We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, right on the beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shoreline RV Park and Campground
Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, right on the beach”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I came here from Oregon. What a great location, although the bay area is very shallow with no waves. When the tide is out, it's far out and you don't really see the water too much. But when the tide is in, the water is just on the other side of the rocks.

Once you get out of the gravel roads in the park, there are plenty of places to ride bikes, all flat. You can ride for as long as you'd like or for just a short ride to the park.

We stayed in the front row. The spaces are on the narrow side but Charlie (the guy in the office) tries to leave empty space between RVs. We found this park to be pretty quiet so it wasn't too bad having smaller spaces.

I talked with Charlie a couple of times when we were there and he seemed like a nice fellow. We're about the same age and I enjoyed joking with him. Boy, he sure had some horror stories about some of the campers and what they try to get away with! He's been here for MANY years and has seen it all!

I suspect that some campers just don't like to follow the rules here and that's why they don't like him - he certainly was polite and courteous around me and my wife.

We stayed at Shoreline for several days, just relaxing. There is a dredging project going on in the harbor and it was enjoyable to sit and watch the tugs move huge barges around and then tow them out to sea. We liked hearing the fog horn and even the sea lions barking over at the marina.

We'll stay here again.

Room Tip: The front spaces have the best view but are narrower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainBearOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
15
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

If you are a tent camper, this place has everything you need. It's all no-frills, but it has all the basics covered: lots of grassy tent sites, free hot showers (really hot!), and laundry. Can't beat the location either. It's next to a marina, 5-minutes walk to stores, a movie theatre, and restaurants, and only a mile from the beach. Paradise for only $22.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

we had stayed here the year before and loved it. good location, good price and very nice people. we went in march of this year with our grandchildren the gal at the desk gave us a good price and was very nice. after we started putting up tents for children the manager came over demanding more money, very foul mouthed, very much a jerk and very rude. yelling & cussing at everyone he seemed to come into contact with. including the gal at the desk. we ended up leaving. will not go back as long as he is there. to bad really enjoyed the campground the first time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LLe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crescent City hotels

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The park is very open, with the spaces not too close together. This is our family's first big rv adventure, and was our first stop out of Sacramento. The kids had a great time on the beach. The bathrooms were clean, but the park overall is a bit worn down. It needed mowing badly when we were there. There were full hook ups, wifi and tv. We recommend getting one of the sites facing the ocean. What views! The guy managing it could be friendlier, but overall it was a good place to camp.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lang J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
1,049 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,667 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Wow, hard to believe it's been over five years since I added this RV park to TripAdvisor and wrote the first review!

We have stayed here fairly often since then, about twice a year. This RV park is old, no question, and it's not getting any younger, but the location can't be beat. We always get a front space that looks right out onto the bay and lighthouse. We never tire of this view!

The spaces are basic, just grass and are somewhat narrow in the front row. This visit was in April and they weren't busy. Our truck and 5th wheel is a little too long to stay connected, so Charlie (the friendly fellow in the office) graciously let us use two spaces for our week's stay.

Speaking of Charlie, he's a kick -- he's lived here for many years and knows all kinds of stories. My husband and I both enjoy chatting with him. Oh, they also have a used book exchange in the office.

Since we now have a larger RV, we haven't use the shower or restroom for several years, so can't say how they look now. The park itself is being kept up fairly well. Charlie keeps things working - the gravel roads are reasonably smooth and the 50 amp electricity works fine. There are full hookups including cable, although we use our satellite TV.

On this visit, Charlie told us some improvements are planned for this park. It could use it, although then the price will probably go up, LOL! But as long as the view is so pleasant, we'll keep coming back :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

When checking in the manager charlie came in the office with blood drippin off his hand and said he had just punched the wall in his sisters trailer and told her to " clean this place up or get out" and was dropping f bombs like crazy... Very innappropriate! We were leary of staying but we had 3 day reservations! The last day our daughters were verbally assaulted by the lady who helps run the rv park.. she said they left the water running in the showers (they did not use the showers) and they called this vandalizing! An adult from our site had been down to take a shower an hour earlier and the shower was running the whole time so conserned she knocked with no answer and then opened it and there was an orange cone in the shower so she assumed it was broke.. We sent the girls down to brush there teeth and hair an our later and get verbally abused!!! I will never take my family to this skuzzy place again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenbuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

The RV park is basic, a good place to stop over for the night. This is the second time we've stayed here and it's for the location. The kids love the beach, biking over to the docks to see the sea lions and walking to the lighthouse. We've always been here in May so it has never been crowded. Staff is very friendly.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ocpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 18 in Crescent City
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Crescent City
Travelodge Crescent City
#10 of 18 in Crescent City
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline RV Park and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline RV Park and Campground

Property: Shoreline RV Park and Campground
Address: 900 Sunset Cir, Crescent City, CA 95531-4431
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 89
Also Known As:
Shoreline Rv Park And Campground Hotel Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing