We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a Night Stay”
Review of Anchor Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchor Beach Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel itself was clean and had friendly staff. We slept well in our clean room and only stayed one night because we were on a road trip. Breakfast was mediocre. The location is it's downfall, so don't expect anything nice outside the hotel property. It backs up to a kind of permanent RV park, so you might as well keep the curtains closed. The town is not so great, but this hotel was a good place to stay if you need to stop in that town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaN33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a lovely view out our bay window; the staff was friendly and very efficient. The room was big and spacious, WIFI great. I love rooms with plenty of space to spread out and move about the room, especially with a teenage son and husband. The beds had three pillows each, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was big and the sink separate from the bathroom - again good with the son and husband. Two chairs a table, long dresser. Breakfast was wonderful everything you could want and they were quickly refilled and the tables cleaned. The view is best on the second floor, no elevator but stairs are few and easy to navigate. Down the stairs and around the building and you are on the beach. There are two restaurants that have seafood down on the way to the ocean. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonoluluLocalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy, but clean and a little worn. Had a fridge and microwave. Had a great view of the RV park next door. Made a waffle at continental breakfast. Would probably try a different place if I was there again, but it was a decent place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel had very rude clerks at the front desk with exception of the manager. We stayed 2 nights and 3 days our hotel key would not work and had to be re – programed daily. When we asked the clerks to reprogram it they acted like it was an inconvenience to them. The hotel washer was broken so they had their staff using the wash room that was intended for their customers and we were forced to go to a laundry facility in town to do laundry as a mother of 3 this was a huge inconvenience. The second day the juice machine in the lobby and coffee machine did not work and the clerk did not care. There was in adequate seating for there so called breakfast included 3 small round tables with 12 chairs total. Are room was musty smelling and the carpets were not very clean. They gave us 4 towels for a family of 5. There so called beach view was overlooking a trailer park with a little bit of ocean in the back ground. There walking beach access was of a small part of dirty beach with quite a few homeless people and oblivious drug users from the trailer park. For the amount of money this hotel cost was nowhere close to worth it I could have had better service camping in my car. When I asked for a receipt the clerk sighed and tossed it on the counter. Overall I don’t recommend this hotel because of overall service and promised amenities that they did not honor for the price was horrible. I forgot to include that our A/C did not work in our room for our entire stay when we notified the staff they said they would send maintance very rudely and never did. We also ordered a roll away bed witch we had to call about and go in the office for three times and the clerk basically acted as if we had never ordered it and insisted on confirming with housekeeping that the requested bed was another room and not ours. Eventually we did get our bed but after dealing with a snotty know it all clerk who had her facts wrong.

Room Tip: I chose this room based on a few reviews I should have read up more on the reviews than just a coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I found it to be well kept, pleasant and perfect for an overnight stay on my drive along the West Coast. Free hotel breakfast was fine, television and amenities worked well. Ocean view is almost non existent but who cares, you come to a hotel to sleep, if you want to see the ocean then you go to the beach. It was quiet and very suitable for a nights rest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Walked in our room and it instantly smelled clean. It was also very spacuous. Good view of the beach. The beach was accessible just around the corner. We left a guitar in the room and Emily called us to inform us. See you next time. Thanks again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank buddette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The property did not provide as good a view of the ocean as its location would seem to indicate. The room met our expectations with regard to quiet, cleanliness, amenities and comfort. A breakfast came with the room. The keycard often had to be swiped several times before the door to the room could be opened. The motel didn't have a restaurant but there were a few within walking distance to the motel. There was nothing that would keep us from staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side can give you a glimpse of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esorod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Crescent City
224 reviews
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Beach Inn

Address: 880 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531-4419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: £53 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchor Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Beach Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing