We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy room with a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Estes Park Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Estes Park Resort
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Classy room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I were looking for an upscale hotel with a great view. We were more than satisfied with these goals - our room had a wonderful view, and the room was gorgeous. The bed was a highlight - probably the nicest hotel bed I've ever slept in. The hotel itself is beautiful, with plenty of gorgeous vistas as well. On the other hand, the architecture is not built for privacy. The openness echoes noise from the weddings and bars to the rooms. This led to a noisy experience at times. Overall, I would recommend it, but it wasn't the EPIC experience I had hoped for.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    108
    74
    38
    17
See reviews for
144
169
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very nice hotel with beautiful views and close to Rocky Mountain National Park
Close to downtown Estes shops
Peaceful and quiet with activities for family and children
Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with nice balconys

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

You're paying for the view. We didn't eat there after seeing the prices. Had to wait for our room at check-in. We weren't upset about it, but the person at the front desk gave us a couple free drink tickets so we could enjoy adult beverages at the bar(we thought that was very nice). Later when we went to use our free drink tickets, we were questioned by a bartender about them. Why did he feel the need to question us like children as to why we had them? We didn't like that we had to defend ourselves as to why were were given complementary beverages. Besides the fantastic view of Lake Estes, the free drinks were the only other great thing about our stay there.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake, otherwise you'll be looking at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsC422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Although we only could do a one night, last second "escape", the Estes Park Resort Lodge was perfect for my wife and I and did the trick.

First, it's location is perfect as you enter Estes Park it's one of the first hotels and it's easy access is great as the more you have to drive through this summer resort the greater the chance of grid lock and wasted time. It is located adjacent to the Marina and on the lake so the view of water and mountains is spectacular. It's pretty cool to walk a few feet and rent a boat or go fishing.

We had a great breakfast and afternoon/evening cocktails are a must do...whether inside or out the views are spectacular.

At check-in the staff was friendly and professional, and although we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, we found it to be very clean and comfortable. Yes, the rooms are quite pricey, but July in Estes Park is the busiest time of year so all hotels are at a premium price. We justified it as the price to pay to be in "Gods Country", and only can imagine what it costs for land value and trying to recruit employees in a remote area.


We look forward to a return visit and will never forget the incredible views here at Estes Park Resort.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Kent S,

Thank you for spending your short getaway with us in our wonderful mountain town! I am so happy to see that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan on returning. You are very right about Summer being peak season and usually expensive in Estes Park - we aim to provide amenities that will reflect the rates as well, including our heated pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room, game room, restaurant, bar, and massages and facials by appointment. If we can be of any assistance in booking your future stay with us, please let us know. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We paid almost $300 for it mainly for the location to the Rocky Mountain National Park. It was very pricey for what we got. Only ate breakfast once and it was not so great so I would not recommend it. The room is outdated. The young people working at the front desk were friendly but did not know some simple questions that we ask. The wifi was terrible and barely worked. I don't think we even saw a manager except once. We would not pay that much ever again for this place.

Room Tip: make sure you don't get the room in the bottom level.
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't feel they were environmentally conscious
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I am shocked at how much Estes Park Resort is charging for their dated rooms and shabby construction. The carpeting is tacky and old; the walls are paper thin; and the plumbing running through the surrounding rooms extremely loud. To top it off we actually found a bug made up in our bed........... gross!!!!! The front desk service is horrible!!!! We requested a room change due to how loud it was in our room because of the neighbors (above us and beside us) and we were put off and ignored THREE times. "We'll look into it and give you a call"...........LOL!!!!! The first floor / basement rooms are like dungeons and I can't even imagine paying close to $300 a night (room charge plus taxes and fees) with the remote possibility that you may be stuck there! To call this a "resort" is such a stretch of the truth it is laughable. Honestly, there are plenty of places to choose from in Estes Park that you would be much happier with!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HeatherS913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

When you arrive at the hotel, you are immediately refreshed by the view. The hotel and room appearance is nice and clean. However, the entry way to my room had a strong odor of urine the entire time. The bed was very comfortable with the bedding and restroom clean. I might stay here again, but definitely not in the same room.

Room Tip: Request a room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Property: The Estes Park Resort
Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8928
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park
The Estes Park Resort CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing