We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Great Food, Awesome Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Estes Park Resort
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Wow, my wife and I stopped in for lunch yesterday and had a huge surprise - the staff was amazingly polite and helpful, and then the food came, and it was wonderful. We sat there for a couple of hours, reading our books, having a cocktail, and interacting with staff.

Chef Alan came out and we chatted for a while. We were so impressed with him, as well as the rest of the staff, that we came back today for the Sunday brunch. Once again, excellent! Poncho cooked a couple of amazing omelettes, the prime rib was perfectly done, and everything else was so good, we ate everything we took!

At one point, the table next to us was telling the server how wonderful the sheets and blankets in the room were, and asking where they might be able to find at least the brand to purchase some to bring home. Next thing we know, the Housekeeping Manager was coming down to talk to the couple and answer their questions, on a Sunday!!

We enjoyed ourselves so much there that the next time we are in Estes, we plan to stay at the Estes Park Resort. Alan and the rest of the staff left such a great impression on us, I don't think it can be beat!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanDougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Hi Sean,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here for others to see. We are thrilled to hear of the positive trip you had with us, and I hope we can be of service to you again the next time you are in Estes Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed there for a weekend getaway with my sister. I had purchased a Groupon which covered a two-night stay with a food voucher. For the price we paid I think it was a great value. We had a lake-view room. It seemed as though the hotel had been partially remodeled - the bathroom fixtures were pretty contemporary but the carpet throughout the hotel could have used an upgrade. Our room had two queen-sized beds which were comfortable and the room was clean. We had a patio that overlooked a small lake.

We actually saw about 20 elk that had migrated over to the lake on Saturday night. They were on the one end of the lake but slowly moved over across the lake and were eventually right in front of our room - so the elk were about 5-6 feet from where I was standing on the patio watching. It was very cool and they didn't seem too bothered by the people watching them.

On Friday night the bar had live music. When we went down to the bar there were quite a few people there enjoying the music and some drinks. We sat down and ordered an appetizer and some drinks. The bar service was good and the atmosphere was laid-back relaxing. On Saturday there was no live music, so it was much less crowded.

Overall we had a great experience at the hotel especially for the deal we got. We enjoyed our experience at The Estes Park Resort.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brittney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Hello Brittney,
Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay with us! I am very please to hear you had a positive experience, and enjoyed your time with us! I would like to let you know, that in the very recent time since your stay with us - the entire hotel carpeting has been replaced! Our renovations will be completed within a month, and we will have a brand new hotel interior for everyone to enjoy - along with the elk! Hope to see you again the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

After having a disappointing week in Vail (no snow, high prices, etc) we decided to head for Estes Park and the great Estes Park Resort. What a pleasant experience!!! The renovations are nearly complete, the staff is above and beyond fabulous (I even got a tour of the most immaculate, oraganized kitchen ever--thanks Chef!!) and our room overlooking the lake and the snow capped mountain couldn't be beat. Early one morning we woke to the smell of fresh brewed coffee provided for us in the lobby area. We took our steaming cups out to the huge deck and just drank in the beauty. The lake was like a mirror it was so calm and the reflection of the mountain on the lake required a quick trip back to the room for the camera and an amazing Kodak moment. The ladies night with the best three piece group ever (we told the lead singer she should audition for the Voice!! Really, she was that good! ) was a blast. $4.00 matinis and appetizers to die for. We danced for hours! So I guess you can tell how much we loved the experience. DO go to Estes Park and DO experience the Estes Park Resort!!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was a suite overlooking the lake with the mountains in the background. We had a deck and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Hi Lynne,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with others on this site! I am very pleased to hear your stay was a positive one - we strive to exceed every guest's expectations, and in this case it sounds as if our goal was achieved! Thank you for your feedbac, and thank you for being our guest! I hope to see you again in Estes Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I want to say thank you to all the staff members who made our stay a very memorable one. All staff members were very helpful. To our surprise there was live music and the band was very good. The hotel is under a renovation and is almost complete and looks great. This property sits right on Lake Estes and at sundown a large herd of elk came down to the lake for a drink of water. Keep up the good work and we look forward to our return trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Hello Mark,

Thank you for being our guest, and thank you for taking the time to share you trip experience on this site! You are correct, our renovations are almost complete, and within the next few weeks - we will have a brand new hotel. We look forward to having the pleasure of serving your travel needs the next time you are in Estes, and hearing your impressions of our brand new interior! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife & I have been under the weather and needing a bit of a break. One of our favorite spots for a break (out side of HI) is Estes Park. I wanted to stay someplace different then our usual haunts.
We had a very relaxing and great stay.
The staff and the accommodations were wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Hi CC-
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve your needs while you were in Estes Park. While we indeed are not Hawaii, I hope you were pleased with the experience you had with us, and I hope the next time you make a trip into town, you will again consider staying with us! Thank you again for your business, and for taking the time to share your experience with others on this site as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My daughter and I were having a 2-night mother-daughter vacation a couple of weeks ago. We were hesitant about staying at the Estes Park Resort because the reviews were quite negative going back several months, but the location of the property sounded really beautiful on the lake with mountain views, and they had an indoor pool and hot tub, which we wanted. When I called to look into prices, the representative was really nice, saying they'd give me a lakeside room for no extra charge, and not requiring a credit card number to hold the room, as I told him about my hesitancy. The off-season rate was very reasonable. I was told that the property was under new ownership and a lot of improvements had been made, with more to come. We were pleasantly surprised about the property when we checked in, and our room was very nice, with a beautiful view. We were told that the formica counters were being replaced with granite the week after we checked out, which will make the rooms even nicer. We're really glad we stayed there, and would definitely stay there again should the chance arise. All of the staff were extremely nice and helpful. The website indicates that there is an on-site spa (massage services), but it turned out that there wasn't. We were told that they were re-negotiating the contract. They should really take it off their website until they do actually get one back.

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Hi Ellen S.-
Thank you for being our guest and experiencing for yourself all the great things that are happening at The Estes Park Resort! We recognize that historically this hotel did not always have the best reputation in town, however as you experienced first hand - things are definately changing! The granite countertops have all now been installed, and more improvements are on the way. By mid-May - we will essentially be a brand new hotel!
The spa is one of the many improvements that is being added to the service we provide for all our guests - we had a brief delay during the construction process, however it is expected to be open within the week! Thank you again so much for staying with us, and also for taking the time to share your experience with others on this site. We look forward to the pleasure of serving your travel needs again the next time you come to Estes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

It looked like there were renovations taking place when we were there, but there were no explanations or warnings for what we got ourselves into. The carpet in the hallways looked like it was in the process of installation and not fitted properly. there were places that could actually be dangerous. Our drawers were filled with boards and nails.The couch in the room was torn in several places. There was an office chair in the middle of the room, but no desk. ??? Outside on the patio( that, FYI is not private) we found the desk along with cigarette butts. The restaurant food is ok, but on the night we were there, (Sun) there was no music, ambiance, etc. There were no laundry bags in the room, and the coffee pot and mugs were dirty.
The pool is well kept, but very small, so not good for families or real swimmers. The exercise equipment is VERY old. POOR excuse for a game room too. There were two board games and run down machines from the 70s.
The people working were few, but they were very nice. I hope that these things can be improved on because the location and views at this place make it worth saving!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Hi Julie,
I am very sorry your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We value your feedback, and will share it with our department heads in order to improve the products and services we offer all our guests. Our renovations are going quickly, and everything will be wrapping up in the very near future, which will result in essentially a brand new hotel in Estes. Next time you are in town, please consider checking us out, I am confident the experience you had recently will not be repeated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
839 reviews
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8928
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £112 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park
The Estes Park Resort CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing