We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ, and not just for Estes Park”
Review of Stone Age BBQ - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stone Age BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ, and not just for Estes Park”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

After tasting some of the previous meals in Estes Park we had low expectations for this one, but boy were we wrong, For appetizers, the deviled eggs and the jalapeño poppers were outstanding and started out our meal nicely. Next, we had the mammoth ribs and the brisket sandwich. Both of the dishes were sweet and smoky, and we're very filling. The sauces here are all amazing ( And I'm form the south) and the service is very friendly. Will definatly come back next time we are in town!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Resheen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BBQ Gem in Estes Park”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Our family travels to Estes Park every summer to visit with Grandpa. Usually there is anywhere from 8-14 of us in our party so eating out is always a challenge. Last year we stumbled upon Stone Age BBQ and were completely surprised by the amazing homemade sauces and excellent meats. Two of my in laws actually bought the Jack Daniel's sauce to take home!

Upon our return this year this was all our group could talk about..."when are we going to Stone Age?". We went again on our last night there and it was better than remembered. Menu changed a little, but the staff was still as friendly and accommodating as ever and the owner/cook couldn't be more welcoming/ talented.

Thanks Stone Age! We'll see you next year :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Really great, honest BBQ”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Don't let the decor fool you (although the cute names for kids' meals made us smile), the food is great! After a long morning going through the mountains, the calm back porch under a big umbrella was a welcome break. We had excellent service and refills on our drinks were almost immediate. Try the fried okra--a little different and a little zing to it. There is even a large container of free bones for the pooches out the back door, so everyone is welcome!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A surprise”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The food was very good. We all shared an order of the dry rub ribs and the trout in cream sauce. Both very good. The fries and onion rings also very good. The hokey theme seems out of place for food this good...not necessary imo and may scare some away.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lugnut1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska City, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A MUST STOP!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

GREAT food, service, price........... A MUST STOP!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stone Age BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing