We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good attempt but management missed the boat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Estes Park Resort
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Rooms nice and clean but small. Views are amazing. Air conditioning regulated with outdoor temp. Our room was hot response is open sliding door onto common patio. These goes security and privacy. Bar displayed a beautiful tall bloody Mary with a skewer to die for. Ordered one got a small glass very light pour no garnish. I asked and bartender said for display only sorry. Total misrepresentation. I would not stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkierVailCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

We booked a last minute stay, so we were thankful that they had a room available. I originally booked a "garden view" room; after reading more reviews about this hotel, I discovered that there was no air conditioning in the "garden view" rooms. I called the hotel to inquire, and the staff was very helpful and said that there was not air conditioning in the room that we had reserved. Therefore, they gave me a free upgrade to their "lake view" room. (The most expensive room of the three types of room, lake view, mountain view, and garden view). The hotel is nice, recently remodeled. However, the rooms are a bit small for 4 people. They also had a laundry room with 2 washers and 2 dryers that cost $1 per load each. We had been traveling for 2 weeks, so we needed laundry facilities, and this was not advertised on their website. We were glad for the convenience of on-site laundry.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Hi StephanieM;
Thank you for being our guest! You are correct, we do have 5 guest rooms in our Garden Level which do have ceiling fans, however not air conditioning - which generally is acceptable as the temps tend to get into the 50's or 60's most summer nights - however the remaining guest rooms and the rest of the resort (as you experienced does have A/C). We are currently in the process of determining if we can add A/C to these last few rooms. I am glad to hear our Front Office was able to accommodate you and provide you with one of our Lakeview rooms! I thank you for your feedback, and hope next time you are in Estes, we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed here last Wednesday night with my sister and her boys. Awesome lake view from our room! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room wasn't huge, but it was very cute, super clean and the beds were very comfy - feather pillows! We had the ground/slightly below grade level, but it had a big window and slider, and we were able to walk right out the patio and start walking around the path at the lake. I would prefer the ground level again in the future. We ate breakfast outside on the deck and had yummy food and great conversation with a local retiree who eats there everyday. It was a great start to our vacation, and a perfect spot to unwind from the daily grind back in CA. The pool is indoors, pretty small and smelled of chemicals is the only downside of the hotel that I noticed. I will definitely go back again and stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank My4doggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Hello My4doggles,
Thank you for staying with us! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us, and enjoyed our walk out lakeview rooms! Thank you for your comment regarding our pool area, this is not typical, but we will certainly take swift action to ensure the odor source is eliminated. I hope you can join us again the next time you are in Estes Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I just completed an AMAZING 31 hour Ladies Road Trip from CA to WI and reserved this as one of the stops along the way. This had everything from unbelievable views, helpful employees, great food, Beer/wine, spectacular rooms...as well as very clean and comfy! I would not hesitate staying here. The price was higher than most but you definitely get what you pay for :)

Room Tip: All rooms have a view...so choose away :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyankent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Hi tonyankent!
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our property! We work hard every day to provide our guests with memorable experiences and Rocky Mountain hospitality - I am very pleased to see we met your expectations during your visit! I hope you can join us the next time you make your way to Colorado! Happy & Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean. We had a view of the lake which was nice and shared the balcony with all other rooms on the 3rd floor facing the lake. We dined at the hotel restaurant one night and enjoyed the views from the dining room as well as the food. The hotel is next to the marina where you can rent bikes, kayaks and boats.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50States
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This hotel had a great location right on the lake. Make sure you ask for a room on the second or third floor as the first floor is really underground and feels a little dark.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Hello AJ-
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with others - Thank you even more for allowing us to serve your travel needs while in Estes Park. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your experience with us. I hope the next time you visit Estes, you will again grant us the pleasure of serving your lodging needs. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Our daughter had her wedding and reception here. She made this reservation almost two years ago and we had a few issues in the beginning and I was nervous we had picked the wrong place. Several employee changes which caused confusion. Some time ago I was told they now have new owners and a new manager which has made a world of difference. Nothing could have been better....organized, service was the best, food was amazing, rooms were very clean and beautiful. The entire staff was very helpful and could not have been better. The reception room was set up how our daughter requested it and the next day people were still talking about how wonderful the food was. We had 120 guests and food was hot with amazing presentation and taste. The breakfast (fruit, cereal, yogurt, coffee, etc) in the a.m. for wedding guests was such a wonderful way to start the day!!! I would highly recommend The Estes Park Resort from stopping by for a relaxing drink, having a delicious meal, a wedding and reception, a sleeping room....any need you may have for a resort in Estes Park. The view is so wonderful for pictures. We did not do an arch or flowers outside because didn't want to take away from the view.

Room Tip: Would definitely suggest a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. What they consider the 1st floor is appare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Hello Lil-
Thank you so very much for allowing us to serve your needs on your daughter's special day! Reading your review has made my day! Since coming into this hotel - we have worked so very hard to improve the quality of our product and services - I am thrilled to hear that we have met your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience with others on this site, and I hope if you ever find yourself again in Estes Park - you will grant us the honor of again being your host!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
839 reviews
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8928
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £112 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park
The Estes Park Resort CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing