We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the free water and snacks, good breakfast and comfy beds!”
Review of Hotel Estes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Estes
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was a great little place to stay for one night. The beds were very comfy, although we did find a couple of fleas in one of the beds. But since it is a pet friendly place, I guess I'm not too surprised. The bathroom was very small and dated, and it could've used a trash can. The rustic furniture was awesome! The boys enjoyed the hot tub, pool, and WiFi. The view was decent and the complimentary water and snacks were great. Overall, I thought the room was a bit pricey compared to what I'm used to, but I kinda expected it from a touristy place like this. Great for one or two nights if you're not planning on spending a lot of time in the room. Why would you when you have the Rockies next to you?!?!?

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foggy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Fleas do not live at this high of an altitude. However, bugs do occasionally get drug into the rooms, being that we are in the mountains. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the furniture, pool, hot tub, wifi and snacks! We are continually improving the hotel. We hope to see you again at the Hotel Estes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

As a first time visitor to Estes Park, I was very pleased with the hotel & its staff. The hotel is older, but well-maintained. Our family decided to extend our stay by 2 more days over the 4th of July holiday. The manager and front desk staff were very helpful in helping us search to find vacancy in the sold out city. The manager was able to accommodate us for 2 more nights at Hotel Estes after checking availability & bookings at their affiliated hotels. We did need to change rooms, but all were very helpful in making the transition a smooth one. Can't beat their location on Big Thompson Rd. either!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad that we were able to accommodate you during the hectic 4th of July weekend. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a older hotel that has been maintained very well. The room was clean, and nice. We had a 3 queen bed room that was perfect! I wish we would have stayed 2 nights. Will stay again the next time we go!!

Room Tip: Upstairs looks like it would have a great view, and chairs on the balcony, if you want to haul your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tammy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward seeing you during your next visit to Estes Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our Mission Group stayed at this fabulous hotel. It is very clean, great queen beds, and a plentiful continental breakfast. It is located close to downtown. Drive right up to your hotel door. Great view of the mountains!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeflyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review! It was a pleasure working with your group. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had a group of 37 people (both youth and adults) that were on a mission trip. We stayed at Hotel Estes for one night at the end of our time in Colorado. The entire staff was amazing - both before we arrived (setting up multiple rooms) and while we were there. They allowed our group to use the entire lobby for a late night meeting, had a good continental breakfast ready in the morning, and helped guide our group to several different activities. The rooms were awesome - clean, updated with comfortable beds, PLUS they offered our group roll-aways at no charge. Whether you're traveling as a couple, family, or large group - you won't be disappointed with Hotel Estes. I will definitely stay there the next time I'm in Estes Park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKimmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

It was truly a delight to have you stay at Hotel Estes! You guys were great to work with from the time of reservation, to check out. You had a great crew! We hope to see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The views from our room were fantastic. We were on the second floor which was a pain to climb but the view was worth it. I would have given it 5 stars but the coffee and rolls were not available until 7:30. The second item was when I called because we were not sure on the directions I told the person where we were (lily lake) and he sent us back up a mountain. We stopped again and got directions from someone who lives there. The person who answered the phone did not know the area.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank constance63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and a good nights rest. We truly appreciate your input on the wifi and towels. We currently replaced the towels, but will work on the wifi next. We recently changed ownership and have been working on numerous improvements at the property. Thank you for your input and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you're just looking for a good night's sleep, then this hotel delivers. Our room was clean and quiet with adequate temperature controls. The queen beds were extremely comfortable--quality mattresses with silky sheets--providing us with one of the best night's sleep we've ever had at a hotel. As other guests have mentioned, however, normal curtains would have allowed us to enjoy the mountain view from our picture window. We also would have preferred a larger bathroom with better towels. A faster, more reliable Internet connection would have been helpful, too. The price was right, though, especially compared with other 3-star hotels in town.

Room Tip: This hotel does not have an elevator. If you have heavy luggage, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Since your stay, we have replaced the towels. We are also in the process of upgrading our internet service. Being in the mountains, it is sometimes hard to get reliable internet service! In addition, we appreciate your input about the blinds. When we renovated the hotel, we chose to get blinds. A majority of our rooms face west towards the continental divide, and the blacktop. We though blinds would provide better protection from the sun. However, due to your feedback, we will consider getting blinds in the future. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
839 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estes

Address: 1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8929 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £72 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Estes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Estes is located in Estes Park, Colorado, near Lake Estes, just 1 mile from downtown Estes Park. The hotel has sweeping mountain views and is just 5 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park. Hotel Estes has been recently renovated by the Hochstetler family and is now a family destination experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Estes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Tyrol Mountain Motel
Hotel Estes Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing