We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel with huge selection of whiskeys and scotch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District
Southampton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel with huge selection of whiskeys and scotch”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The hotel is beautiful with your typical rooms you would expect in one of these old classics. Views of the Rockies from the front porch. But the selection of whiskeys and scotches in the bar was unbelievable.
For a local favorite, try the Stranahan whiskey. It is from a local distillery and something we just can't get at home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Overlook condos were so incredibly fabulous! We had a quick getaway with Rocky Mountain Resorts who was AMAZING! They allowed us to book two nights even though they had a 3 night minimum. Check in was at the Fawn Valley Inn which was a short drive from the Overlook Condos. They are right behind the Stanley and have incredible views.
1. The condo was beautiful! Loved the style.
2. Bathroom was amazing with the stunning tile, Jacuzzi tub...
3. I wanted to steal the pillows.
4. Rocky Mountain Resorts offers a HUGE selection of DVD's you can check out for free.
5. We did cook - you need to bring or buy spices.
6. They have all things you need in the kitchen though - coffee pot, ironing board, ...
7. Flat screen TV, romantic fireplace
8. Of course the hot tub was amazing... really really amazingly awesome. After hiking it was simply heaven.

We walked to the end of our parking lot, down a couple flights of stairs and was able to get into the Stanley for some incredible drinks in the evenings. Really the location could not have been better, the service with Rocky Mountain Resorts was amazing and I will come back!!

They have bigger units for families and I could definitely see me bringing my kiddos up there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiesftbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My family and I had a wonderful experience on the "Ghost and History Tour"!! Our tour guide was so entertaining! Cathryn was very pleasant and knowledgeable, Her enjoyment and pride shined as she told us about the history and then intrigued us with the ghost stories! I would HIGHLY recommend her as a tour guide. She recommended eating at Cascades at the hotel and we were extremely happy with yummy meal also!! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ord, Nebraska, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Recently my husband and I had the wonderful experience of staying at the Mannor at the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, Colorado. The room was extremely clean, the views from the hotel are out of this world and the staff was amazing. The best part was the food! In the morning, the pastries and breakfast items were 5 star quality. We also ate supper one night at the Cascades Resturant in the main Hotel. It was divine! We were gone most every day touring around the town and park, thus we closed up our room and then opened the windows at night. Thus, while the days were warm, the nights were just fine in regards to the temperature in our non-airconditioned rooms. It had a fan and ceiling fan and that was plenty. I would recommend the ghost tour also. What a hoot that was and our guide was amazing. The staff always made sure we had what we needed and very very kind. I can't wait to go back and stay again. Excellent and peaceful.

Room Tip: We chose a suite for plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teague, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My hubby and I went here for a romantic getaway! It is a hotel full of history. I recommend taking the tours of the place. It is drenched in such amazing stories. The room was small, but clean and service personal went above and beyond. The view is perfect! And yes, there were things that went bump in the night ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria az
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have wanted to stay at The Stanley for Years!! And it did not disappoint! My boys and I loved it! The room was amazing with a beautiful view! Guest services were prompt and friendly. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast at the Cascade restaurant on the grounds and both meals more than met our expatiation. We also enjoyed our history and ghost tour. We are looking forward to going back in a couple of years when my boys are both 21 so we can belly up to the whiskey bar together!! Loved the front patio!! So relaxing and wow what a amazing view of the Rock Mountains !

Room Tip: We were in room 236! Loved it!!! Rooms clean, bed comfortable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Rented #311 at The Overlook for just 2 nights (moved from another Rocky Mtn Resorts property because we needed to stay 2 extra nights and it was fully booked, so The Overlook was offered as alternative). The condo units here are administered from the Fawn Valley Inn, where we found the owner very helpful and all staff we enountered were friendly and helpful too.
The house met our needs excellently. Spacious, well furnished with comfortable seating and a very comfortable bed, as well as fully equipped kitchen and a large bathroom with a jetted tub as well as a large shower stall. Good quality linens and amenitie, and a small patio at front.
We had one problem; we were unable to connect to the internet using the (free) wifi. As this was a bit inconvenient, we contacted the Inn to report it and were promised someone would come to help. Within 30 mins. their maintenance person arrived - this was after 9 pm. He eventually found that the modem was faulty, and would need replacement by the service provider, but he immediately provided us with an access code to an alternative network within range. We thought this very good service indeed.
The units at The Overlook, we understand, are individually owned, so we assume t hat decor and furnishings vary according to the owners' preferences. This unit was furnished in "mountain style" and we thought this overly cluttered. Although everything appeared to be clean, all vertical surfaces, and most horizontal ones as well, were covered with ornament and decoration, including even animal models and imitation "greenery" on a high level ledge below the vaulted ceiling - we wouldn't like the job of cleaning the dust off all this, and we did wonder if anyone ever did so.
But this is a small point really - if you like cool, minimalist.....don't go there, otherwise, just enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,392 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,027 reviews
0.7 mi away
Misty Mountain Lodge
Misty Mountain Lodge
#10 of 78 in Estes Park
264 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Haber Motel
The Haber Motel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District

Property: The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District
Address: Overlook Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
The Overlook At The Stanley Historic District Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing