We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed and Bread Hiouchi
Milpitas, United States
2 reviews
“Breath taking”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband said there is NO way all the reviews were 5 star, it has to be bogus. Well, I am here to say they deserve more than 5 stars!!!!! We started our trip up the Northern CA coast to the Oregon Coast. We found our way to the B&B, make sure you turn at the Chicken crossing sign and it does say Do Not Enter, but turn in. Curt and Meg made us feel so welcome, when we left, we felt like we were leaving old friends ! The views are simply breath taking. It is not like a typical B&B, this is so much more. Curt is very accommodating, trying to make sure we were taken care of. Do NOT pass this opportunity up!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

What a great find. Thanks to searching on tripadvisor we discovered a wonderful spot on the river near the Redwoods National Park. We stayed in a huge suite on the ground floor with big windows looking out at the river. One bedroom wall was all books and I was kinda wishing for a rainy day so could stay in the comfortable bed and read. Big living room with fireplace and kitchen area with small fridge, coffee pot and microwave and some utensils. Nice bathroom with huge walk in shower. Everything was spotless and well done. We enjoyed Curt's breakfast and his tips on hikes and drives to see the redwoods. Near Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park. Crescent City is about 15 minutes away. So glad we stayed here and not a motel in town. We did Stout Grove, Simpson-Reed Grove and part of the boyscout trail. Also did a couple great drives. Walker Rd and Howland hil Rd. The trees of course are the star of the show.

Room Tip: Go for it and stay in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolediane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We began our 50th Anniversary Western Trek at Curt and Meg's lovely B&B. All reviews I had read beforehand were true. Our three night stay was filled with a unique and extraordinary experience, from the very comfortable bed to the delightful meals provided by "master chef" Curt. Curt was full of information about the Jedediah Smith State Park, about the trees, trails, and lore. He shared his vast knowledge of the redwoods with us, as well as his wall of books and maps. (Be sure to read "Wild Trees" by Preston) I do not think we would have discovered the Damnation Creek Trail on our own - the whole experience of the magnificent redwoods, the white osprey flying smoothly up-river in front of our window at the Hiouchi Inn, and Curt and Meg's hospitality made this a wonderful time...if we get to make our way there again from Ohio, we will stay for a longer time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The beautiful location, an excellent facility and superb hosts in Curt and Meg made our stay at Hiouchi B&B truly memorable. Our 3 nights in the downstairs suite was the highlight of our trip along the Northwest coast from San Francisco to Port Angeles. We loved the views of the Smith River and the proximity to the magnificent Redwoods which we explored helped by excellent advice and trail maps supplied by Curt. Encouraged and led by Meg we all had a swim in the beautiful cool, clear waters of the Smith River followed by a relaxing immersion in the "hot tub". Curt's fresh and delicious breakfasts are excellent and we would highly recommend the dinners which he prepares for a little extra money. A supply of freshly baked muffins on our departure helped to sustain us during our drive to Portland Oregon.If you are ever in Northern California and looking for a special place to stay you won't find better than this magnificent B&B.

Room Tip: The downstairs suite is very roomy and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidElEini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Words don't do it justice. We stayed 3 nights in the downstairs suite. I loved having a view of the forest out the bedroom windows, and watching the Smith River from the deck. The lovely short walk down to the river lends itself to imaginings of a private island. I walked around the beach, climbed up on a big rock and just listened to the quiet. Curt is a whiz in the kitchen and a wonderful host. We chatted so much on our 'check in' that we ended up having a dinner cooked by both Curt and Meg. I read 2 of the books from their well stocked bookshelves and slept the sleep of the truly peaceful. It will be a joy to return!!

Room Tip: Depends on your preference - upstairs are 'bedrooms' in the home; downstairs is a very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniece C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We cannot speak more highly of Curt and Meg's B&B. We absolutely LOVED our experience there! From start to finish we were pampered, fed, and treated with great hospitality throughout our entire 4 day stay. Where to begin?

1) Food: Every morning we were greeted with freshly baked muffins and coffee. We had great conversations with Curt while he made our delicious breakfasts. For a little extra money, we had Curt make all our meals, which I would highly recommend because it makes the stay a truly care-free experience. We felt like little kids again as Curt would send us on our way with our packed lunch, water bottles, and hiking gear.

2) Pampering: We didn't have to lift a finger the entire time we were at Curt and Meg's. They cleaned up after each meal and were great company as well. We shared some wine and conversation with Curt nightly, but he also was very cognizant to give our group some alone time as well.

3) Anton: Anton is Curt and Meg's adorable dog. He added so much to our trip, since we are all dog lovers. It was a great way to get our "puppy-fix" while we were away from our own pups.

4) Advice: Curt offered us great advice on trails to take and places to visit. He never steered us wrong!

5) Privacy: We rented the entire house and each couple still felt like they had their own private space. Each room had a private bathroom, and the downstairs apartment was a great place to relax and visit while our host was resting.

6) Location: We could not think of a more beautiful place to stay. Located right on the Smith river in the heart of the Redwoods, we had access to so much wilderness it was amazing. We joked that the Redwoods made any future forest we visited seem boring in comparison.

We truly cannot express how much we loved staying at Curt and Meg's. We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed two nights at Bed & Bread and didn't want to leave! We booked the downstairs area and found the space to be beautifully presented and very comfortable. The area surrounding the property is breathtaking and well worth spending some time exploring. We used the kitchen area to cook some dinner and found everything we required to make it easy and comfortable, the bathroom was spotless and luxurious and we both loved the bedroom which is filled with books and a view out into the forest to wake up to! We also used the hot tub which was a lovely treat.
The main reason we enjoyed our stay so much was the great hosting from Curt & Meg. They are both friendly and welcoming without being overbearing and were a wealth of knowledge on not only the local area but on many other topics such as Japan and New Orleans. We left feeling uplifted and inspired and would highly recommend anyone stay at such a beautiful and life enriching place.
(Anton the dog was also an excellent host!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmso2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
7.2 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
429 reviews
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
444 reviews
7.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
6.8 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Bread Hiouchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Bread Hiouchi

Property: Bed and Bread Hiouchi
Address: Hwy 199, Crescent City, CA
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing