We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we were expecting...almost.”
Review of StoneBrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
StoneBrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything we were expecting...almost.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I booked this place online after doing a lot of research. This place seemed to be exactly what we were looking for for our Anniversary trip-a nice place to get away, rustic feel, quiet and away from the hustle of the main shopping area and near the river. When we arrived (June 11, 2014) Mike was more than pleasant and welcoming. He gave us all kinds of recommendations for places to eat, shop and hike. We had reserved Cottage #6 (facing the parking area) and had a cute little table and two chairs out front. Only has a couple of windows and two shared walls with other cottages to the rear and the side. The grounds were kept clean and appealing as was our cottage when we arrived. All the cottages are a little different, so check out their website to choose the right one for you. This one had a kitchenette with a dorm size fridge, plenty of cabinets, sink, cooking utensils (w/dishes, pots/pans, silverware, pitcher, etc.), lots of counter space and a 2-burner stove. The bathroom wasn’t overly large, but it was sufficient although not much storage space and no tub. One thing we were not warned about is that this cottage is on a tankless hot water heater and only allows for enough hot water for about a 10 min time frame. I wish I would have been told this before finding out the hard way…yep head full of shampoo and ice cold water. It doesn’t take long to heat back up, but it makes taking showers a little awkward.

We were there for 3 nights and really did enjoy our time there. It is so relaxing and loved hanging out by the river with the chairs and benches(the hammocks weren’t out yet). We even hiked up the trail that is across the bridge and up the mtn. Great view, but a steep hike.

The only other issue we had is that we didn't have heat for 2 of the 3 nights. In their defense we didn't say anything until the next morning as we got in late the 1st night and was completely exhausted. A short time later someone did come in and took a look at it, but couldn't fix it. By the 3rd day when Mike came by to check on it the heat (fireplace), it came right on...several times. No idea what the problem was. I’m just glad it never got too terribly cold while we were there. There is a heat lamp in the bathroom that was used quite a bit. There was a small table with 2 chairs, a nightstand, a tall dresser, a nice leather love seat, a chest/coffee table and a ceiling fan. All in great condition.

The bed was fine although a little worn and seemed to dip in the middle. There was only a few towels and had to request more, but they came quickly. No maid service unless its requested. You must clean the kitchen before you leave or be charged $100 cleaning fee. The wifi worked fine, except in the evenings when I assume more people were on it.

I know it sounds like we had a rough time, but it was really nice and could put most of it in the back of our minds. Our white water trip was awesome and a highlight of our trip (A-1 Wildwater) as was our massage from Elements of Touch. We ate at Rock Mtn. Tavern (casual) and Twin Owl Steakhouse (make ressies), although different type places-both were really good!!

Stonebrook is about 2 miles from town and is very convenient to most things in Estes. I love the setting and Mike was super about everything, but until some things change I’m not sure we’ll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TinkerShell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    73
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
61
430
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burdett, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I enjoyed three nights at StoneBrook. It was a relaxing, renewing time! What really made the place nice was Mike. He visited with us for a long time, telling us all about Estes Park, RMNP...offering any services that would help us have a nice time. If we're ever in Estes park again, we'll definitely stay there again! My husband walked around the room, looking for anything "dirty"...he's pretty particular about motel rooms... He said the place was VERY clean!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our stay at the Stonebrook Resort was a peaceful, relaxing, and adventurous get-a-way from the urban chaos we live in every day. We chose this resort because of the affordability, cook in kitchen, wilderness, and the closeness to Rocky Mountain National Park. Very clean place and safe! Mike is the owner and by far the friendliest and most kind person, which made it an even better place to stay at. He loves to educate his customers on the best places to hike and eat at. He has two dogs, Bella and Charlie who also help manage the grounds with him. They are very friendly and kind dogs. We found it nice having the option to buy local steak and Elk from Mike at a very reasonable price-- if that is not your thing he will surly give you recommendations on the best places to eat. There is a Safeway nearby in Stanley Village which we enjoyed as we like eating at home. We still ate out a little bit while we were there and loved the places we went to. NotchTop Cafe and You Need Pie! are the best. Also, we were there over the weekend so we needed a church to go to and found that Estes Park Baptist Church was near by and we received a great message and warm welcome from the locals. The best part about our stay was waking up to the sound of a streaming river and of course the adventurous hikes we went on at RMNP. The water here is delicious, never treated and pure from the mountain so drink up! No need to waste your money on water bottles!!

Good to know:
- Don't go to this resort if you are expecting WiFi this is not the place for that, but you can go into town and get internet access.. Don't know why you would as its a good time to stay unplugged.

Tips:
1. Eat a lot of food (more than you usually would) as your at an altitude of 7,450+ which your body is not used to.. Food and water will give you the stamina you need.
2. Buy ChlorOxygen which is great for high altitudes and breathing.
3. Stay for a week! We only stayed for 5 days, but a week is much better as it takes a few days to adjust and get to know the area.
4. Bring sunscreen, lotion, and chap-stick with sunscreen in it! We did not do this and our lips were bleeding by the 2nd day. It is super dry up there so make sure you prepare!

Room Tip: Loved cottage #2!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in cottage 2 to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. It butts right up to the river, which you can hear even when the windows are shut - so peaceful!
Mike & his dogs, Charlie & Bella, were around every day making it seem more like a little community rather than a generic hotel.
Anything you may need, this man is on it. Thanks, Mike!

Beautiful place, perfect location, close to everything :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lpearish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Rarely does a place turn out better than advertised - this did BIG TIME! The room was SPOTLESS, we actually made a game of trying to find a speck of dust anywhere - nope! Also, we had to ask, as it was so well maintained that we thought we were in a NEW cabin or something. Everything looked brand new!. What is also nice is the owner Mike and his two dogs were wonderful greeters and gave us a lot of very helpful information. We loved listening to the river, and although the cabins are close, you still get a really good sense of privacy. I wasn't sure I would come back to Estes Park again (just based on my opps for vacation travel) but next chance I get, I will try!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WearyTraveler217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We loved everything about Stonebrook, especially the views and sounds of the beautiful Fall River! We loved sitting on the swinging bench on the water, watching the hummingbirds eat at the feeders, and relaxing in the jacuzzi tub! Mike was very friendly and helpful! He takes pride in his resort, and it shows! He even stained the wood and helped rebuild the bridge that was knocked out in the September flood! We love Estes Park and will always stay at Stonebrook! It certainly deserves its award of excellence on TripAdvisor! :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

StoneBrook offered everything my husband and I were looking for in a little private getaway. The river was very close and beautiful with plenty of places to sit and relax by it. Our private hot worked beautifully and we had a great view of the stars. We grilled steaks one evening and ate out on the patio. Perfect little trip!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
310 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
472 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
463 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StoneBrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StoneBrook Resort

Property: StoneBrook Resort
Address: 1710 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
StoneBrook Resort is a quiet little spot along the Fall River offering a tranquil mountain environment at your back door. Our adult only resort offers riverside cottages with private hot tubs and river suites with in-room spa tubs. All units have fireplaces and kitchens. An ideal place to honeymoon, relax & renew and get in touch with pure Colorado Rocky Mountain Nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stonebrook Hotel Estes Park
StoneBrook Resort Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing