We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven! We can't wait to go back!”
Review of Kokopelli Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kokopelli Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Kokopelli Inn from June 27 - June 30, 2011 on the second leg of our Colorado vacation. (We first stayed with family in Denver.) I researched on here for months trying to decide where to stay in Estes Park, and I am SOOO GLAD I picked here!! This was our first B&B experience, and now I'm afraid to try any others because I'll be comparing everything to Kokopelli!

The B&B is spacious and located about 5 miles outside of Estes Park in the mountains. As other reviews have stated, it is off the highway, but definitely not a big deal at all. It's nice being outside of town, not right on top of everyone. We stayed in the Kokopelli Suite on the main floor, and it was WONDERFUL! I would highly recommend this suite. It has a two-person shower and wonderful balcony with tons of hummingbirds flittering around and two resident cats -- Snowball and Boots, who I loved to death! There is a fridge (which they stock every day with drinks) and microwave in the room. They have two rocking chairs, which was nice, and a flat screen TV (with cable) with DVD player (they have tons of DVDs to watch). They also have a hot tub out back for guests to use whenever they want.

June and Butch are so nice and hospitable. They left snacks every day in our room, and if we weren't there to enjoy them, they would wrap them up and leave little notes with them -- so cute! We had chocolate covered strawberries, crackers with homemade cheese dip, and homemade chocolate chip cookies the days we were there! Breakfasts are to die for! They are huge -- usually quiche, or french toast, potatoes, some kind of meat, fruit parfait, etc!, so we often didn't even barely eat a thing for lunch or just packed a small picnic to eat in the mountains. They even let us borrow their small cooler to take with us.

Each night we came home pretty late, sometimes after 10 p.m., from our days out hiking or exploring, and they would always welcome us and ask if we saw any cool animals or asked if we needed anything. You can truly tell they care 120% about this place and are committed to making your stay special. We really didn't want to go. We loved every minute of it.

If I had anything negative to say, it would be that sometimes in the late morning or afternoon it would get a little warm because there is no A/C, but they have a fan in the room and it cools off so much a night, it was never really an issue.

I would highly recommend Kokopelli Inn and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Go for the Kokopelli Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MizzouFan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

We recently stayed at Kokopelli Inn to celebrate our anniversary. We couldn't have picked a better place! The room was large, comfortable and clean, with many special touches. June even had chocolate covered strawberries and champagne for us upon our arrival. We really enjoyed chatting with June the next morning at breakfast. She and Butch have created a very special place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We recently returned from another great stay with Butch and June. They are such gracious hosts! We thoroughly enjoyed our 2nd stay. We will be back in the fall. We arrived later than the check-in and were still very warmly welcomed. We enjoyed catching up with the two of them and hearing about what they have going on in their lives. We really enjoyed our conversation sipping on wonderful Margaritas. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelersfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The Kokopelli Inn was awesome. My wife and i spent one night there before going to Rocky Mountain National Park and Vail. The room was comfortable and affordable, the proprietors, June and Butch were also very comfortable and friendly, as were the other guests. The hot tub was great. The cost was very reasonable, and, above all, the breakfast was delightful and robust!

A great value and a very nice place. Enjoyable mountain setting too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSavages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

As we decided to go out and celebrate our anniversary, my boyfriend found and fell in love with the kokopelli just from the pictures. As soon as he showed me, we booked the kokopelli suite! We read tons of reviews from this site and knew this would be a place we could both enjoy... and we both did! This was the first time that we had ever stayed at a B&B so neither of knew what to expect. We were so impressed with the service there, which can never be compared to a hotel chain. June was always there to answer any question we had. Then she and Butch were so great about taking care of our needs. We loved having breakfast brought to our room every morning and would have loved to have spoken with everyone at the breakfast table, but neither of us are morning people!

As I said, we were celebrating our first anniversary together, so June and Butch had a lovely set up when we first arrived. A little paper on the door saying happy anniversary, chocolate covered strawberries and champagne in the room waiting. All of which were amazing. The next day, we went in to town and after an exhausting day came back to a perfectly picked up and arranged room and some delicious brownies! We were so impressed with this place overall, and would recommend it to anyone.

In other reviews, we did notice some of the bad reviews given. And yes, you are close to the highway, but traffic is not that bad, even during the summer. We had no issues sleeping. The only thing that was odd was the toilet in the bathroom had no door, however, it completely fit the style of the room. The bathroom was amazing though. The two person (two headed) shower allowed me some very relaxing alone time. The sink had such an interesting design. We loved it and will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebu527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We live in Lyons, 20 minutes away and were looking for an anniversary stay-cation. Butch and June had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for us along with a sign on our room saying happy anniversary. Breakfast was great. Room was a great value. Comfortable bed. Great place to stay near Estes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marciadige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We had our Golden with us in the one pet friendly room. Kokopelli Inn, while rustic on the outside, has beautiful, upgraded and very clean rooms. Hummingbirds were outside and being a few miles outside of Estes park, it was quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmpotash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
5.9 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
185 reviews
8.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
5.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
7.6 mi away
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
#2 of 20 in Estes Park
214 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Golden Leaf Inn
The Golden Leaf Inn
#3 of 20 in Estes Park
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopelli Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopelli Inn

Address: 6777 US Highway 36, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range: £97 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE INN Come and see for yourself why guests have called us the "Best B&B in the West!".… Trip Advisor gives us 5 STARS. Kokopelli Inn is a Mountain Inn with a Southwestern theme, specially designed and built to offer the finest in accommodations. Each room is unique; all are private, quiet and home-like cozy. After a full day of sightseeing or adventures, come and relax in our private outdoor hot tub nestled at the back of Roosevelt National Forest. Awaken in the morning to the rich aroma of freshly brewed coffee and just-out-of-the-oven goodies, and as you wrap yourself in one of our robes, you may catch a glimpse of the sunrise casting a rosy glow on the mountain peaks. After breakfast you can explore our 20 wooded acres of wildflower-adorned hillsides, picnicking/climbing on our huge rocks and trails while you contemplate the stunning views, or get on your bike and hit the dirt or road for a beautiful ride, or go explore RMNP/Estes Park. The Inn borders Roosevelt National Forest and has spectacular views to Rocky Mountain National Park & Longs Peak. We are building a training studio with a bunkhouse for training camps. This is the ninth year of the Kokopelli Inn, our first year of celebrating love, nature, and activities with our guests. Time does seem to stand still at the Kokopelli Inn, high in the mountains of Colorado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kokopelli Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing