We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great activities -terrible food!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YMCA of the Rockies
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Good and bad. ..

We just had a family reunion here about 45 of us. There are incredible things to do at this beautiful location. The craft house was amazing. The activities are endless.

A few things to be aware of though. First is the rooms. We stayed in mt. Yipson lodge which is in dire need of a remodel. The stains on the carpet are terrible, beds are very uncomfortable. Rooms barely have any room for luggage. There was no housing option for us that could hold just the two of us so we were in a room with a full size bed and a bunk bed. I don't see how a family of four could move in the room with any luggage.

BEWARE of the food! ! I have never had such terrible cafeteria food in my life! Breakfast was a mix of bagged mushy eggs, frozen heated up omlettes, biscuits and gravy, stale churros, grits, and some fresh fruit. Lunch and dinner always had a very limited salad bar (canned veggies with lettuce). Lunch and dinner was chicken fried steak, boiled hard steaks, some kind of fish that was frozen and heated up in a sauce, hamburger and hotdogs. It was very difficult to eat anything half way healthy. I gained 6 pounds in 4 days! And I tried to eat healthy! For what it costs to add a meal plan, we were all very disappointed! If we go back we will be renting a cabin and cooking ourselves.

Also beware that there is a lot of walking to get anywhere. We went to the climbing wall and they said it was a 13 minute walk but it was a significant hike. We were ok but it would have been nice to have a heads up.

Overall ok.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank ckosoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great place to stay with family, friends or just to get away into the mountains. Hiking,swimming, horseback riding are all great from here in the summer and fall. And the view in every direction is great! Food in the cafeteria is not the best but if you have a cabin, you can take care of yourself.

Room Tip: reception for phones and wifi is spotty but heh, you are in the mountains. Turn them off! There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spike024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We go up for a particular camp every year and the food is included in our stay. The food is so horrible (moldy fruit and cold eggs), we are tempted to not return. There are so many fun things for kids to do and the scenery is very beautiful so it is hard to not go back. If you come here plan on bringing your own food and it will be a great vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kiticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Sleep quality is probably the single most important thing, to me, about lodging. I pay for a hotel or lodge room because I want somewhere I can sleep. At YMCA of the Rockies, I didn't get what I paid for. The walls and floors of our lodge -- Eagle Cliff -- were the thinnest I've ever experienced. I could hear so well that I could understand the specific words of people speaking (not shouting) next door. Even worse, interior and exterior doors closed with a loud bang that literally shook the building, every time. Ear plugs and a decrepit box fan were useless to block out the little earthquakes that occurred every few minutes. There was noise from the time the first person in the building got up in the morning until the last person went to bed at night, and we could hear it all. For the price, that of a 3.5 star hotel room, this was totally unacceptable. As an aside the room also had a number of small flaws -- fitted sheets were too small and kept coming off the mattresses in the night, beds had insufficient blankets for the evening chill, towels were thin and tiny, shower was barely big enough to turn around in, there was no bath tub, shower curtain was moldy.... Altogether it was just completely uncomfortable. Also expensive and unacceptable was the food at the Aspen Dining Room. For example, for $14 one night at dinner we got an entree choice of either gray steak or chewy old fish no one could finish, with mushy steamed unseasoned frozen vegetables as a side. Breakfast was a bit better, but the food quality was still iffy; e.g., the scrambled eggs were watery every day of the four days we were there and somehow even apple pancakes were bland and undercooked. So, why am I giving the place a "poor" instead of "terrible" rating? Because the scenery is truly stunning, the staff are friendly if inefficient, there are a lot of fun things to do on the property, and the location is amazing -- right up against Rocky Mountain National Park. If you go, just be aware that you may be too tired to appreciate it all.

Room Tip: Choose one of the newer lodges -- the old ones have thinner walls, floors, and ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin_Ilana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've stayed here numerous times. Both in the reunion lodges and in different cabins on the property. Always take our own food as the food in the dining hall is not great. Some cabins have everything and some are considered basic. Most have great balconies. Activities include: hiking, tennis, zip lining, mini golf, ping pong, swimming, fireside chats etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hairbykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We took advantage of the military getaway special, $159 for 2 nights and all meals included. Great value to give it a try.

The Room: The room featured 2 Queen beds in the Emerald lodge. The lodge was newly renovated in 2009, I believe. The room had no TV, fridge or microwave. We called the desk and requested a fridge for milk for my toddler, about 3 hours later it was sent to the room. There is a central microwave in the lobby of the lodge if you need one. The beds were very soft as were the pillows. The bathroom and sink were clean and well stocked with towels. I can't tell if there was no AC or it simply was broken; either way, it didn't come on. There was a nice ceiling fan though. Bonus: Free wi-fi (and really good signal too!).

The Food: We had a meal pass for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The meals are all served on a buffet line. All the meals were cafeteria style food: build your own burgers, pancakes, hotdogs, salad bar, etc. The beverage options were good; milk, juice, soda and coffee. We personally did not care for the food but are very particular about food (foodies). This is a great option for families feeding the masses that don't want to spend lots of money on food in Estes Park.

The Environment: Excellent views, I don't think they can be beat. Lovely sunset and sunrise. Great locations around the property to sit at a campfire. There are so many outdoor activities available for everyone in the family. There is free mini golf, basketball, soccer, etc.

Be aware, this is not a quiet place to stay, there are lots of kids and families so if peace and quiet are what you are looking for, go elsewhere.

Overall, this is a great, affordable option for families seeking their piece of wilderness in Estes Park.

Room Tip: Get a private cabin if you seek quiet time. The lodges have lots of kids/families that come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmatt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our group of 6 people consisted of grandparents, parents, and two young children. We enjoyed every moment of our 4 night stay, but would recommend staying at least a week in order to have the opportunities to do all the activities. We chose Wind River Lodge because it has balconies. We were there in July and left the window and door open at night. Had a box fan in the window and needed a blanket during the night! It was wonderful! This is a very family oriented place. Can't say enough good things about it! You have a large variety of things to do, for all ages, and a mountain view everywhere you look. We had read that the food in the cafeteria style dining room was bad, and we would have to agree. Breakfast was OK there, though. The Pine Dining Room, however, was excellent! Everything they offered was very fresh and tasty. We mostly ate out in the evenings in the town of Estes Park. We had a mini fridge in one of our rooms, so we made sandwiches for lunch in our room. The YMCA of the Rockies is fantastic, and we plan to return some day.

Room Tip: In Wind River Lodge, choose an upper room with a balcony, rather than a lower one with a patio, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Juliwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
4.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
3.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,071 reviews
3.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA of the Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA of the Rockies

Address: 2515 Tunnel Road, Estes Park, CO 80511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: £39 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located outside of Rocky Mountain National Park. We have 7 lodges and 206 cabins spread over 860 acres. Perfect for family vacations, reunions, retreats and conferences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ymca Of The Rockies Hotel Estes Park
Ymca Of The Rockies Estes Park Center
YMCA Of The Rockies Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing