We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and View”
Review of Hotel Estes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estes
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Russellville, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place and View”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The service was excellent. The manager and staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean. The beds were comfortable. The view of the mountains from the room was amazing. We stayed here several times in the past and have had a good experience each time. The new owners have made some enhancements to the place that make it even better.

(Note: The only reason I didn't rate the room as excellent was because there was a spot where the floor lightly creaks when you walk on it. It didn't bother us at all but could bother people staying in the room below if they hear it.)

There is not a fitness center here, but there is one next door that will allow you to pay by the day to use their facility.

Room Tip: The group of rooms on 2nd floor closest to the office have what is probably the best view of the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwardlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    133
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
192
88
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were only able to stay one night, but this was a fun hotel & would recommend. Nice size pool for the kids to swim in & to top it all off the front desk provides everything you need to make smores to end the evening! We were pleasantly surprised at this location. Thanks for a great customer service!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myreview3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel after visiting Rocky Mountain National Park. The Hotel Estes is not very modern, but has been through a partial renovation and was totally acceptable. Check-in was very friendly and efficient. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Our air conditioner did not work right, so after a short call to the desk, we were moved to a room with a functional air conditioner. And I must say, the desk clerk that helped us was extremely nice and apologetic. The breakfast was nothing fancy, but there was adequate variety and was very acceptable. Oddly enough, there were many, many hotels in Estes Park, an none of them seemed anywhere near full, so prices seemed higher than they should have been. Given the choices in Estes Park, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This place isn't fancy, but it's clean and safe and pleasant. They've done a very nice job upgrading the bathrooms. The rooms are simple, functional, clean and comfortable. This is a motel with drive up rooms. It's nothing fancy, but it's more than adequate and you can feel the attention the team is paying towards doing the most with an older facility. We're used to much more expensive hotels and yet were totally comfortable at Hotel Estes. Don't expect much and you'll get much more than you expected.

Room Tip: I'd go with upstairs down at the far end - you'll have fewer people walking by your window a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Never_Easy_to_Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had such a memorable visit at the Hotel Estes! I can't say enough about the overall value we experienced there during our 3 night stay. It is a solid 3 star hotel. We had the two queen plus bunk bed room that features generous space and made for an overall comfortable and cozy family stay. The room, with great corner views, is nicely arranged with a sitting area in the corner and a table for 4 in the middle of the room. We didn't prepare any of our food, but could have done simple meals with the room microwave and the grill in the commons area. Our kids loved the pool -- including a genuine 'deep end' and using the two hot tubs. We weren't able to fit in a campfire (they actually provide smore fixings!), but this was another ammenity that is notable. We also loved the simple continental breakfast and appreciated the complimentary bottled water and snacks throughout the day more than we ever expected. A great overall headquarters from which to explore Estes Park and RMNP.

As others have also noted, a review of Hotel Estes wouldn't be complete without proper shout-out to the great management. They clearly go out of their way to make your stay in the area enjoyable and full. (Our kids also couldn't get enough of 'Ziggy' the manager's downright affable dog in the office :))

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The only word to describe this place is spectacular! From the views to the rooms to the staff everything was spectacular!

We couldn't believe what incredible mountain views we had right from the beds in our rooms and from the cute little seating area on the balcony/shared patio.

The amenities throughout the hotel were more than appreciated! Parking is free and within steps of your room. The lobby has a stocked breakfast area with fresh complimentary coffee in the morning. Our individual room had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker all in excellent condition. The pool and hot tub are just a stone's throw away, kept at the perfect temperature and are impeccably well-maintained. As a matter of fact, the entire hotel is maintained to a level of cleanliness that seems super-human. To say that this hotel is immaculate is an understatement. It also seems to have been remodeled with fresh carpet and brand new bedding including plush down comforters. We had the most peaceful and restful night's sleep. The mattresses were like sleeping on clouds and the walls seemed sound-proof. At night, we couldn't hear a pin drop and in the morning, we could only hear birds chirping when we opened our door.We were just blown away by the high standards and level of upkeep of this place.

And I saved the best for last...the staff. The entire staff consisted of only two people, a young couple in their twenties named Chris and Jenna. We couldn't have asked for two more gracious hosts. They really went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable by giving us excellent recommendations on where to eat and drink in town and where to hike in the park. In addition to being super warm and welcoming, they are the hardest working hotel staff I've ever met which I think is saying a lot coming from a former flight attendant. Within a half an hours time, I saw Chris check guests into their room, take out the garbage, plunge a toilet, remove a rollaway bed and bring guests more towels as requested with a ton of energy and enthusiasm and a smile that never faltered. Outstanding! I've never met someone with better customer service skills and such a strong work ethic. Hotel Estes is lucky to have both Chris and Jenna as a part of their staff. They made our stay! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor! Best views! We recommend 206 right in the middle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorfuRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We arrived at Hotel Estes and were greeted by friendly staff and probably the quickest check in I've ever experienced. Upon going in the room, we were pleasantly surprised by the newer-looking bedding, which turned out to be very comfy. I had read brucespring's review about the loud noises before booking and chalked it up to a bad neighbor. Well, upon laying down to sleep we were greeted by very loud screeching and pounding noises. It turned out that we were near a utility closet that caused the noises. I'm guessing it was the pipes. When I say loud I'm talking loud enough to wake you up in the middle of the night, which I did a few times. After the first night, I was thinking that it could be an aberration. It ended up continuing the second night. We were booked for one more night, so I spoke with the staff member at the front desk. He was very apologetic and promised to get maintenance to look at the problem. He also moved me to another room, and gave me 20% off the first two nights.
The breakfast was just ok. It was nice that they offered free bottled water and granola bars in the lobby. Room was very clean, shower seemed new. The views were nice, and the people who used the pool seemed to be enjoying it. Playground was also nice for the kids to use after a long car ride.
If it weren't for the really loud noises, which had obviously been reported, marginalized by Susie H, and not taken care of before my arrival, I'd have given them 4/5.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,030 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
779 reviews
2.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estes

Property: Hotel Estes
Address: 1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8929 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Estes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Estes is located in Estes Park, Colorado, near Lake Estes, just 1 mile from downtown Estes Park. The hotel has sweeping mountain views and is just 5 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park. Hotel Estes has been recently renovated by the Hochstetler family and is now a family destination experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Estes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Tyrol Mountain Motel
Hotel Estes Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing