We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this one surprised me!”
Review of Anchor Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Beach Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“this one surprised me!”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

we decided to stop for the night instead of pressing on another 7 hours on our trip back home. we chose a cheap spot with little expectations of niceness. but it was better than expected, for the price point. i don't expect much for $50 or $60. the room was clean, if somewhat oddly arranged with a table in front of the heater. the bathroom was nice, actually. it was very much like a home bathroom with tiles and a good shower with shelves to put your stuff. and a window, which i liked. it had a coffee pot, fridge and microwave, internet too. the bed was not great, i'll admit and no extra pillows. it faced a really bright sunrise, but had blackout curtains that were fairly effective, in spite of the holes in them. but, we slept well and have no real complaints. it wasn't very polished, but was not bad either. it was, as others have mentioned, very basic. but, cheap.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redhedgurl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    110
    77
    21
    26
See reviews for
81
131
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This is an older 2 story motel. We were given a room on the second floor which was a problem due to mobility issues but we dealt with it. The view was of the trailer park. Be sure and ask for extra pillows because the ones on the bed are small and flat. The hotel is located on the outer edge of town. The breakfast was all carbs and coffee so we drove down the road to the next town to eat. Decent value and limited services.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We got the hotel for a good price for the night. We were looking for something on the beach, and this was pretty close to the beach. The check in process was smooth, the owner was very helpful, gave us recommendations on nearby places to visit, restaurants, etc. The room was very big, and clean, the bed was comfortable. I would have given it a 4.5 rating, if possible, the reason for cutting off the half is only because of the view. We were told we had a beach view and I suppose we did, except it was half a beach view, with the other half facing the main road. The breakfast was good, there were bagels, muffins, donuts, waffles, juice, coffee and worked out well for us. I took my coffee and went for a walk on the beach which was right behind the hotel, and that was great! Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: For a good beach view choose a room towards the center of the hotel, on the left you get the rmain o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neelam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The rooms on the second floor, 201 through 208 face South Beach without any interferring views of the next door trailer park. The rooms are big, clean and basic. From the windows of these rooms you can watch the ocean, fascinating kite-flying, and nighttime bonfires. There was also a microwave and refrigerator in our room. There isn't a flat screen TV in the room, but who needs a TV to compete with the views? The hotel is quiet, guests seem to enjoy the location which is just across the street to South Beach. The Chart Room is a comfortable stroll for tasty seafood meals or a standard coffee/tea to go, located oceanside of the hotel on the jetty.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetuniaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland,Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. We had room to accommodate our Golden Retriever and could walk him across the street. Road noise died right down in evening. We could walk to the Chart Room restaurant. Bathroom was dated - but all in all, a great spot. Did not book in advance, so paid $118.00 plus tax plus dog fee. Probably could get a better deal on Travelocity. But BEDS were the highlight!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeltGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We paid extra for a beach view since the other option is a view of the travel trailer parking lot. We stayed two nights, but one night would have been sufficient. The breakfast was typical--good for kids. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, but the day we checked out they were installing new mattresses. Crescent City was destroyed in the 60's from a tsunami, so there are no attractive buildings anywhere. The bay is quite smelly from the water treatment plant. A short walk from the hotel will bring you to see the sea lions near the dock. The beach is convenient to get to and is quite wide.

Room Tip: pay for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Very basic, big clean room and bathroom, extremely reasonably priced

Arrived in a storm, left in torrential rain so unfair to say much about the surroundings, but motel is fine, probably better than fine if the weather is good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizc365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#12 of 18 in Crescent City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Beach Inn

Property: Anchor Beach Inn
Address: 880 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531-4419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Anchor Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Beach Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing