We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Estes Park Resort
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Ottsville, PA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced...”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I was impressed and delighted when we checked in, lovely lobby, very welcoming. We specifically requested a room with a nice view (anything but a parking lot). We were told that the rooms have private balconies/decks - this is true but it is anything but private. It is merely a deck that runs the around the hotel; there are no barriers between rooms. This wasn't such a big deal, but when you are told each room has a balcony/deck, one would assume that it would have some type of deliniation. They advertise a happy hour with complimentary appetizers - never happened; chef was out or some such thing. The restaurant was EMPTY - we were the only guests that showed up. The room was of adequate size but the bathroom sink was not in the bathroom - it was in the main room - thought this was rather strange. When we ordered room service for breakfast, it was delivered promptly; no utensils; no place to set the plates down. Called room service and they came back with utensils but would have to look for a table; they sent up a waiter's tray; they did not have room service tables. We once again sat down to eat - no condiments, i.e., salt/pepper, etc. We were out for the day, returned about 5pm - housekeeping never came in. When I asked why, no reason. I will stop here...you get the general gist. Would we return? Perhaps with some improvements but overall, very pricey and not worth it......do more research.

Room Tip: The best view are the rooms next to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Hi CristiniJacque,

Thank you for being our guest!
I am sorry that you had the impression that we have private balconies, would you be willing to contact me directly at the hotel to let me know how you were misinformed? I am wondering if perhaps a travel website listed the balconies as private, when as you experienced, they are not. (By the way, separating them is something we are looking into based on feedback such as yours) We do have a happy hour in our lounge with discounted drink prices and complimentary appetizers Sundays thru Wednesdays - Did your stay take place during any of these dates? If so, I again apologize and will share this information with our kitchen and bar staff.
Thank you for your feedback, we will distribute it to all of our Department Managers in order to improve the quality of our products and services so that the stay you described is the exception, not the normal level of service a guest can expect to receive from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    114
    77
    42
    19
See reviews for
161
174
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Rooms were very roomy and nicely decorated, clean as well. Somewhat pricey. Restaurant is a different story, very unprofessionally run. Long waiting times and food mediocre. I would go again, just choose a different restaurant .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiebitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Hello,
Thank you for being our guest- and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, however I also would like to apologize for any inconveneinces you experienced in our restaurant. I would love to hear some specifics we can take to improve ourselves. Thank you again for staying with us, I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apache Junction, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Our committe booked the grand ballroom for the EP class of '82 : 30th reunion. It was thee best place to have held this! The atmosphere is wonderful! Jamie in sales was so wonderful to work with and is very thorough on everything you could possible want or need. She was very helpful in taking us through the steps of planning!
We started with an appetizer that was fabulous! We had a wonderful buffet dinner (of which there are many items too choose for your group) ! We had picked the Prime rib, which was very good and also the stuffed salmon, great as well! Add to that garlic mashed potatoes and an asperagus/mushroom rosetti. And a nice big mixed green salad. It was all very good! The attention to detail was AWESOME from the get go, to the night of the event! The service was attentive, and the bartender (Cameron?) was a favorite visit:)
We had a dance floor and so much fun with our former classmate DJ'ing all our 80's tunes for us! So needless to say; it was alot of fun!
I would highly reccommend if you are planning an event in Estes, that you contact sales and book today!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwine-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Hello to the Estes Class of '82:

It certainly did appear to me that your group was having a great time! Thank you so much for taking the time to share you experience with others on this site. We appreciate and value your business, and your opinion. I hope we see you the next time your class gets together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This hotel is in a great location. We booked a suite with a view of the lake. we received a partial view of the lake and a view of the parking lot. The room was not nearly as nice as the picture on the website. We booked an expensive room at a hotel that calls itself a resort and we received an average hotel room. The bathroom smelled of mildew and the towels provided were substandard and small. the general manager did try to fix the situation for us. however, the hotel was completely booked. we were stuck with the room we were issued. The hotel has potential: the staff and condition of the facilities need work.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Estes Park Resort is a fabulous place to stay in Estes Park. The view of the lake and the mountains is fabulous! Our room was very clean and comfortable. The quality of food in the dining room was far above what most hotels offer. Management and staff are friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing west toward the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Hello Anna M,
Thank you for your kind words when describing your memory of your stay with us! We value your feedback, and I am very pleased to see your time with us was an enjoyable one! I hope you can join us again in the future! Happy & Safe travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel is over priced for what they have to offer. The hotel is understaffed and they tell you how overworked they are. If there is a wedding or any other special event the guests that have paid full price for the rooms are pretty much ignored. The manager was impossible to reach during the day. Would never stay at this hotel again nor would I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Hello Ellen,
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion, I do wish we would have been able to speak during your visit when I could have hopefully addressed your concerns. I admit, I am not a sit in the office type of manager, instead preferring to be out in the hotel, interacting with our guests and staff to encourage the best possible experience for everyone involved in our resort. Estes Park is indeed a very busy place in the summer, we strive to exceed the expectations of every guest - group, or individual traveler. Please feel free to contact me directly at the resort, I'd really like to hear about your experience and take your feedback to share with our team so we may improve ourselves. Thank you for being our guest, I hope you will grant us the honor of serving you again after we speak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for my 25th birthday for two nights. Our room was handicapped accessible (although we are not handicapped) and was located directly across from the elevators on the second floor which was noisy and annoying while people were coming and going during the day. I also did not like that the balcony on our room runs around the entire outside of the hotel. Balconies are not seperated by room, so there is no privacy. I wanted to open the door and get some fresh air but I didn't feel comfortable doing that because anyone outside could just walk into our room and hear our conversations. Our view was over the lake, which was very pretty. The bathroom was very odd and uncomfortable to us. The shower was litterally only 6 feet tall by about 3 feet deep and 3 feet wide and it being handicapped accessible, their was a fold-up seat in the shower. Even when folded up, you can image there was not much room to move around. We kind of had to duck down under the shower head to rinse off. I really suggest avoiding a handicapped accessible room unless its necessary for your needs. The last morning there was no hot water so we couldn't take showers. We mentioned it at the front desk at checkout and they gave us half off our room for one night, which I felt was generous. For that and the fact that the staff was all friendly, their customer service was pretty good. The room was overall clean and comfortable, but really nothing special. I don't think it was worth the $250 a night we paid for, maybe like $150. We both agree that what we really loved about this hotel was the bar and restaurant. The food was really good, and the bartender was willing to have some fun with us and make us "mystery" drinks. After eating some really nasty food in town the first night we ate all the rest of our meals at the hotel and never had anything bad. The location of the hotel was perfect. Only a couple of miles to attractions like the Stanley hotel, but slightly removed from downtown Estes Park in a pretty, quiet, peaceful location on the lake.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kensley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Hi Kensley,
Thank you for being our guest, and for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. If you would like to join us again in the future, feel free to "like" our facebook page, where we on occassion do offer specials and promotions. I hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,391 reviews
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
776 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Property: The Estes Park Resort
Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8928
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park
The Estes Park Resort CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing