We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff & views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great staff & views!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We loved this resort from Day one! The staff was pleasant and welcoming, and very eager to answer any questions, as well as resolve any issues which came up . Although many local attractions were closed in the off season, hot-tubbing in the snow was a real treat! The pool table, free videos and laundry services were appreciated, and we would definitely recommend this property to all of our friends!

Room Tip: We had a great view in the Annex. The 3rd floor also has good views, but we preferred the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryMVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    83
    29
    16
    9
See reviews for
49
129
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Walking into the hotel made me smile. The beautiful lobby and the friendly desk hosts made me realize that we had made a great decision to stay is this historic hotel. From the old wood floors to the beautiful grounds....everything seemed so lovely. Walking into our small suite was another delight. We had a splendid view of the mountains beyond three large windows. The room was nicely updated with cushy and clean carpet and a welcoming all white bed with fresh linens and pillows. I loved the little kitchenette stocked with all the dishes and utensils we needed. We also enjoyed a comfortable couch and a table and chairs for two. We were only able to stay one night, but would have loved to have stayed longer. We filled our cups with delicious coffee from the lobby as we left. We will be back!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twyla313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for your smile. Hearing how much you enjoyed our grounds and accommodations fills us with pride as we take great efforts to ensure we not only update our resort and keep our standards high, but also retain the historic spirit of the Crags Lodge. I am sure the surrounding landscape also contributed to the beauty of our destination, like the mountains you could view right from your room. We also appreciate it when our guests notice the improvements that have been made, such as the beds, linens and the items that made you love the kitchenette. We’re saddened to hear that you only had a chance to stay for one night, but we can’t wait for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Very helpful staff. Check in quick & easy. Rooms are nice, hot shower, nice TV, carpet is a bit dated. Kitchenette is a plus.
Not a lot of activities, but the winter is slow season. Hot tub soaking with snow falling down on your heads was nice. Beautiful views. Very close to rocky mtn natl park. Lots of shops within walking distance. Many eating venues nearby also. Had to wait for a group of 10 elk as they crossed road. Didn't have any difficulty finding things to do outside of resort. Gorgeous drive into area from 2 different roads. Flood from September is very evident during the drive, but town really isn't affected.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheeser08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
351 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This one hundred year old property is wonderful. When you enter the lobby, you are greeted by the friendliest most helpful staff ever. Beautiful old hardwood floors and a massive fireplace greet you. With a western rustic sitting area to relax in. The rooms are very comfortable, wonderful linens, comfy bed, cuisinart coffee maker and a fridge and little stove. Room 201 is tucked away at the end of the hall and is so cozy and private, we loved it. There are floor to ceiling windows in the main part of the lodge overlooking the town, gorgeous. The downside is that the units are vacation properties (timeshares) and it is almost impossible to get a room in the summer. There is a restaurant with a great reputation, open only in the summer. Also a heated pool, hot tub and grill outside. The staff are amazing!,, a truly wonderful and special place.

Room Tip: Room 201 is private, quiet and has a bay window....super nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canada777-1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
I am glad to read that all in all you had an excellent stay and your particular praise about the service is gratefully received. We sincerely hope that you will add us to your destination lists and that we will see you coming back with another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was great. My fiancé and I stayed for a week right after Christmas and had an amazing time. The location is perfect, the lodge is picturesque, the views amazing. The staff is top notch and we loved the family feel of the place. Felt welcomed every time we walked in. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Lodging accommodations are fantastic for a Century Old lodge in the Estes Park mountains. In keepers are excellent personalities ready to assist. Water is super hot and rooms are cozy In the winter. Spending our Christmas Eve here and loving the snowy weather. Parking is a bit crowded if you drive an over sized truck, but there is parking away from the main lodge. Everything is on a steep slope from the entrance road to the parking lot. 4WD recommended in the icy months. Restaurant is seasonal and closed for the season. Local eateries are plentiful, however. (The Big Horn Restaurant was our favorite in close proximity.)

Views from the main lodge were amazing day and night. Next door neighbor to the EP aerial tramway station (seasonal). Will recommend to friends who have appropriate vehicles for the hill climb. Worth a look see and is defiantly a great value in winter months.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbSusieTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

this place is very nice and close to many attractions in the area. I saw a lot of wildlife which I love. I took great pictures. RMNP was really terrific and it was a great time to go during November. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena Damien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
It is great to read that you had such a pleasant time here with us and that our location proved suitable to your requirements. Thank you for your recommendation, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
439 reviews
1.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#13 of 77 in Estes Park
217 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#42 of 77 in Estes Park
126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Appenzell Inn
Appenzell Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 300 Riverside Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located in the heart of Estes Park on the north side of Prospect Mountain and only minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Breathtaking mountain views surround you making this the prefect location for your mountain wedding.The landscape of Rocky Mountain National Park is the steepest in the United States. Sixty mountain peaks over 12,000 feet high result in world-renown scenery and provide challenges for hikers and climbers. The extreme topography creates an amazing range of ecological zones within a short distance, similar to the changes that would be seen in a drive from Denver to northern Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Crags At The Golden Eagle Hotel Estes Park
Historic Crags At The Golden Eagle Resort Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing