We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Estes
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Family Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had such a memorable visit at the Hotel Estes! I can't say enough about the overall value we experienced there during our 3 night stay. It is a solid 3 star hotel. We had the two queen plus bunk bed room that features generous space and made for an overall comfortable and cozy family stay. The room, with great corner views, is nicely arranged with a sitting area in the corner and a table for 4 in the middle of the room. We didn't prepare any of our food, but could have done simple meals with the room microwave and the grill in the commons area. Our kids loved the pool -- including a genuine 'deep end' and using the two hot tubs. We weren't able to fit in a campfire (they actually provide smore fixings!), but this was another ammenity that is notable. We also loved the simple continental breakfast and appreciated the complimentary bottled water and snacks throughout the day more than we ever expected. A great overall headquarters from which to explore Estes Park and RMNP.

As others have also noted, a review of Hotel Estes wouldn't be complete without proper shout-out to the great management. They clearly go out of their way to make your stay in the area enjoyable and full. (Our kids also couldn't get enough of 'Ziggy' the manager's downright affable dog in the office :))

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    117
    29
    8
    7
See reviews for
167
79
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The only word to describe this place is spectacular! From the views to the rooms to the staff everything was spectacular!

We couldn't believe what incredible mountain views we had right from the beds in our rooms and from the cute little seating area on the balcony/shared patio.

The amenities throughout the hotel were more than appreciated! Parking is free and within steps of your room. The lobby has a stocked breakfast area with fresh complimentary coffee in the morning. Our individual room had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker all in excellent condition. The pool and hot tub are just a stone's throw away, kept at the perfect temperature and are impeccably well-maintained. As a matter of fact, the entire hotel is maintained to a level of cleanliness that seems super-human. To say that this hotel is immaculate is an understatement. It also seems to have been remodeled with fresh carpet and brand new bedding including plush down comforters. We had the most peaceful and restful night's sleep. The mattresses were like sleeping on clouds and the walls seemed sound-proof. At night, we couldn't hear a pin drop and in the morning, we could only hear birds chirping when we opened our door.We were just blown away by the high standards and level of upkeep of this place.

And I saved the best for last...the staff. The entire staff consisted of only two people, a young couple in their twenties named Chris and Jenna. We couldn't have asked for two more gracious hosts. They really went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable by giving us excellent recommendations on where to eat and drink in town and where to hike in the park. In addition to being super warm and welcoming, they are the hardest working hotel staff I've ever met which I think is saying a lot coming from a former flight attendant. Within a half an hours time, I saw Chris check guests into their room, take out the garbage, plunge a toilet, remove a rollaway bed and bring guests more towels as requested with a ton of energy and enthusiasm and a smile that never faltered. Outstanding! I've never met someone with better customer service skills and such a strong work ethic. Hotel Estes is lucky to have both Chris and Jenna as a part of their staff. They made our stay! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor! Best views! We recommend 206 right in the middle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorfuRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We arrived at Hotel Estes and were greeted by friendly staff and probably the quickest check in I've ever experienced. Upon going in the room, we were pleasantly surprised by the newer-looking bedding, which turned out to be very comfy. I had read brucespring's review about the loud noises before booking and chalked it up to a bad neighbor. Well, upon laying down to sleep we were greeted by very loud screeching and pounding noises. It turned out that we were near a utility closet that caused the noises. I'm guessing it was the pipes. When I say loud I'm talking loud enough to wake you up in the middle of the night, which I did a few times. After the first night, I was thinking that it could be an aberration. It ended up continuing the second night. We were booked for one more night, so I spoke with the staff member at the front desk. He was very apologetic and promised to get maintenance to look at the problem. He also moved me to another room, and gave me 20% off the first two nights.
The breakfast was just ok. It was nice that they offered free bottled water and granola bars in the lobby. Room was very clean, shower seemed new. The views were nice, and the people who used the pool seemed to be enjoying it. Playground was also nice for the kids to use after a long car ride.
If it weren't for the really loud noises, which had obviously been reported, marginalized by Susie H, and not taken care of before my arrival, I'd have given them 4/5.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beardstown, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The young couple running this place are so nice! Pet friendly with everything you need. Clean rooms, well maintained property, pool with a shallow and deep end that you can actually swim in, plus, ajacuzzi, snacks and a basic breakfast. Really liked this place and we will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hygtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here at the end of our road trip around Colorado,Wyoming and South Dakota, on our way back to Denver Airport about 60 miles.Fabulous location,great room ,good breakfast, within minutes to Rocky Mountain national Park.and walking distance to estes park town .The pool was also warm and relaxing after a long drive,
.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterR1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We only stayed there one night but had a very good experience. The room we had was very large [3 queen beds], center table and chairs, and a corner table and sitting/reading area. The furniture and decor were modern renditions of "rustic" style [nor what we would choose] but fully in keeping with the Colorado Park theme; and it was in very good shape - seemed rather new.

The staff was very helpful. We made our reservation by phone for a Double room, and asked for a rollaway bed. Then a few minutes later, they called me back and said that the room actually had 3 Queens, and wondered if we still needed the extra bed [we did not].

They have free takeout drinks and snacks for guests going out for day trips [nice].

The breakfast was basic, and about the only thing that could be improved. No separate dining area [eat in the registration area], minimal cereal selection [oatmeal packets], hard-boiled eggs, and toaster-cooking waffles and other items.

Room Tip: If you are a large group, ask for the triple queen rooms - about 20$ more per night, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FB-GammaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights. Had a great experience. The staff provided EXCELLENT customer service. The rooms could use a little updating bit that was not a big issue for us. Breakfast in the morning provided the basics and was actually exactly what we wanted. One of the best things was the free water and snacks in the lobby. They also had grills and fire pits and wood so we grilled our own dinner every night. The only grocery store in town, Safeway is SO crowded so stock up so you dont have to go there more than once.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.4 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
2.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estes

Property: Hotel Estes
Address: 1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Estes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Estes is located in Estes Park, Colorado, near Lake Estes, just 1 mile from downtown Estes Park. The hotel has sweeping mountain views and is just 5 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park. Hotel Estes has been recently renovated by the Hochstetler family and is now a family destination experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Tyrol Mountain Motel
Hotel Estes Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing