We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lighthouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel rate was fair, but do not expect a hot breakfast. The food was a hodgepodge of different breads and half frozen juices. Although the room was clean the beds lacked in comfort. With a few changes this place could benifit. Nice view.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewqueen211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    294
    86
    15
    6
See reviews for
237
289
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a motel on the side of the highway. As far as these types of establishments go I found this one to be totally acceptable for $69 a night. I wouldn't stay if I was here more that night or two but it really does depend on your budget. Great place for a quick stopover.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Service was great, breakfast was basic but good.

There is a computer workstation for guests to use which includes a printer.

No complaints whatsoever. This was a great value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Original_LFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent a pleasant night at the Lighthouse Inn. The night manager recommended we check out the harbor sea lions, the Stout Grove and sent us to a great Mexican restaurant (Perlita's) where we saw a bear climb out of the dumpster in the back! The room was as big as the redwoods - HUGE - clean, with a couch, flat screen tv, internet, etc. Strong hot shower in spotless bathroom. If you are a light sleeper, just know you are directly across from the harbor, so you will hear the fog horn at night. I brought a fan... so no problem. Bed was ok, but good news, we saw a truckload of NEW mattresses being delivered as we left. Breakfast was boiled eggs, cereals, fruit, sweet breads, bagels and cream cheese, toast, English muffins, juices, coffee, teas. Coin laundry available. Overall, we had great experience with friendly staff, clean, welcoming environment and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent one night here in a large room with a harbor view. The room was large and reasonable comfortable if a bit outdated. The front desk staff person at check in was as efficient, friendly, and helpful as I have ever met, from giving directions to offering dining suggestions (and there aren't many places to choose from in Crescent City!) The breakfast was just right - bagels, fruit, juice, hard boiled eggs. I would stay here again when stopping in Crescent City.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula22436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We chose to stay here while driving the coasts of California and Oregon. It is right on Highway 101, making Crescent City a good place to stop.The reviews were good. Had a cute lobby with lighthouses. Our room was very nice with 2 beds, 2 couches and a view that looked out over the harbor. The room was gigantic! Lots of space, very clean. Everything in it was a trip back to the 70's.The big tv, and even the old cord dial telephones. The beds were just ok. Really need new mattresses and some overall updating. But it was a nice place, safe and clean.
We drove around Crescent City, and found a quaint lighthouse and beach with a lot of driftwood.
Breakfast was the usual; lots of carbs. A decent place to stop on a road trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

While visiting redwood country, we stayed in the two-room suite at this motel for one night. The main downside to our stay was that the air conditioner in the bedroom could not be used because there was incorrect wiring in the wall. The motel really needs to fix a problem like this in order to provide a good level of comfort for guests. Fortunately the very friendly staff person gave us a box fan to use in the room, and we were able to crack the window open a little bit, although we didn't want to open it too much because of being on the main floor right next to the parking lot. The air conditioner in the main room did work, and the room was clean and spacious.

The night desk staff person was very friendly and helpful with recommending things to see and do in the area and local restaurants (Check out Stout Redwood Grove where Return of the Jedi was filmed, Pebble Beach where you'll find agates and quartz, Crescent and Enderts beaches where you'll find sand dollars, and the sea lions off of the Anchor Way harbor area.). He highly recommended Northwoods Restaurant a couple doors down for good seafood. We ended up trying the Good Harvest Café next to that restaurant instead and had excellent seafood and service.

The motel's continental breakfast was excellent, with quite a few options for fruit, carb, and protein items, including hard-boiled eggs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmesIA_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
16.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Property: Lighthouse Inn
Address: 681 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lighthouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lighthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel Crescent City
Lighthouse Motel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing