We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Rock Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Rock Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed in the Aspen Cottage while in town for the Thanksgiving Day parade. This unit was the perfect size for our family of three. It is centrally located with adequate parking and it was a very short walk to downtown Estes Park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    69
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
209
112
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our party of 8 enjoyed a weekend in the Diamond Cottage. It was clean, with a well stocked kitchen, and plenty of room. The kids (4 kiddos, ages 3-7) enjoyed playing outside. It was a great location, and reasonable price.

Room Tip: There is only 1 enclosed room in the Diamond Cottage, so plan your travel companions wisely. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kisti F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We rented the Bighorn Cabin a couple days the first week of September 2013 and found it perfect for our visit to Rocky Mountain NP. It was close to the park as well as the town plus clean and quiet at a reasonable rate. Can't ask for more than that. Our party included four adults. Only picky comment is we wished the unit had a garbage disposal. That would have made it easier to clean up. We would recommend it to others.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LandMfromflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed in the Chickadee the last week of August 2013. Couldn't ask for a better location. Short walk to downtown yet off the beaten track so very quiet and peaceful. Great views. Lots of windows which I kept open the whole time. Very comfortable furniture and bed. Darling bathroom with exposed original logs. Clean and tasteful decor. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I rented a large cabin for my wife's surprise birthday, her sisters were flying into Denver from California, my wife thought we were going for just the two of us. I explained what was going on to the owner and he told me about a shuttle that runs from Estes to DIA, or the other way depending. My wife and her sisters were having so much fun, I asked the owner if we were able to rent it longer, "No problem" I was told. We stayed in the Big Horn Cottage. The place was very clean, very roomy, 8 people could stay in there comfortably. Highly recommend it, and we go to Estes alot.

Room Tip: Clair's Restaurant is right down the hill. Good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooternmoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My family of four stayed in the Chickadee Cottage for four nights July-August 2013. The 1 bedroom cottage fit our family well with both a comfortable double bed and a sleeper sofa. The cottage was clean and in a great location which we found to both be quiet and just a short walk from downtown Estes Park. As others have noted, the cabin did not have air conditioning (as is lacking in many other places we have previously stayed in Estes Park) but we had no problem cooling the cabin by opening the windows at night. The owners were helpful in describing hikes in the area and restaurants in town. We will look to stay here again on future trips to Estes Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EffinIllini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in the Wapiti Cottage which is a block away from the main property and it was very private and cozy. We loved our stay here and were impressed with how nice it was. The sleeper sofa bed was an air mattress and was surprisingly comfortable. We were able to walk into town and stopped in a cute coffee shop where we met nice locals that gave us tips about the city. The only downside I will mention was the front yard of our cottage wasn't as picturesque, there were actually quite a bit of weeds, but it didn't really bother us much because we didn't spend a lot of time on the patio. Overall it was a great, pleasant stay and I will definitely try to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandarin327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.8 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#12 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Cottages

Property: River Rock Cottages
Address: 311 Virginia Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rock Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed and comfortable accommodations; less than 3 blocks to downtown Estes Park and 3.5 miles to entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park; easy walk to shopping and restaurants; 360 beautiful mountain views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your River Rock Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Cottages Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing