We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!!”
Review of Anchor Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor Beach Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I had called this hotel a few days before out arrival and asked to be put on the 2nd floor with a view of the ocean. The young lady told us that we were all set. When we arrived Selena checked us in. She was very upbeat and gracious. Which was nice after several hours in the car. She put is in what she said was one of her favorite rooms. It was great. And the view was amazing. Half way through our stay I noticed an issue with our charges. I went and notified Selena and she was able to fix the situation right away.

I would recommend this motel. It's great for the price and the staff was great. Thanks again Selena!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksonAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is not ON the beach but within easy walking distance, and you have a view of the beach from upper level rooms that face the beach. The room was clean and more than adequate, but they did not honor the price we had booked online (an upcharge for the beach view). The breakfast was typical and good once you got it; but they ran out of waffle batter and some other items, so there was a wait involved.

Room Tip: Upper level has nice view of the ocean, beach and surfers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Don't let the exterior appearance fool you. Rooms are large, clean, updated and well equipped. My second floor room had a beautiful view of the sandy beach and ocean. I was lulled to sleep by the sea lions barking. Front desk clerk was friendly and helpful, especially when I spilled my coffee. If you like walking on the beach, it's right around the corner. Viewing the sea lions is a little further and there's a nice restauranat near the sea lions. Eat too much and walk it off going back to the room!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It's located at the edge of town and near Redwood NP.
We stayed for one night and booked just a couple of hours in advance via internet which worked justfine.
The price was very good and the room was great. It was very clean, had a very comfortable bathroom, fridge and free fast wifi.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are several restaurants and right behind the hotel is the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We checked in very late on Tuesday 10-8-13. Upon awakening and opening up the curtains, we had this fantastic view of the ocean. You could tell it was low tide. My nephew and I after eating a delicious breakfast that was provided, took a stroll on the beach. You could walk for hours on that beach.
The room as spacious, big and very, very clean. After visiting the Redwood Nation Park, we were so happy knowing that we were going to have another wonderful evening at Anchor Beach Inn. I highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Therisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The last hotel as you're leaving Crescent City, and it looks a bit sketchy. But looks can be deceiving, because the rooms were large and comfortable, very clean. Definitely worth paying the little bit extra for the ocean view, which is practically right outside the window. Maybe it's just me, but as usual, battling with the shower was an adventure in itself. Turn the handle one way and it's too hot, and the other way it's too cold. If you can find the micron-sized sweet spot you can have a lovely time. Not through with adventures? Then try the air conditioner. It gives you a false sense of security by blowing in nice, cold air...for about five minutes, when it perversely switches to hot blaze instead. I assume it does all this in reverse in the winter. Small matters when you can walk out of the hotel, up the docks and listen to the sea lions arguing with each other. Not a bad place to stay at all.

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LairdCamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Check in was fast. Rooms are clean and well maintained. View of RV park out the window is better unseen. The spa was good to look at. Using it was not so good. Once you find the push button to operate it you have 10 minutes or less to soak. No chairs or other place to set towels etc. Sitting on the bench the water doesn't come up to chest level and your feet don't reach bottom.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
1.3 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Crescent City
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Beach Inn

Address: 880 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531-4419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: £51 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Anchor Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Beach Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing