We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Historic Crags Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This historic hotel has great charm. Our room overlooked the forest and was really two rooms. It has an efficient kitchen and comfortable living roor, separated from the bedroom by a full bath. The hotel does not have air conditioning, but all you have to do is open your windows and breathe in the pine scented air.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolschoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at The Historic Crags Lodge. We were delighted to read that your stay met your expectations. Your tips about our accommodations were really insightful. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

My sisters and I visited Estes for a Friday night--Crag's was one of the available places to be able to book 1 night (most others require a min of 2-3).
We booked the 1 bedroom suite but we were upgraded to a 2 room suite. It was perfect with the kitchenette--plenty of room to spread out.
Staff at desk was very helpful about local restaurants and where to go sightseeing.
During our stay there was a big birthday party but that did not interfere with stay. Things seem to quiet down after 11pm and we could hardly hear anything-even though our room was above the bar area.
Helpful staff is a plus, room was good-no air-conditioning but we opened windows in living room area and were fine. Location is great for access to the downtown area although it is high on a hill and you need to drive down.
Room was a little pricey but probably the going rate for Estes Park proper.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your kind review; we are pleased to read that our apartments once again proved convenient and comfortable and we are glad that you have enjoyed your undisturbed stay. We hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future and for a little longer too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Firstly, we have stayed at a number of places in Estes Park over the last 10 years. Never was even aware of Crags Lodge. Sorry we missed it in earlier visits! Do be aware this is a 1914'ish building, but reasonably modernized. We had a single bedroom - living room with kitchenette. Ceiling fans helped a lot as the weather was in the upper 90's - August but hot for Estes Park in August.
We were greeted by Ann on entry and given a most pleasant reception - over the top friendly and helpful. She did warn us that there was a wedding the next afternoon, evening and that things might be noisy in the dining area. We even got a choice of rooms to try to avoid the noise.
Dinner is run by a different company - there is no breakfast facility, but we had planned on that, and bought local supplies - and with the kitchen fully supplied with hardware - it was not an issue - in fact rather nice. As for the Dinner (again not part of hotel management - but in the dining room) , we got to sit on the outside "couples" porch surrounded by flowers in the railing boxes and watch the sunset over Rocky Mountain National Park. Beautiful.

So if you want a modern hotel with 2010's furnishings and amenities, look hard - they are hard to find in Estes Park. But if you want a fantastic mountain experience hotel with a staff that seems to care deeply for your stay - then Crags is the place!

Room Tip: If you are using Hotels.com, do call the hotel directly - they will match or beat the internet rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewillDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at The Historic Crags Lodge. We were glad to hear that you and your companion had a wonderful time here, and that you were able to experience some of the amenities and customer service that make us a truly unique resort here in Estes Park. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you both here again soon, as well as, for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Found Crags Lodge when we needed a place to stay in Estes Park for only one night. Nice old hotel (built in 1914) but with lots of tasteful updates. Hotel staff is great. Location is close to downtown and near the south entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearclaw47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were pleased to see this beautiful resort when we pulled in. Even our room was nice. Great balcony. Nice kitchen. Then we realized our room was under the dinning room. Have you ever lived in an old house with squeaky floors. Well imagine amplifying that a 100 times. To make matters worst the next night there was a wedding reception. OMG!!! We were not a part of the wedding party so were subjected to the unbearable noise. If management was on top of it they would have only put wedding guests down there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rivrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We are very sorry to read that you have experienced some noise issues whilst at our resort. We assure you that our sole intention is to offer our guest a relaxing, enjoyable break and we are equally disappointed that this was not the case on this occasion. We strongly encourage our guests to contact us should they not be satisfied with their room allocation so that we can look into offering them an alternative accommodation. We are sorry if your stay has caused you any dissatisfaction and we assure you that should you decide to give us another chance we would do our best to exceed your expectations. We wish you all the best on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

The Crags was built circa 1914. Yes, development has encroached upon the Crags. Still, if one tries, it is possible to evoke a simpler time. The lobby is soothing and quiet with comfortable furniture and no Tv. Room was fine, staff friendly and food at their restaurant was very good. We've stayed there before and will again. I love it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fornelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We found the Historic Crags listed on Trip advisor and I'm so glad we did. It was adorable. My husband and 5 year old son, and I stayed two nights In mid August and just loved it. We got the double bed with a pull out couch. The room had a small kitchen and included everything we needed if we wanted to avoid eating out.

The hotel seemed to be slow but the bar stayed open at all times and I had a wonderful chocolate martini. Our room overlooked the "Overlook Hotel" from the Shining. So cool! The real name is The Stanley. The staff was very sweet and the view was amazing. We spent both days in the pool and both nights in the hot tub. My son loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Crags Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

We’re delighted that you chose to stay at the Historic Crags Lodge, and that you had a great time here! We hope you’ll consider us for future visits to Estes Park – we’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,617 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 28 in Estes Park
491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
848 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 28 in Estes Park
92 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Crags Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Crags Lodge

Address: 300 Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: £64 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Crags Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located in the heart of Estes Park on the north side of Prospect Mountain and only minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Breathtaking mountain views surround you making this the prefect location for your mountain wedding.The landscape of Rocky Mountain National Park is the steepest in the United States. Sixty mountain peaks over 12,000 feet high result in world-renown scenery and provide challenges for hikers and climbers. The extreme topography creates an amazing range of ecological zones within a short distance, similar to the changes that would be seen in a drive from Denver to northern Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Historic Crags Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Crags At The Golden Eagle Hotel Estes Park
The Historic Crags Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing