We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location even better views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lazy R Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy R Cottages
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location even better views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in Cabin 5 (Eagles Nest) for two nights. The cabin is perched at the very top and was very quiet and had great views from all sides. It was very nicely decorated and very comfortable and inviting. Felt like we had our own little piece of paradise in Colorado. It was a lot warmer than usual up in the high 80’s and with no air condition I wasn’t sure what to expect. But once you opened the windows and with the nice shade and fans it cooled off in no time and was very comfortable. Best part was all the wildlife that was hanging around. We spent each morning watching a photographing the animals. We totally enjoyed our stay and loved the close proximity to shops, dining and Rocky Mountain National Park.

Room Tip: Recommend cabins higher up to eliminate the road noise. Could not hear the traffic from cabin 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlebean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    62
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
112
64
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We rented both the Rocky Mountain I & II for five nights. They were comfortable and nicely decorated. The exterior could use some work; missing window screens and the neighbors kept their places kind of messy. The places slept 14 & 10 respectively, but they didnt have enought dinner plates and forks to accomodate that many people. Other than these few items we had a great time and had plenty of room for our large group. The large deck and picnic tables were great for our family and we all could gather together. The mainenance staff was attentive and came each time we reported the hot tub leaking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravler006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed in Cabin 3 (Mountainview) for 4 nights - pet friendly cabin. A huge elk came up the driveway the first morning while I was outside having coffee. The porch was nice with a hot tub which we used each evening. The futon was hard to get up from, after sitting down. The mattress on the bed needs to be replaced. It was unusually hot in late June and we only had a fan - no AC. The view of the mountain from the porch was the best feature. Also within walking distance of two of our favorite restaurants - Sundeck and The Other Side. Would stay again but maybe in May.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a cabin with the best view of the mountains. They have several.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were in the "Ponderosa" cottage, and it was great. Had everything we needed, including a well-equipped kitchen. The place was clean and decorated in the cute "lodge" style, which is totally appropriate to the town. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is nice- not right downtown (which was a plus for us, as the downtown was crazy-crowded). It's about half-way between the downtown and the park entrance, so close enough to both of them. There was a small market across the street which had almost everything we needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Well located, especially Cabin 5, which is not directly on the road. Charming ! We spent 3 nights there and felt ourselves in the National Park itself, les than one mile away. Super admet just a few steps from the cottages.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieG028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Our cabin, the Blue Spruce, was spacious, very clean and comfortable. There was even a fireplace. The view out the wndow above the window seat was awesome. The bed was very comfortable and we appeciated that the lodging was pet friendly. Being a little ways out of the hustle and bustle of downtown was fine with us. We would be happy to stay there again. Our biggest disappointment of the trip was that the national park didn't allow dogs on its trails.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We have stayed at Lawn Lane A three times now. It's a great little place - always clean. It's got a nice, private hot tub and you're in the heart of downtown Estes. We love that you can walk to the shops and the glass-blower. Love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmbDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.7 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#13 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.0 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#42 of 77 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dao House
Dao House
#62 of 77 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
#43 of 77 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy R Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy R Cottages

Property: Lazy R Cottages
Address: 891 Moraine Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lazy R Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled below Colorado’s radiant mountaintops is beautiful Lazy R Cottages. Our one-, two-, and three-bedroom cabins (some with personal hot tubs) are perfect for romantic escapes and family vacations. Kitchens, fireplaces, decks with mountain views, playground, gas grills, free Wi-Fi and DVD movies. There are scenic hiking trails and endless fishing waters just minutes away. Pets accepted in some units. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy r Cottages Hotel Estes Park
Lazy R Cottages Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing