We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly, close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Rock Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I rented a large cabin for my wife's surprise birthday, her sisters were flying into Denver from California, my wife thought we were going for just the two of us. I explained what was going on to the owner and he told me about a shuttle that runs from Estes to DIA, or the other way depending. My wife and her sisters were having so much fun, I asked the owner if we were able to rent it longer, "No problem" I was told. We stayed in the Big Horn Cottage. The place was very clean, very roomy, 8 people could stay in there comfortably. Highly recommend it, and we go to Estes alot.

Room Tip: Clair's Restaurant is right down the hill. Good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scooternmoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

My family of four stayed in the Chickadee Cottage for four nights July-August 2013. The 1 bedroom cottage fit our family well with both a comfortable double bed and a sleeper sofa. The cottage was clean and in a great location which we found to both be quiet and just a short walk from downtown Estes Park. As others have noted, the cabin did not have air conditioning (as is lacking in many other places we have previously stayed in Estes Park) but we had no problem cooling the cabin by opening the windows at night. The owners were helpful in describing hikes in the area and restaurants in town. We will look to stay here again on future trips to Estes Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EffinIllini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in the Wapiti Cottage which is a block away from the main property and it was very private and cozy. We loved our stay here and were impressed with how nice it was. The sleeper sofa bed was an air mattress and was surprisingly comfortable. We were able to walk into town and stopped in a cute coffee shop where we met nice locals that gave us tips about the city. The only downside I will mention was the front yard of our cottage wasn't as picturesque, there were actually quite a bit of weeds, but it didn't really bother us much because we didn't spend a lot of time on the patio. Overall it was a great, pleasant stay and I will definitely try to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandarin327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have stayed at River Rock Cottages twice during the summer high season, and have been coming to Estes Park for many, many summers, having stayed in lots of different accommodations. This location is close to town yet accessible without getting into the summer town traffic. It's quiet, cozy, comfortable, terrifically updated, and feels like home. Regardless of other reviews, this location is not loud. Virginia Drive, the road the cottages are on, is a quiet neighborhood street. (The town is small -- if there is a siren, you're going to hear it anywhere you stay.) To top it off, Terry and Caroline couldn't be nicer and or more accommodating -- it's like staying with friends. This is now our "go-to" place in Estes Park.

Room Tip: Chickadee Cottage is perfect for one or two folks. This trip we also ended up booking Diamond Cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniemac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week. The location is very close to downtown Estes Park, practically within walking distance, but that also means lots of street noises all day and night. Heard sirens, street cleaners, dump trucks, motor bikes, etc. going by at all hours. Couldn't close the windows completely because there was no air conditioning.

To be fair, Most places in Estes Park do not have air conditioning. This place is no exception to that. There are ceiling fans, but when it's in the 80s and 90s, nothing but AC can provide relief.

We were surprised that by our 5th day of our stay, no one had been by to swap out towels or linens. If it had been made clear ahead of time that we would need to take out the trash and such ourselves, i would not have expected those services that come for granted at hotels and motels. When we ran out of toilet paper, we decided it was time to just ask the owners for more, and ask to swap out towels.

Most cottages have lots of windows, and the blinds on the windows don't block any light. It was rather bright at night being near the street.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank middle_aged_mom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in the Golden Leaf cabin. It was newer construction and featured seating for four on the patio, comfortable pleather fold out sofa, footstools, 32" television with dish network and dining room table for six in the front room, kitchen was fully furnished with all utensils pots & pans, plates cups and appliances (including coffee maker, stove, oven, fridge, dishwasher, toaster & microwave). The bedrooms each include a full size bed, large (loud) fan, bring a smaller one if you want to sleep with it on, hangar space and a hanging shelf system for clothes.

We loved the accomodations and doubly loved the location. It was great for us as we had a 5 year only and 1 year old traveling with us. We were able to take a short 5 minute walk down the hill to grab dinner, ice cream or take the kids to the playground by dairy queen. The only drawback about the location is there was a fair bit of road traffic after dark that (with the windows open, as is customary in summer) was a bit annoying.

There was also a nice common area with hammock, 2 x park style barbecue grills and 3 x picnic tables. We cooked out two nights for dinner as we were unsuccesful finding a local restaurant with remotely decent food. Word of advice, there is only one grocery store in Estes Park (which is also only a convenient 7 minute walk from the cabin), the locals go EARLY in the morning because it is a mad house all day long, so act like a local and go early if you want to avoid the crowds (there's a starbucks inside, which helps).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

If you are interested in a location close to downtown Estes Park, these cottages are within walking distance. We stayed in the Diamond Cottage and we were a little disappointed in the lack of privacy (the bedroom has a door but the other beds are in locations without doors). Also, there is no A/C, so the cottage was warm when we first arrived but cooled off nicely in the evening. The cottage was clean and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 28 in Estes Park
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Cottages

Address: 311 Virginia Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: £71 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rock Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed and comfortable accommodations; less than 3 blocks to downtown Estes Park and 3.5 miles to entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park; easy walk to shopping and restaurants; 360 beautiful mountain views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your River Rock Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Cottages Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing