We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious and affordable”
Review of Lighthouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stopped here after two weeks on the road (part of a six week trip) and were so pleased with everything! From the moment we walked in the door we were treated as visiting friends. Lovely establishment, clean and comfortable room with all the amenities, a laundry that only cost 75 cents a load, and directions to see George the sea lion. We had a restful and quiet night and breakfast was very good as well. Cereals, fruits, hard-boiled eggs, all kinds of coffee and teas, a wide assortment of breads and pastries, and a gracious young woman who kept it all ship-shape and clean. Highly recommend it, even if it doesn't have a pool! And the restaurants next door were very good, too, and easy to walk to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChurchDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Please note this upfront: This hotel does not have a pool or fitness center. So if you have kids wanting to swim or you want a workout, this hotel probably is not for you. On the other hand, if you want a quiet and clean hotel with an ocean view, a great rate, and a friendly staff, then this hotel is probably what you would want.

This is a "local" hotel, not one of those chain establishments. There is no covered drive thru or automatic doors, an indicator of an older hotel. Had 2 luggage carts available. Enter into a nice size lobby with 2 leather sofas and 2 leather chairs for seating. Nicely decorated with lighthouses and miniature Victorian houses. Has 3 floors with 1 elevator. Wi-Fi available and a computer in a private business center. Had 2 washers and 2 dryers in the laundry area.

Our room with a king bed was very spacious and very clean. Enter with a "real" key. Kind of miss those days gone by. A guest book informed us about the hotel and area. Had a leather sofa with lamp, round table with 2 chairs, 2 night stands with wall lights, 4 drawers for storage, clock, fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee/tea, and an old style TV with a good channel lineup. One bad note was the blanket on the bed had a burn hole in it. The bed was a little firmer than we are used to.

There was a long vanity and mirror outside the shower/tub and stool area. Had hair dryer, an exhaust fan, heat lamp, and 1 towel bar in each area. Liked the fluffy wash cloths and towels. The shower had very good pressure.

Complimentary breakfast was continental style. No meat and only hard-boiled eggs. Only had whole milk. Had pastries, toast and jelly, cereals, fruit, juices, and good coffee. Used fiberboard for plates and bowls but not for cups. A rather small dining area with only 15 seats available.

Guest card says, " Nicest place for the best price". Couldn't argue with this.

Was a little disappointed when we left. There were 4 staff smoking right outside the door. Don't like the smell of smoke.

We would return on the next trip through the area.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. No elevator, so ask for 1st floor room if you have a handicap issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaleSwansea_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Large, clean, room. Even though on main drag, very quiet. Desk staff very helpful. Breakfast area in lobby very comfortable and includes protein (hard-boiled eggs). Recommended restaurant next door (Northwoods) for dinner really is excellent. Fresh!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trvl_Lite_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

At first it's your typical motel, then we checked in. Got our keys (see photo) and headed to the elevator. Our third floor room was one of the biggest rooms I've seen in the last few years. SUPER quiet, brand new shower insert/fixtures and VERY clean. Looks like they're in the process of replacing older décor but some bits (the bathroom formica for instance) reminded me of road trips from my youth. Exceptionally nice staff (maybe family owned & operated?)-were the quick breads they offered for the continental breakfast homemade? Anyway, from the Blues Brother art piece in the lobby to the miniature Victorian era houses, it was good, old fashioned hospitality.

Room Tip: The only ice machine I saw was on the first floor, near lobby. Get your ice before you get in your j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela3950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

First visit to this hotel, we will go back. The lobby is interesting, from the decoration, furnishing and staff. All great. The rooms are spacious and clean. It is fun to be by the harbor. We enjoyed watching the antic's of the sea lions and other things like the fishing fleet etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

this was the 2nd night on our July 4th weekend fiasco where we forgot to reserve rooms for our little vacation. The night before we slept in the car in Trinidad and we desperately needed a place to stay. When we arrived there was a line out the door with about 10 people vying for a couple of rooms and yes it got a little dicey as everybody wanted a room. Wisely my wife had called and reserved a room (about ten minutes before we arrived) even though we were waiting in line we started to get a little nervous as people were getting louder and louder as they were turned away. Believe it or not we got the last room. Yes it is old, yes the decorator could have been my great grandma, the food was run of the mill but we were thrilled with the accommodations. In case you haven't been to this part of Cali it is beautiful but there is slim pickens of everything. Anyways it was ok probably would not reserve again because it wasn't anything but a place for a hot shower and a mattress.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondback818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

In passing through Crescent City we were influenced by the positive reviews and found them accurate; large airy rooms, good view, clean and bright laundry facilities, helpful and friendly staff, breakfast including boiled eggs, trays available, very reasonable price. We enjoyed the decor with murals. We now refer to the Lighthouse Inn as our standard for the kind of place we like to stop on a road trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas6186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
0.3 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
317 reviews
16.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Address: 681 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: £68 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lighthouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Lighthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel Crescent City
Lighthouse Motel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing