We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Estes Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Estes Park Resort
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not your typical Estes Park”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I used to come to Estes as a kid all the time for the horse shows. Came back here ( I am a Colorado native- raised in Boulder) in 2013 in February very modern and big for Estes Park. Great location just as you come into town. Very Lodge feel and nice pool and dry saunas. Little game room is excellent for the kids. The view from the balcony is spectacular and overlooks the lake. You can see why this place is called the Gateway to the Rockies.. amazing view.
Hotel is a quick 5 minute drive to the little shops in the town and close to The Stanley Hotel which anyone who is anyone has to visit

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dawn M,

I am so glad that you were able to come back and enjoy Estes with your family! Thank you for taking the time to share your love of Estes with our fellow travelers. As you experienced, our location is extremely convenient, but also a nice distance from the 'hustle and bustle' of downtown so you can have a relaxing getaway. February and March are some of my favorite times of year in Estes Park - I am pleased that you enjoyed them as well.

We certainly hope that you will come see us again with your family and enjoy all our beautiful town has to offer. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in booking your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    110
    75
    40
    17
See reviews for
151
171
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I decided to spend our 5th wedding anniversary here. We enjoyed our stay until we got home and realized how much we were actually charged. More than DOUBLE what we were expecting!!!

We booked online and found a couples package. We first selected the package and then the room. When we put in our credit card information a "total" was given. The total I was expecting to pay was not even half of what we ended up being charged. When I called thinking this had to be a mistake I was only given "you misunderstood and there is nothing we can do for your past stay." Not only was the "total" given when we booked, it was in the email confirmation, the rate we signed when we got there and on the statement we signed when we checked out. Although the “total” was in four places it was never the total we were actually charged. While the package states that it is in addition to the room rate in the description; I would expect the confirmation that clearly states the package AND the room are included to total up correctly. I would consider this false advertisement and taking the decision process away from the buyer when the total is not given correctly! Had we known what the stay was really going to cost we would have never booked a stay here. Clearly their webpage and confirmation system has a bug, however, the management team does not seem to be in hurry to fix it. That is frankly outrageous and unacceptable. Buyer beware!

The front desk was friendly. Our room was nice and clean. The balcony is shared, but since it was winter that was not a big deal for this stay. Our fireplace was broken, but when called the front desk they did come and fix it.

We ate breakfast at the hotel the morning after our stay. There was one table finishing up and another table that was about to order, other than that the place was empty. It took at least 15 minutes for anyone to acknowledge we were even there. Prices were very expensive for a mediocre breakfast.

I am just glad we decided to eat dinner off-site the night before.

Summary

Pros - Nice views, friendly front desk
Cons - Restaurant service, fireplace broken, shared balcony, incorrect total price when booking online

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 303Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
303Claudia,

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write a review. I apologize for any misunderstandings in the process of your online booking. We try to make the pricing as clear as possible for our packages by stating "Does not include guest room cost. Add on of $xxx." in all of the descriptions. Per your feedback I have reached out to our IT staff to change the format of our confirmation e-mails when guests book packages online so the total pricing is more clear.

I am glad that our Front Desk staff was helpful throughout your stay and hope that you did enjoy the remainder of your stay, despite the miscommunication regarding your package. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you are in Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Jacuzzi Suite was wonderful with gas fireplaces in both the living room and bedroom. The suite we had was a corner room with two decks to look out over Lake Estes. This suite even has 1 1/2 baths. We can truly say that this room exceeding our expectations. It was cold and snowy outside, but nice and cozy inside. We had an excellent dinner at the Waterfront Grille restaurant on-sight. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend this resort in Estes Park Colorado.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prentiss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Prentiss B,

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to share your experience! I am pleased to see that you really enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of some of the wonderful amenities our beautiful resort has to offer. I hope that next time you are in Estes Park, you will join us again - whether it is for cocktails on the deck, dinner in the Grille, or a romantic night in one of our suites, we look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Estes Park in all it's snowy glory. This is my favorite time to be here. We got off to a ominous start as my son had the flu. The staff leaped into action. Get Well cards, cookies, Christmas tree in our suite, room service, constant inquiries as to my son's condition. A save! Best holiday ever. Not to mention the vista, the frozen lake, elk, deer, mountain goats and occasional eagle swooping by the dining room.

Thanks to all.

Room Tip: I like the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Diane W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and for visiting us for another holiday. We certainly appreciate your and your family's continued patronage and we always enjoy seeing all of you. I am pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas stay with us, even with some feeling under the weather.

We look forward to hosting your next stay in Estes Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northglenn, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed her for the first time. It is very beautiful with nice rooms. The best part of the stay was how William and Cassandra made us feel so welcome. They are husband and wife and work in the bar and restaurant. We could have talked to them all night. The resort is lucky to have them.

Room Tip: A plus to stay on lake side.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Rhonda629,

Thank you for being our guest and choosing to dine with us during your stay! I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time in Estes Park as well as the company of some of our wonderful staff members. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others!

We hope to host you again next time you are in Estes Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Checked in to the resort an it was absolutely beautiful. The room (King Lakeview) was well appointed and the view was incredible. The only problem was the front door would not close. That was a concern, so we were offered two choices, a queen suite next door, or a king room on the ground floor. Took the king room and was delighted, except there was no heat and the room was COLD. We then were offered a king jacuzzi suite, and it was amazing! The next morning, however, there was an issue regarding paint and other chemical fumes that required an evacuation of the entire resort. Again, the staff handled this quite well. We were put up in another facility, at no charge, and were able to complete our weekend. I cannot wait to go back to the Estes Park Resort and see what it has to offer when Murphy's Law is not in play!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Chris C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and for being so understanding in your travels with us. We certainly try our best to ensure that every guest room is perfect before anyone checks in but unfortunately there are some unpredictable things that happen. When these things do happen, as you experienced, we do everything we can to make sure our guests can still enjoy their stay and create fond memories here at The Estes Park Resort.

The painting issue that we encountered during your stay was one of those unpredictable occurrences. The safety and well being of our staff and guests was our number one priority, so we appreciate your cooperation during your stay.

We hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here on New Year’s Eve 2013. The hotel had a dinner and a band playing to celebrate the New Year. Although we had a great time, there were many frustrating things that started even before we checked in.

The good:
-This is a beautiful property. It’s right on Lake Estes and has great views of the lake/mountains.
-Room was clean. There were also robes in the room, which was a nice touch. There is a coffee maker and a small fridge in the room.
-Our food quality at the dinner was good (although not great – more on this below)
-The band for the night – the Dennis Tobias Band – was A LOT of fun. Played a great mix of music that had everyone on the dance floor for the entire night.
-They did allow us to check in early, which was appreciated.

The bad:
-I had called inquiring about the plans for New Years Eve and ended up booking our room on the phone. I was told that I would get an email confirmation and that my credit card would be charged immediately. Within a week neither of these had occurred, so I called back since I was concerned if we actually had a reservation. I was told again that I would get an email confirmation and was given a confirmation number. I never did get the email confirmation.
-Upon check-in the rate I was being charged was higher than what I was quoted on the phone. Since I never did receive the email confirmation, I couldn’t prove the rate I was quoted. They did give us 2 drink tickets for that night, rather than adjust the rate, which was about the same $ for $. The reason I didn’t get the confirmation is he had mis-typed my last name in the email, although it was right everywhere else. They also had us down for 10 people for our dinner reservation, rather than 2. Not sure how that happened.
-We went to the pool/hot tub. The pool was so cold you couldn’t swim in it. The hot tub jets weren’t working. We did call and maintenance came, but it was ½ hour after our call and we were ready to get out by that time. After we got out and got back to the room we realized we reeked of chemical smell. My skin has been irritated since that day.
-I had requested a 7:30 reservation for dinner, which I also confirmed when we checked in. We got to dinner about 7:15 and we were told that they had us down for 7 and they weren’t sure if we were coming or not. Luckily they still had our table.
-We ordered our drinks shortly after sitting down. They didn’t come until roughly ½ hour later. We were told the bar was backed up- and it was for the entire night. It was at least a ½ hour wait after ordering a drink each time.
-We ordered our food shortly after we ordered our drinks. We did the price fix menu and I think the cost was $35 a piece – came with soup or salad, entrée and dessert. Unfortunately, everything came at once, including the drinks. The gal that brought our food nearly threw it on the table. My husband commented that he was surprised something didn’t end up in our lap. There were two servers at our table because of everything coming at once and a more senior server told our server to always bring the drinks first. She said she tried, but the bar was backed up. I asked if they typically bring the soup/salad as the same time as the entrée and was told no, but they were backed up. I understand being backed up, but this wasn’t a cheap meal and everything simply should be better orchestrated than this. This place does events and so they should know how to handle a large group. We noticed several other tables around us having the same issues.
-Our server brought our check after we asked. We noticed she charged us for the two drinks that we had given her the drink tickets for. We told her what the issue was and gave her the check back. The check came back uncorrected two additional times. It wasn’t until the fourth time we got the check that it was correct and this was after multiple times of explaining what was wrong.
-The walls at this hotel are paper thin. When we arrived we quickly realized that a child was staying the room next to us. He was running around and laughing, it sounded like he was right there in the room with us. We also were woke up by this the next morning.


Again, we had a great time, but there were a lot of minor annoyances that did impact our stay. This wasn’t a cheap stay - $185 for the room for one night (including tax) and $70 for the dinner (not including any drinks). For this price we simply expect a little more. The next morning I woke up and was thinking about breakfast and we decided to go offsite because I just dreaded what I knew would be more screw-ups. This place has some great potential, but they need to get it together. My husband & I both commented that we cannot imagine having any kind of event here given the things that went on with our easy one-night stay.

Will we return? Not likely. There are too many great places to stay in Colorado that don’t have the issues that we did here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunAndBeachSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
SunAndBeachSeekers,

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your most recent visit. I am glad to see that there were a few things you did really enjoy about your stay. The Dennis-Tobias Band is absolutely wonderful and they play in the Waterfront Grille and Bar every Thursday night.

Our indoor pool - which is normally heated to 83 degrees - and our hot tub did run into some problems that evening. I believe that the reason the jets were not working was due to the water level. For safety reasons, the jets will not work if the water level is too low. Similarly the heating units will not function is there is not enough water in the system. Both of these issues have already been addressed by our maintenance team and will hopefully not cause any issues in the future.

It seems that many of the problems you encountered were due to the large volume of guests that evening - while this is no excuse for a poor experience, I would like to assure you that we learned a lot from this New Year's Eve. Due to the recent flooding and how slow business has been we did not expect the number of guests we had show up. Unfortunately, we were not as prepared as we would have liked to have been. I can assure you that next year will run much more smoothly and we will have many more people on staff to ensure that it does. I certainly appreciate your patience with us and your feedback. I have already shared your comments with the rest of my management team, who have already begun brainstorming for how to make this entire year better, simply based on that evening.

Thank you again for being our guest and taking the time to share with us the pros and cons of your experience - we appreciate all feedback and the opportunity to learn from it and grow. We certainly hope that you will allow us to prove ourselves to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,339 reviews
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
572 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Property: The Estes Park Resort
Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8928
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park
The Estes Park Resort CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing