We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity by the river”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Idlewilde by the River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

If you are wanting to have a quite, very clean, rustic getaway....this is the place. The cabins range from 1 to 3 bedrooms. Our cabin (Riverside) is a one bedroom with two queen beds. We were about 15 feet from the Big Thompson River. The cabin is all notty pine, the screened in front porch overlooking the river is so perfect for the evening or early morning. They have hummingbird feeders at each cabin they keep full so you have beautiful birds visiting you all the time. The cabin was VERY clean, the size is small and comes with the basics you need for a vacation if you want to make your meals in the cabin. Each cabin (they are close together but it wasnt a problem for us) has a grill, picnic table and chairs to use. There is a common ground for campfires, a hot tub for guests, a small playground and the office has many movies, games or books to use while you are staying. Donna was as pleasant as can be, she even gave us a pass to Rocky Mountain National Park because another guest turned it in to her becasue there were days left on it.
This resort is only about 1.1 miles from the entrance to the park and about 1.5 miles from Estes. With the river on the property you never hear any traffic.

They have a 70% return rate each year and now I will be another happy guest that will definately be returning.

Room Tip: If you have small children, the riverside cabins would be risky. There was a family of three small c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrbear1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

The first time we stayed there was 8 years ago in the Aloha, and Lloyd said “try the fishing. Within 15 min’s I knew this was the place. Ever since then, Donna would greet us with a hug when we arrive and give us so much information about what’s going on in town. The cabins are always clean and appliances are kept up to date. The sound of the river and the Hummingbirds feeding in the evening is the perfect way to call it a day. And if you really want a finale to the night, climb into the warm Jacuzzis for total relaxation. The location is far enough from down town for privacy, but close enough that you have a good place to go for breakfast and great restaurant for BBQ. I would recommend Idlewilde by the River to anyone .

Room Tip: Two or more bedrooms are the way to go. Makes you feel at home. No need to buy a lot in the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in Cannonball Memorial Day weekend 2013. We greatly enjoyed our stay. The location is amazing. The river is just feet away from the cabin and with the windows open you can hear the current rushing. You can also hear the hum of hummingbirds. It is such a delight to see and hear these beautiful little birds. From you screened in porch, with a wonderful swing, you can sit out and smell the fresh pines and clean air. The inside of the cabin is very cozy. We loved the wood on the walls is was very rustic. We didn't get to have a bonfire but we wished we could have. Lloyd and Donna were wonderful. Staying at Idlewild is like staying with someone you have known for years. They treat everyone like family. We were celebrating our anniversary and Donna got us dinner reservations at the Twin Owls Steakhouse. We would also highly recommend this restaurant as well. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and I was very sad to leave. My husband and I plan to make this an annual trip. Thanks Lloyd and Donna for a wonderful stay and we can't wait till next time.

Room Tip: Definitely book early for a river front cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Savannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We just returned from the most beautiful, relaxing weekend at Idlewilde. It could not have been more perfect for what we were looking for - peace, relaxation, rustic, mountain-feel. The original cabins were impeccably clean and cute! We loved sleeping with our bedroom door to our screened porch open and listening to the roar of the Big Thompson River just steps away and smelling the pine of the trees that surrounded our little home away from home. We enjoyed visiting on our porch swing, reading by the river and fishing right outside of our cabin. Lloyd and Donna couldn't have been more hospitable - so kind, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The resort has the BEST location as well - just minutes away from town and from the entrance to the national park. We look forward to our next visit with Idlewilde!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MollyReggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Idlewilde will always have a special place in my heart. It is charming, beautiful, super clean cabins and grounds and a real sense of peace. You can tell the owners Lloyd and Donna LOVE and take such special care of their wonderful place.
The river is so relaxing and only steps away from the cabin, a nightly fire, a hot tub that I REALLY miss set right among the pines and the feeling of really getting away from it all and loving every moment of it.
Lloyd and Donna are very special people and really care that all of their guests are well taken care of. They are there to help no matter what need may arise. It really gives you the old fashioned feeling of a home away from home, one you want to return to year after year.
I HIGHLY recommend Idlewilde as a family vacation, couples get away or by yourself. You will feel refreshed and relaxed when you have to say goodbye.
I was very blessed to stay and I will be back!
Gerri G. Austin, Texas

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our group of four ladies has made a September trip to Estes Park for the past 14 years. We've stayed at Idlewilde by the River the past seven years and can't imagine staying anywhere else. Our cozy, log cabin is right on the river and off the highway. This year we saw elk come to the river right across from where we were sitting! Lloyd and Donna are warm and welcoming. They provide lots of little extras, like recommendations and coupons to the local restaurants, DVDs and books to borrow, board games, a hot tub....all to make our stay so enjoyable. We can't say enough good things about Idlewilde. And we can't wait to be back next year!

Room Tip: We've stayed in four or five different two bedroom cabins. They are all great locations and cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We had a cozy,private cabin right on the river, our porch could not have been closer to the water. We could hear the relaxing sound of the river throughout the cabin. Lloyd and Donna were very welcoming and helpful. The perfect place to relax and enjoy the lovely fall scenery. We will definitely stay again when in Estes Park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Woodlands on Fall River
The Woodlands on Fall River
#10 of 74 in Estes Park
294 reviews
2.4 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#27 of 74 in Estes Park
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#19 of 74 in Estes Park
175 reviews
2.5 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#16 of 74 in Estes Park
373 reviews
2.9 mi away
River Rock Cottages
River Rock Cottages
#6 of 74 in Estes Park
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idlewilde by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idlewilde by the River

Address: 2282 Colorado Hwy 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Located in beautiful Estes Park Colorado near Rocky Mountain National Park, Idlewilde By The River offers many different styles of cabins to meet your individual needs. Idlewilde is located on the banks of the Big Thompson River. The sound of the rushing water is highly audible throughout the resort during most of the season. With Idelwilde's close proximity to Estes Park, there are hundreds of specialty shops, galleries, and restaurants for your enjoyment. Rocky Mountain National Park's west entrance is just 1 mile from Idlewilde. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Idlewilde By The River Hotel Estes Park
Idlewilde By The River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing