We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but food is not the Thai I know of”
Review of Cafe de Pho-Thai

Cafe de Pho-Thai
Ranked #28 of 135 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: New restaurant which has only been open for about two months
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great service but food is not the Thai I know of”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We are very familiar with Thai food and recently spent a month travelling in Thailand but the red curry we had in this restaurant was not the red curry we are familiar with. It's a variation of the red curry that's for sure. It had some extra ingredients in it that gave it a bizarre or unusual taste. It wasn't awfully by any means but just very different.
Tom Yum Koon was nice but a bit too warty for my liking.
Satay sauce had no peanuts in and was cold. It just seemed as if they mixed coconut milk with red curry sauce at the last minute it was more like soup than sauce.
The garlic chicken (as it reads on the menu) but I had it with beef was not garlicky at all and neither of us was sure if the meat was beef.
Overall we left the place a bit disappointed. Though, the service was great and the prices are very reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Musti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    89
    35
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Thai!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Probably our favorite restaurant in our week long vacation. Great service. Very hard to find.atmosphere average but delicious food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjpCleveland_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good thai but not so great Vietnamese”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The pad se ew was great! The pad thai was also good. The vietnamese noodle dish was not so good. The fried egg roll was terrible and all vegetables.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife is an excellent Thai cook, and I have been to Thailand enough to think I have a fair idea of what the cuisine is like, and I was not terribly impressed with the meal here. We ordered 2 versions of Pad Thai...vegetarian and with chicken...and neither were really exceptional. There were no green onions, could not taste any sweet radish, no bean sprouts, minimal sauce/ground peanuts, and the tofu, chicken and egg were almost nowhere to be seen. It was 96% noodles. Perhaps we caught them on an off night, or perhaps Pad Thai is not their thing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philsbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

It's so difficult to find good food in Estes Park and cafe de pho Thai has it! We eat there several times a month and are always happy with our meal. My favorite is the soft spring rolls. They are so fresh and crispy. Last night we had the dumplings and requested that they pan fry them and they were fabulous. It doesn't matter what we order the food is always fresh and delicious. The service is friendly and attentive. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alderj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de Pho-Thai also viewed

 

Been to Cafe de Pho-Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing