We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Coming Back to our Favorite B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is our 4th or 5th stay with Sonnenhof, and it was top notch as always. We prefer the Romantic Rose Suite for it's incredible views, so every time we return it feels like 'home' when we walk in the door. The property looked more beautiful than ever, with wild flowers blooming everywhere and wildlife wandering around the perimeter. We really enjoyed the multiple hummingbirds who flocked to the feeder on our deck. I could go on and on about what a wonderful place it is, but anyone who has visited knows that the real treat is the dynamic duo who runs the place. Rudy and Hilde are like family to us, always welcoming us and making sure our stay is perfect. They always put out a delicious breakfast, and then sit down and visit with their guests. They are an inspiration! We admire their incredible work ethic, courage to step out and make their B & B dream happen, and most of all...54 years of marriage:) It's worth going just to visit with them and hear some of their story! Thank you for another wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brownclan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We loved staying here. Hilde and Rudy are perfect hosts and prepare amazing breakfasts for their guests and are so interesting and lovely to talk to. We had the Alpine Suite which was so lovely and full of Rudy's hand carved furniture - he is a very gifted wood craftsman and the B&B is full of his work. The property is on a hillside just outside Estes Park with beautiful views of the mountains and humming birds, elk and deer pass by all the time. It's an idyllic place to stay and just fault-less.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and you can't go wrong here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When I decided to surprise my wife for our 30th anniversary, I was looking to find a place that was as special as our honeymoon location had been. We had stayed at The Hearthstone Inn in Colorado Springs back in 1984 and, until this past weekend, that had set the standard for what Bed & Breakfasts should or could be. And when that establishment sadly shut its doors in 2006 after ownership changes, I thought we would never find anything to take its place in our memory.

Not only did the Sonnenhof B&B take its place, it surpassed it. All the reviews are consistent and spot-on, but ANY review will not do this place justice; you simply have to experience it. It's like going home to visit family or old friends, with Rudy and Hilde filling both roles. Their hospitality goes beyond what anyone would or even should expect.

The breakfasts were, as one visitor said while we were there, like "a medieval feast". The gardening and woodworking skills of Rudy were absolutely gorgeous. Homemade cookies in our room upon arrival.....watching the wild turkeys outside the dining room window.....sharing their personal lawn chairs for a concert in town during the evening.....not charging us the cost of one night when rerouting of our air travel delayed our arrival by one day.....EVERYTHING about this place and the people who own it are beyond reproach. But the best thing: getting to know these fine people, listening to their stories, and engaging in some great conversation for hours over a wonderful meal. It just doesn't get any better than this.

I hope we have the chance to return to Sonnenhof in the not-too-distant future. Because I know when we do, it will be just like going home. Thank you, Hilde and Rudy, for providing that magic.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DaveH194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I can only echo everyone else on this beautiful B&B. Rudy was there during the 3 days we were there. But I am sure his lovely wife would have been just as pleasant and helpful as Rudy was. I can only say if you want a beautiful, clean, extrodinary place to stay - stay here. Only a few minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and the owner (Rudy) built all the furniture plus much more around the B&...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 920ronaldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We saved the best until last. After three weeks touring around National Parks we were ready for something special. Rudy and Hilde did not disappoint in their really gorgeous house. Our room was perfect in every way - from the comfortable bed to the little table and chairs overlooking St Mary's Lake, the lovely bathroom with spa bath, the balcony with humming birds feeding, it was all beautiful. That's before I even mention the wonderful breakfasts! We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and as it was almost evening we were given some ideas for where to go for dinner. One of the lovely parts of our few days there was that our suite really did feel like a home - a very beautiful one - which we could return to for peace and relaxation at the end of the day. The little touches like cookies in the room and such beautiful soft towels do make a difference. We were very sorry to leave and will definitely try and go back - almost worth making the journey all the way from Australia just to stay with Rudy and Hilde again - thank you both very much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Thank you Hilde & Rudy for sharing your gifts of wood working, cooking & hospitality. We could have not asked for a better place to stay while in Estes Park. A perfect location away from the busy town. It was so nice to come back to a relaxing and quiet place. And then to wake up to a wonderful breakfast each morning, with such warm & sincere fellowship. Your kindness to adjust your menu to accommodate my husbands diet meant a lot to us. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. We were so surprised to learn that we had a connection to WI with you, as well as West Bend, WI. We hope that our stay brought back wonderful memories you had during your life in WI, as you shared your stories with us. We hope that we meet again!

Room Tip: Pick a room that can over look the town & mountains. BEAUTIFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Just a wonderful stay. Beautiful place and warm accommodations. Rudy and Hilde are just such nice hosts and the breakfast superb. We enjoyed the spacious rooms and the comfort of views of the Estes area. Get away from the busy-ness and relax.

Room Tip: The fitness center is the location next to Rocky Mountain National Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMarkD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
513 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,527 reviews
3.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Romantic RiverSong Bed and Breakfast Inn
6.1 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#8 of 20 in Estes Park
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast

Address: 650 Lakewood Ct, Estes Park, CO 80517-7157
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast winter view ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonnenhof b&b
Sonnenhof Hotel Estes Park
Sonnenhof Bed And Breakfast Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing