We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!!”

Stanley Steam Car Museum
Ranked #42 of 71 things to do in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lindsborg, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

What can you say other than it's The Stanley! Everything about this place is first class. If you skip this while in Estes you have made a HUGE mistake! By far the best place to visit, other than the outdoors that Estes provides.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tdm32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    6
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Take the time to visit the home of the Shining!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Beautiful old hotel with lots of history and charm including ghost tours. Stephen King is writing the next Shining movie as I write this review and this time it will totally shot at the Stanley. You can't miss it coming not Estes Park it is on the side of a hill. Take the time to go through it and you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank totman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Night Tour Was Great and a Little Spooky”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Walt was my tour guide for the night tour and did a great job. It wasn't only a hunt for spirits but a great history on the hotel, the area, and The Shining! Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Remember "The Shining" - take care on this tour. Boo!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Although I had visited the Stanley Hotel a few times in the past, my husband and I decided to take the Ghost Tour. The Stanley is known for the movie "The Shining", starring Jack Nicholson and written by Stephen King. We learned a lot about where this movie was filmed and when it was filmed at the Stanley. We heard a lot of ghost stories, along with how the Stanley came to be. It was really a fun day. The cost is reasonable and the guide was great at telling ghost stories, along with facts. There is a place for ice cream and other goodies at the end of the tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jbob222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic Stanley Hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stanley Hotel is a unique and picturesque facility. The history of the hotel is something to behold. The hotel is located in one of the of the most beautiful areas I've seen.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John1387555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanley Steam Car Museum also viewed

 

Been to Stanley Steam Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing