We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation Awaits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Estes Park Resort
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our first trip to Estes Park/Rocky Mt. National Park. We had to rely on internet travel info, so we took a chance and booked this hotel. We were greeted by a charming hotel management college intern, who saw to our every need (can't remember his name, but he has a bright future in the hotel biz!). He even told us about the best BBQ in town, Smokin' Dave's, which, in our opinion, was also the best restaurant in town, period, and we returned there for a second visit later on. Anyway, the hotel is very nice. Not super fancy/plush, but certainly not roughing it!
We had a balcony (shared with the other rooms that faced the lake on our floor), which was nice for watching the sun set. We talked about trying the paddleboats, kayaks, and bicycles that you can rent to go on the path around the lake, but we were so busy touring and hiking RMNP that we never got around to it! It's a 3-mile path, a nice distance, and it looked like fun. The lake is not really gorgeous - not much in the way of landscaping or natural greenery, but then, with all of the gorgeous views hiking up in the park, we weren't feeling shortchanged in the natural beauty department at ALL! And it was nice to open the curtains and see the water and the sun & lights relected in it at different times of the day and night. The breakfast was expensive and huge - we should have shared! The lobby/restaurant fireplace is very cozy, too. We tried another place, right in the town, the second and third mornings, that were more reasonably priced. But overall, this was the perfect place fo rus - lots of room to spread out, very helpful staff, a computer in the lobby so I could do a bit of work and email, and the location, a few minutes' drive from the hustle and bustle and "honkeytonk" of the gift shops and traffic of the Estes Park "main drag" made it most relaxing and rejuvenating. Surveying the rows of hotels in the town, I could tell we had chosen the nicest one. (I had considered the Stanley Hotel, for its historic aspect, but it does not offer any air-conditioned rooms, and I wanted/needed that. I would definitely go back to the Estes Park Resort.

Room Tip: Get a lake view! We were on the 2nd floor, though they offered the first floor. On the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 332Gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Love this hotel. Overlooking lake and the best view of the Rocky Mountains. To wake up to that mountain view was out of this world. Hotel also has a restaurant which is very nice, overlooking the lake. Free Parking! Elevators.

Room Tip: Balcony room overlooking Stanley Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destiny2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel was chosen by the pictures shown on the internet. We called and made reservations for a two night stay. When we arrived the hotel is overlooking a lake however it also overlooks the town of Estes which wasn't really the mountain view I was hoping for. We had booked a lake view and on the first night we were put on the bottom floor, which does over look the lake however it is underground and we could not see the lake for the wall in front of our patio door. For the second night we were moved to the third floor. The view of the lake was good but our room was right beside an ice machine and the sound of it going on and off was too much to bear so we went to the front desk and ask for a quieter room. Fortunetly they had one (which overlooked the parking lot) but we did end up getting a good night sleep. We will definetly look for somewhere other than Estes Park Resort fto stay at for or our next visit to Estes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazzjazz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked online and chose a garden room. When we arrived we were given our "garden room" which had a view over a raised bed with chippings and the occasional plant! The room was really dark and we were VERY disappointed. So, back to reception and we were immediately upgraded, at a discounted price, to a room at ground level front with a terrace which was lots better. We had a view of the lake and the mountains beyond.
We ate breakfast in the restaurant which was very good, great waffles and pancakes. We also ate our evening meal there one evening - the hanger steak was fab.
The staff were really helpful and friendly.
Would definitely recommend and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Don't book a garden room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Hi Suzanne,
Thank you for being our guest! We apprecaite your feedback, and will use it to improve. One specific example of that - is that based on comments such as yours and others, we are in the process of renaming our Garden View rooms to more accurately reflect the true view out of these more economical rooms of our resort. While there is a garden, if you were to compare it to a Garden View room in others parts of the country, the high altitude of the Rockies does limit exactly how much of a garden it really is. I am very pleased to hear you had a good experience, and I hope we can serve your travel needs again, the next time you are in the Estes Park area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Front desk staff was welcoming and friendly at check-in. Lobby and dining area have a pleasant western-theme to them. The hotel is located on the shore of Lake Estes about 2 miles east of downtown and about 8 miles from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park.

Our room was located on the lake side of the resort and room did have a balcony (shared) with two chairs. The room provided very nice views of the mountains and the lake. Room contained two beds (very comfortable), sitting chair & ottoman, HD TV, and business desk and chair. Bathroom contained the toilet and shower/tub combo. The sink was in the room parallel to, and next to, one of the beds. Of note, the sink height was the lowest I’ve experienced in a long-time. Wi-Fi available and it is free. Room also contained a microwave and refrigerator.

The room and public areas were well-kept and clean. An odd part of the resort are the huge dumpsters directly to the left of the lobby entrance (about 15 feet down) which were not only unsightly, but stunk! Surprised that the resort has not found a way to hide the dumpsters and eliminate the stench.

Large parking lot with ample free parking.

Overall experience was good, but cost of the room was high.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogerwny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

This place is by no means a luxury resort. We stayed for 5 days in late July. To start you are greeted at the entrance to the hotel with the smell of rotting garbage, as poor layout placed the garbage receptacles 30 yards from the front entrance. While the resort has a nice rustic charm and was clean, the rooms have paper thin walls and ceilings. So every sound your neighbor makes can be heard including every step they take above you. The girl at the front desk was always pleasant and greeted us when we came in, the young man there however never seemed to be able to look up from the computer screen to acknowledge us or even say hi. We stopped one morning for breakfast in the cafe there, one waitress on staff, who did not have a clue of what she was doing. After listening to her tell the table next to us numerous times I'll be right back and 5 min later show up with the forgotten item only to have forgotten something else and start the process over again. We began to worry. After 30 min since ordering we still never even received our coffee so we left . Needless to say we had planned on eating dinner there but after this decided against it. The resort seemed to be understaffed and the staff that was there definely were not trained. This is all a reflection of poor management and ownership. This resort is way overpriced for what it is. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ckul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Hello,
Thank you for being our guest! I am very sorry, and disappointed to hear about your experience with us - I will communicate your stay with our leadership team so that we can improve. We take our guest feedback seriously, and apprecaite this opportunity to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We arrived at check-in and Nicole was very helpful at helping us to find things to do. However, the resort was smaller then expected. We tried using the hot tub and it was freezing. Another couple told us it had not been working for 2 days and had complained. We notified the front desk and a young gentleman basically said..."well its working now" which we found to be untrue. Very expensive place to stay and not worth the stay. They did have big rooms but we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aduff630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
394 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 28 in Estes Park
92 reviews
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8928
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £120 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park
The Estes Park Resort CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing