We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations”
Review of Hotel Estes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Estes
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Liberal, Kansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great accommodations”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Hotel Estes on Friday and Saturday nights august 8-9, 2014. Our room met all expectations. The beds were comfortable and clean. The AC labored, but windows open made it okay.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was easily accessible, though the parking lot is steep. But this IS the mountains, so we expected that.
I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: I was concerned about altitude affecting my breathing, so I reserved the ground floor. Didn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review! We do have an awesome staff. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    129
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
183
85
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silverthorne, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I stayed in the room with 3 queen beds, 5 of us. It was clean comfy and surprisingly quiet. Considering there was wedding parties going on. The pool was nice and warm on cool summer morning too! All staff was accommodating and friendly. When we arrived after driving through Rocky Mtn National Park at check in time, our room wasn't ready. We had very little time to change and get ready for a wedding shuttle picking us up. They let us use the housekeepers room to get ready. We really were thankful for that :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We are glad to hear that we were able to help you before your wedding! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Estes. After each day of hiking and seeing the sights we really appreciated the extremely comfortable beds! Bathroom was small but clean. Great location. If I had to state a negative it was that the ice machine was out of ice by 10am requiring us to purchase a bag a the gas station down the street. No big deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisygirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review! We are sorry to hear that the ice machine ran out of ice. A lot of travelers utilize it in the summer before their hikes. We hope to see you another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Clean, great view, pleasant and helpful front desk staff. Good value for the money. We only needed a hotel as a place to shower and sleep as we were on the move while in Estes Park. This hotel was conveniently located. Couldn't ask for more.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt it was a good value. With all there is to do in Estes, most people are not in their rooms and are enjoying activities during their vacation. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Nice place. Changed owners 2 yes ago (?) and it was nice!!! Spacious kung room, easy chairs, desk, wi fi, continental brkfst with lots of options, friendly housekeeping staff, GREAT views (if it's not raining). We were very pleased. Loved the wood, cabin-like furniture and furnishings.

Room Tip: An upstairs room would probably give you a better view, but then you are walking up and down steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review and noticing the ownership change. We have been working very hard to improve the rooms at Hotel Estes and have made many improvements. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice location, all rooms face the mountains. The pool is warm so the kids loved it. Good location to downtown. Beds were very comfortable too. Wi-fi was spotty and slow and the breakfasts were a little lacking in substance (per the family). I would definitely stay here again. The floors are a bit squeaky, but it think the only person that bothered is me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel offerings! Strong wifi is hard to get up here in the mountains, but we are working on it with a local company. Also, the Colorado Health Department will not let us extend our breakfast since we do not have a kitchen on site, but we do try to provide the most that we can offer! We hope to see you again at Hotel Estes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you're not going to spend much time in the room (and that is not the reason you visit RMNP), then this place is ideal. Clean, free breakfast, good location, and less expensive than other lodging. Stayed 2 nights, July 23 and 24, 2 queen bed studio, 3-4 people in the room. Pool and jukuzi were decent. Staff was good. Continental breakfast was a continental breakfast.There are pet friendly and non-pet friendly rooms.

Room Tip: There are pet friendly and non-pet friendly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review! We are glad to hear that our prices were fair, our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed our hotel amenities. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,013 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,358 reviews
2.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estes

Property: Hotel Estes
Address: 1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8929 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Estes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Estes is located in Estes Park, Colorado, near Lake Estes, just 1 mile from downtown Estes Park. The hotel has sweeping mountain views and is just 5 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park. Hotel Estes has been recently renovated by the Hochstetler family and is now a family destination experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Estes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Tyrol Mountain Motel
Hotel Estes Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing