We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin a Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Rock Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cabin a Disappointment”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was not impressed with River Rock Cottages. The cottage was dirty and the shower had mold in it. They advertise that they will give you clean towels upon request but when we asked for clean towels we were told that this was not a hotel and we needed to make due with one towel each for the 4 days we stayed there. My family was scheduled to stay in Big Horn and Aspen but part of our family was sent away and could not stay because their two year old son made the count too high for that cabin. I thought the owner was very rude. The floors in Big Horn cracked and made noise so bad that if you got up in the middle of the night you woke up the whole cabin.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn_in_Estes, Owner at River Rock Cottages, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
We’re sorry you did not enjoy your time at our cottages. We do have strict maximum occupancy codes per Estes Park town/fire codes and we cannot exceed that number of guests which does include infants/children. We state that maximum occupancy includes infants/children on our website in several places and then again in the email confirmations we send. We did try to help you find alternate accommodations for your additional guests and were glad you were able to find space elsewhere.

I am a little confused about your comments regarding the clean towels as we do provide fresh towels upon request and we did exchange your towels. We do not have daily maid service however as again, we’re regulated by town code and we are not located in a ‘hotel’ zoned area. (We are in a quieter, residential area) We’re also concerned about your perception that the cottage was dirty as we do work hard to provide a very clean cottage for all of our guests. We do all of our own cleaning personally. It can get hectic in our very busy summer months, but our objective is to ensure that each guest enjoys a clean cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    70
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
217
114
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in the Golden Leaf Cabin, which is the farthest one down the hill, and you would only have one neighbor. There were 4 adults and one child; it was tight. Three adults and one or two kids is probably the max. I think it says it will sleep 6 but it will be very crowded with 6. There is also only really one parking spot at this cabin but it is handicap accessible. Also has a very large handicap accessible bathroom. The cabin was clean and well stocked with the basics, microwave, coffee maker, stove, dish soap, etc. There is satellite TV and WiFi if you need to stay in touch while on vacation. I worked every morning and the speed was very acceptable. You might want to bring baggies or aluminum foil for leftovers if you plan on using the kitchen. It’s a quick walk to the downtown area where we found a fun playground for our 3-year-old. The location is probably the best part about the entire property! It’s also a quick walk to the Stanley, Safeway, and other conveniences. Terry was great about exchanging towels and other essentials. We loved the rocking chairs on the porch. The property is quiet and well maintained, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you find the fan in the closet, it will get warm during the day but will cool off at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The cottages are very clean and a great value for the money. The beds are comfortable. Kitchen area helps save a lot of money and are well appointed. Complimentary WiFi works quickly. We stayed in Fern Leaf, which was perfect for our family of four. The rest of our group stayed in Bighorn, which also had a washer and dryer. The patio was great for hanging out, drinking wine and grilling dinner. It was also a great vantage to watch Estes Park fireworks that are shot off over the lake. The cottages are within a short walking distance to the downtown. While they do have some charm, they are not fancy, but for the location and the price, they are an excellent value. The patio landscaping could use some updating. The owners were friendly and gave us some good tips including directing us to some local hiking trails. When we needed a crockpot or a water pitcher, they were able to provide it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrice518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Romania, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent one night in "Diamond" w/ two of my college roomies - was the first night of a reunion of some now-middle-aged-gals who hadn't seen one another since the kids were little! Wow - lotta years ago! Couldn't have picked a better spot. Really kicked our vacation off right with our night in Diamond Cottage. Convenient location, wonderful, comfortable beds - including the day bed - for everyone, nice pillows and blankets. Loved the open windows and cool night breeze. Sat on patio and chatted, drank wine, and enjoyed the incredible Colorado scenery. Immaculately clean through out, w/ nicely stocked kitchen and plenty of room. Perhaps some bins for recycling?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3canines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a great time. We called at the very last minute and the owners were so accommodating and friendly. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 small children, and it was perfect for our short stay. The place is like new. It is a short jog away from all the shopping but yet up in the hill to enjoy the scenery. We will return next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We chose Diamond Cottage for a girls weekend away and just loved it. The cottage was clean, comfortable and so cute. We have plenty of space for all 6 of us and enjoyed the outdoor space provided. It is an easy walk to town and a short drive to the park.
We would love to visit again!

Room Tip: Diamond cottage is attached to Chickadee, so you may want to consider that if you have a group that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend with our two small sons. We stayed in the Bighorn Cabin and were able to spread out. The cabin was clean and had everything in the kitchen that we needed. We were glad there was a TV as we had quite a bit of rain during our stay and needed to entertain the kids in the cabin.

The one bedroom with a queen bed has a large enough closet with a door that I think a Pack-n-Play could fit in there should anyone be traveling with a baby.

The location of this place is GREAT! Only a 5-minute walk to downtown Estes Park. We very much enjoyed the gorgeous views of mountains and the Stanley Hotel.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorrie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
779 reviews
1.1 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Cottages

Property: River Rock Cottages
Address: 311 Virginia Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rock Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed and comfortable accommodations; less than 3 blocks to downtown Estes Park and 3.5 miles to entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park; easy walk to shopping and restaurants; 360 beautiful mountain views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your River Rock Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Cottages Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing