We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Rock Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a great stay recently at River Rock Cottages. We stayed in Fern Lake and it was perfect for our family of four. You can't beat the location. After 16 hours in the car it was so nice to be able to park the car and walk into town. The cottage had everything we needed. And Terry and Carolyn were great... Terry gave us some great advice (and helped us find an elk to the delight of our kids) and Carolyn contacted us almost immediately when they discovered we'd left a treasured stuffed animal in the cabin after check out. We'll recommend this place to everyone we know and will definitely return if/when we are in Estes Park again. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    70
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
210
113
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at this cabin two years ago and liked it so well, we came back. Was not disappointed. We stayed at the Diamond and everything was great. Very close to downtown. I walked there every morning while my two girls slept in. The cottage has everything you need for a great stay: very comfortable beds, large bathroom, fully stocked kitchen, and comfortable living room. The place was very clean, including the shower. We hiked some days and shopped or went on adventures every day. We bought a cheap foam cooler and took our lunches, snacks and beverages with us every day for lunch. Clean towels were brought on our third morning while we were out...very nice! The owners are friendly and happy to help in any way. Woke up our third morning to find two large buck elks sleeping in the yard next door! Are cabin is adjoining another and we never heard our neighbors except one night when a toddler was having trouble getting to sleep. We cooked hotdogs over the fire pit one night and s'mores several nights. We left the windows open every day. It was a little warm when we would return around 5pm, but once we turned the ceiling fan on, it cooled off nicely in about 30 minutes. The nights were cool..perfect for sleeping. We love this place and will definitely stay again.
It's hard to explain...you feel like you are away from the crowds, but only a few blocks from downtown!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Evergreen Cottage for four nights. We loved the ease of check-in, the privacy given us and the access of the owners when needed. Our cabin had a deck with table and umbrella where we enjoyed our cocktails and view of Longs Peak. Even with the weather less than perfect, we enjoyed being close to Estes Park, just a short walk or drive to town and the time we spent in Rocky Mountain National Park. We had a visit to the Stanley Hotel, just for drinks and appetizers on one of the rainy afternoons. The bar was beautiful and there was no charge to park as I read in some of the reviews for the Stanley. We wish we could have enjoyed the fire ring at night but the rain prevented it...maybe next time.

Room Tip: I loved the privacy of the Evergreen Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy_Steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Chickadee Cottage the night before I ran the Rocky Mountain Half Marathon. The cottage is cute and clean with simple decor. The cottage had the basics, including a coffeemaker (a must have when you have to wake up at 3am for pre-race prep), and was perfect for our needs. I slept like a baby the night before the race and owners were very easy to deal with when I had questions a couple of weeks before we arrived. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this little gem to anyone I know.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank grinderle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estherville, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our stay at the River Rock Cottages was very nice and perfect for our trip. It was so close to downtown Estes Park that we could walk if we wanted to. Our cabin was very nice and up-to-date and very clean. The outside fire pit and sitting area was a nice touch as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was not impressed with River Rock Cottages. The cottage was dirty and the shower had mold in it. They advertise that they will give you clean towels upon request but when we asked for clean towels we were told that this was not a hotel and we needed to make due with one towel each for the 4 days we stayed there. My family was scheduled to stay in Big Horn and Aspen but part of our family was sent away and could not stay because their two year old son made the count too high for that cabin. I thought the owner was very rude. The floors in Big Horn cracked and made noise so bad that if you got up in the middle of the night you woke up the whole cabin.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn_in_Estes, Owner at River Rock Cottages, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
We’re sorry you did not enjoy your time at our cottages. We do have strict maximum occupancy codes per Estes Park town/fire codes and we cannot exceed that number of guests which does include infants/children. We state that maximum occupancy includes infants/children on our website in several places and then again in the email confirmations we send. We did try to help you find alternate accommodations for your additional guests and were glad you were able to find space elsewhere.

I am a little confused about your comments regarding the clean towels as we do provide fresh towels upon request and we did exchange your towels. We do not have daily maid service however as again, we’re regulated by town code and we are not located in a ‘hotel’ zoned area. (We are in a quieter, residential area) We’re also concerned about your perception that the cottage was dirty as we do work hard to provide a very clean cottage for all of our guests. We do all of our own cleaning personally. It can get hectic in our very busy summer months, but our objective is to ensure that each guest enjoys a clean cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in the Golden Leaf Cabin, which is the farthest one down the hill, and you would only have one neighbor. There were 4 adults and one child; it was tight. Three adults and one or two kids is probably the max. I think it says it will sleep 6 but it will be very crowded with 6. There is also only really one parking spot at this cabin but it is handicap accessible. Also has a very large handicap accessible bathroom. The cabin was clean and well stocked with the basics, microwave, coffee maker, stove, dish soap, etc. There is satellite TV and WiFi if you need to stay in touch while on vacation. I worked every morning and the speed was very acceptable. You might want to bring baggies or aluminum foil for leftovers if you plan on using the kitchen. It’s a quick walk to the downtown area where we found a fun playground for our 3-year-old. The location is probably the best part about the entire property! It’s also a quick walk to the Stanley, Safeway, and other conveniences. Terry was great about exchanging towels and other essentials. We loved the rocking chairs on the porch. The property is quiet and well maintained, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you find the fan in the closet, it will get warm during the day but will cool off at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#6 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Cottages

Property: River Rock Cottages
Address: 311 Virginia Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rock Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed and comfortable accommodations; less than 3 blocks to downtown Estes Park and 3.5 miles to entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park; easy walk to shopping and restaurants; 360 beautiful mountain views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your River Rock Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Cottages Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing