We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t bother ”
Review of Spice Tree

Spice Tree
Ranked #74 of 142 Restaurants in Estes Park
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

The hours have changed and they didn’t even bother to update their website . We showed up at 10 and the kitchen was closed . Didn’t look like a very professional place.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Meet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2018

the Spice Tree is only 3 months open, the building housed a Mexican restaurant previously and that is apparent. A large open room or outside dining are available. The service was friendly and helpful.
We ordered the pork belly appetizer with an Asian sauce and it was very good. We also shared a cucumber salad that was described as cucumber and fennel but the fennel was absent, still good though. Our entrees were the carnitas tacos and chicken masala. Pork tacos were very good the masala was delicious. I would definitely return to try some of their other fare.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lindaldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

This place seems to be new--in fact, the sign from some deceased Tex Mex joint that used to occupy the space is still prominent outside. They have a huge facility, but we're not busy when we went. That means there is no hassle at all with parking or getting seated, and also means the service is prompt and attentive. Estes Park has entry of crowded tourist traps. This is a nice alternative.

Ordinarily, a menu this heterogeneous would be a red flag (jacks of all trades are often masters of none). But in this case, they seem to just be good at several things. Cuban sandwich (though with pulled pork instead of the traditional roast pork) was excellent, as were burgers, and my wife was happy with the gyros too. Buffalo ravioli appetizer was delicious. They also do a few Indian-inspired things and a good-looking array of tacos, and some other things like oxtail soup.

Hsrd to categorize, but there will be something here for just about everyone.

When you're tired of touristvtraps and saltwater taffy, maybe give it a try?

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank CAP77777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

The exterior is rough but the dishes are delicious. Fish tacos, pork noodles, butter chicken masala and shrimp rice bowls were all great!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank TXNative74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

It might take a while to get over the previous 2 Mexican-ish, but at last, I believe they have something worth visiting. The menu is quite diverse and can not be categorized as a single region/ethnic style.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank douglas411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Tree also viewed

 

Been to Spice Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing