We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here again”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It was clean. Maybe the best choice in the area. I didn't like the view from the upstairs room. The view consisted of water but it was a distance and what caught my attention was the alley, the grassy field and electrical lines between the room and the ocean view. The other thing I didn't like was the choice of photographs in the lobby, hall and rooms. You are near the Redwoods and this place has artwork of places in Europe and other landmarks from other states. The breakfast was okay. There is a place to walk to the lighthouse, jetty and pier, however there were some homeless people around the area that made me feel uncomfortable at times.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PELICANJANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    154
    56
    7
    4
See reviews for
122
182
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Clean hotel with nice front desk personnel. Rooms were good and clean. The breakfast was adequate. This location provides excellent access to Jedediah Smith Redwoods SP. Make sure you check out the Good Harvest Cafe for dinner. If you would like to walk and explore the town, stroll over toward the lighthouse, jetty, and pier.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Ocean View Inn & Suites is fantastic. The check-in was fast. The staff is courteous and happy to answer any questions. The lobby is decorated with dozens of model ships of various sizes and shapes. The room we stayed in is clean and impeccably maintained. I couldn't find a flaw in the room anywhere. The housecleaning staff is friendly, makes eye contact, and greets you with a good morning and a smile. That's pretty rare these days. The free Continental breakfast had a choice of cereal, yogurts, pastries and eggs along with coffee, tea and juices, among other things. Room prices are very good compared to other hotels in the area. This place shows class. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Ocean View Inn & Suites last summer and were very satisfied with our experience here. This year, we returned and have spent two very pleasant nights at this hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean, and very comfortably furnished--just a pleasant space to be in for a few days. They also include a nice continental breakfast: lots of appealing pastries and breads, cold cereals, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, and coffee and tea available 24/7 (plus in-room coffee maker). The staff works hard at making guests feel welcome and are just all-around customer-centric. We will plan to stay here again next trip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank njblanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This place is cool. Some crazy decorations. We stayed during columbus day weekend. When we checked in, the place was full of ocean themed decorations (think ship in bottle and ocean murals) ... the next morning we had the complimentary breakfast (very good and well stocked for a free breakfast!!) and left for a day of hiking the redwoods. We returned in the afternoon to Christmas. Santa and Christmas decorations were everywhere. And why not? We got a kick out of it.

Rooms are very clean and pretty big. 4 of us had plenty of space for a few days. Good location for some hiking, seal watching on the beach, and even some pretty good places to eat around.

This hotel was a great deal for the money. Other options in the area don't compare.

Great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Not a lot of lodging options near the redwoods, so we chose the Ocean View based upon reviews. The staff was friendly, the rooms seemed clean and the location was pretty good. We had a great experience watching the whales at the nearby lighthouse, and then sharing a sunset with a seal pup on the beach. Kids enjoyed playing on the beach and Kidtown (a nearby playground). The only complaint I have is that the bathroom smelled very strongly of chemicals. I thought it had just been cleaned when we checked in, but the smell stayed with us overnight. The breakfast was decent, but was a solid offering of carbs and not much else. It definitely seemed like one of the better hotels in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shpblej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night with no reservation and pleased with everything. Room faced ocean and was larger than anything I've seen. Very clean room and bathroom. Shower pressure was perfect. Continental breakfast was very well laid out and tasty. Great job! Staff was very helpful and ready to help with directions, recommendations etc. so appreciated the help

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
989 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
438 reviews
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 18 in Crescent City
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
20.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn & Suites

Property: Ocean View Inn & Suites
Address: 270 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean View Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing