We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“2 Star ?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Front Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Front Street Inn
Fair Oaks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 Star ?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I don't know who rated this hotel, or why they would rate it higher than the other 1 stars around.
Old and feels dirty.
lucky for me it's a quick overnight then I'm out.
Hotel staff is very nice, location is good parking is tight if you hale a large vehicle.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Idcrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    35
    27
    12
    24
See reviews for
29
45
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I stayed one night at Front Street Inn. We arrived later in the day and only wanted a place to sleep, and did not need something fancy as we were on the road again in the morning. This is a basic, older motel. It is a two story motel with stairs. Front personnel were helpful and friendly. Room are very basic, bed, minimal toiletries, thin towels, wall A/C and heating, thin walls, and good bed. The street is busy but after 9 p.m. it becomes very quiet. We slept well.

I might consider an alternative motel next time just because it is older and has thin towels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crescent City hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

For the low cost of the room I was pleasantly surprised how clean the rooms were. Its not a fancy hotel but the beds were comfortable, the room smelled clean (not over-bleached or over fabreezed like some hotels to cover bad odors). I paid a few dollars extra for the family room and thought it was worth the money to have a kitchenette and the extra room.
The only reason I gave this a four star was due to the noise. You go to bed thinking you have arrived at a nice and quiet town to wake up to (seemingly) Grand Central Station with trucks hauling through, cars honking, and people talking. I had left the bathroom window open for cool air and the morning traffic sounds just really traveled through the room.
We had to get up anyways so not a big deal, I was just shocked at how busy this town actually is. Front Street Inn - low budget, clean, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel on our way north through the Redwoods. Found the owners to be very accommodating but overall the hotel was below average.

Lot's of road noise all night long. The bed was reasonably comfortable. Room cleanliness was questionable.

This hotel has been misclassified in TripAdvisor it is not a B&B.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2old2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed there a few weeks ago - - Great people, (family owned) very clean, reasonable rates, ( not the Hyatt ), helpful, amicable, amiable, across the street from the water... would love to stay there again ! ! Luckily for travelers Crescent City has a large amount /glut of hotel rooms & the prices were traveler friendly... compared to other cities along the way thru coastal-Cali & Oregon... Lily-gal @ the front desk is the-best along w/the whole family !... Ice machine, TV w/ plenty chanels !!, air/heater, micro, coffee & Refrige in room... Grocery & restaurants close by... what would'ja want for 59- 69 bux... I could stay a week or two there... w/the Klamath just down the road & tons of water / nature activities etc. close by; why would you want to spend a lot on a hotel room unless you were having an affair or on your honeymoon ? help out the economy, spend some money around town & enjoy this water front hotel ! ! Chris Nieves

Room Tip: ... I'm sure they'e all good w/ some having better views than others... we arrived late (ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I am one to read reviews so I can have an idea of what ni am booking, so I just felt like I should comment on this hotel.
I have been thru crescent city a 1000 times, this is the first time we stayed. The hotel is run down, and looks like it could be a live in motel. The rooms seemed clean, but i think because the area, the room just had a need to disinfect feeling. Toilets wouldn't flush, the vending machine was there but completly empty. The view was nice, but it didn't seem safe to walk down to the water at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
231 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Crescent City to go to Redwood National Park. We found no great looking hotels, so we booked at the Front Street Inn. It was a very low budget hotel, but relatively clean. Walls are very thin, we could hear the people next to us all night. Not recommended, but ok if you have nowhere else to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
0.9 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#13 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Crescent City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Front Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Street Inn

Property: Front Street Inn
Address: 102 L St, Crescent City, CA 95531-4110
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Front Street Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Front Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Front Street Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing