view side was very quiet. Great free, strong wifi. Breakfast is free and nothing fancy (needs yogurt!). I hope they can maintain their current level of super clean as they grow, and transition from the flowery old-style bedspreads to easy to clean top sheets. We stayed there two nights, king room, bay side, with taxes included for $97/night. Very helpful staff- thanks! Would stay again.

Room Tip: Of course you'd want a bay view room! Ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanviewinn101, Manager at Ocean View Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for your review. We do have yougurt now, and waffles for our breakfast as many have requested. With all our reviews it helps us make this the best Hotel we can be. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    144
    54
    7
    4
See reviews for
118
172
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
previse
Level Contributor
178 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We had a spacious and attractive room with a great view of the harbor. The desk staff is unusually friendly and helpful, and there is a pretty good Mexican restaurant right across the street. Compared to a lot of new hotels, the breakfast is pretty basic, but I would look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the west side of the third floor because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanviewinn101, Manager at Ocean View Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for your review. We now have waffles and yogurt for our breakfast. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

After driving around Crescent City and trying to decide on which hotel to stay we chose the Ocean View Inn. It was very affordable, we stayed in the jacuzzi suite (why not) but it was pretty empty so I don't know if we would have payed in season prices. The room was clean, the front desk was very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast wasn't much to look at but again it was off season so we didn't expect much. We would return again for sure. Plus our three year old loved listening to the frogs in the evening and the sea lions in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salmonslut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanviewinn101, Manager at Ocean View Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for your review. We have add waffles and yogurt to our breakfast. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This place is very new (july 2012) and the photos are true - who would have thought model ships and daggy floral wallpaper trim had a place in a new development?!!! That said it is very new and clean, wuality rooms and beds and for us had the extra benefit of 2 bedroom "suites" (used loosely) which many other places don't have - there are only so many nights you can put up with the kids monkeying around in the other bed 1m away!

$125 for a 2 bedroom suite is pretty good whichever way you look at it.

Michael at the front desk was super super helpful (read this management!!) and we have been very pleased with the place.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor if you have lots of luggage and don't want to worry about lifts/s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Comfortable, nice breakfast, nice people. Great place to stay for a business trip and pleasure. Close to restaurants, the harbor and a wonderful park. This will now ne my go to place in Crescent City.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPA303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
326 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Located on Highway 101 south looking out over the Pacific. The rooms are large, the beds very comfortable and the decor very nice. There are a choice of eating places in walking distance. The free breakfast is excellent. Definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohntheSkierGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We had a change of plans and ended up in Crescent City searching for a motel. This particular motel was not listed in Trip Advisor but it looked very new and nice so we decided to give it a try. Our stay here was excellent. The (very competent) desk person told us that the motel, which just opened in July 2012 was mistakenly listed under B&Bs in Trip Advisor and they were trying to get that changed.
The room was huge with all the amenities (microwave, fridge, large TV), very clean and quiet. We even had a water view from our room. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a motel in Crescent City.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomad08t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.8 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
20.4 mi away
Best Western Beachfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn & Suites

Property: Ocean View Inn & Suites
Address: 270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean View Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing