We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Estes Park Resort
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We had a good time out there. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool a lot. The rooms were clean. We has great view. The morning coffee was good as well. There was enough parking space unlike some other hotel in Estes park

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Zooste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Zooste1,

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to share your experience! It seems like you enjoyed your stay overall and has the opportunity to take advantage of some of our in-house amenities. Next time you are in Estes Park, I highly recommend our restaurant - we are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. One of our most popular dishes is our Elk Tenderloin. I hope that you will join us again next time you are in Estes Park. If we can be of assistance in planning your next trip to the area, please feel free to give us a call at the front desk and any of our dedicated Guest Service Representatives would be happy to assist you (970-577-6400).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    109
    74
    38
    17
See reviews for
146
169
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Loved the Estes Park Resort. First off the staff were really helpful and the customer service was excellent. The resort had a busy weekend with several weddings. The staff went out of there way to make sure that our experience was great. Our room wasn't quite ready at the 4:00 check in time, so we were both (my husband and I) complimented with two cocktails. We sat on the deck looking over the lake and the beautiful mountains. When we got to our room, we found the room to be very delightful. Iron board, iron, robes, coffee pot, microwave, refrigerator, all the amenities were included. Although we didn't have a lake front view, it didn't matter as it took us two minutes to walk around to the lake. The beds were plenty comfortable, and we had a lot of movies to choose from on television. I loved the fact that the staff always had fresh baked cookies and lemonade in the afternoon and hot coffee in the morning. The feature I really liked was the work out facilities - I didn't have to miss a beat with my work-out and the equipment was great. I had the work out room to myself most of the time and got into the hot tub afterward. We didn't get to eat at the restaurant, but we when had our complimentary cocktails, the wait staff was great. You can't beat the views. I could have slept out on the deck to enjoy it all. Make sure you enjoy the pontoon boats at $44.00 an hour. We took a boat out and had a blast on the lake. This was a really fun trip for us and we thank the Estes Park Resort for making it enjoyable

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hubbs52016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Suzersnews,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other guests! I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, we do our best to make sure that all guest rooms are ready by 4pm but if for any reason they are not, we will try to make our guests as comfortable as possible while waiting. While not all of our guest rooms have the Lake and Mountain views, we do have the balcony on the restaurant where all of our guests can enjoy the majestic Rocky Mountains. I hope that next time you are in Estes Park you will choose to stay with us again and perhaps dine in our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We went to EP Resort for meetings last week. Their website looked so good we decided to add a few days before and after our meetings so we could enjoy the resort and the area. When we walked into the resort for check-in, we stood in front of the man at the front desk for nearly a minute before he even looked up and acknowledged us. That started our stay on a negative note. The front desk staff never said hello or seemed to notice when we entered. The rooms are quite outdated with a sink in the bedroom and none in the bathroom. Very little light and no fan in the bathroom. We went for breakfast around 7-7:30 two mornings: first morning stood and waited at least 5 minutes before we saw a server to even seat us (there were 3 other guests seated); second morning no other guests were in the dining room and after several minutes I went into the kitchen and finally found a cook who got the server. Service was poor... it took a very long time to get served and had to ask for more coffee. We didn't eat dinner there because there was no one else eating there which tells you something when most everyplace else in town has a long wait. Housekeepers were friendly and cleaned our room well but it didn't get cleaned until very late in the afternoon. Our meeting was held in a small boardroom for $100/day. They did not even provide water the first day but did the second day, when asked. Our group rate was $300/night for a room with a view. We checked out after 5 days and went to a Holiday Inn Express in Denver using points for that stay. The Holiday Inn Express experience was far better than that at Estes Park Resort. It is too bad that this staff does not understand that they are in the hospitality business! Don't be fooled by the lovely pictures on the website.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I were looking for an upscale hotel with a great view. We were more than satisfied with these goals - our room had a wonderful view, and the room was gorgeous. The bed was a highlight - probably the nicest hotel bed I've ever slept in. The hotel itself is beautiful, with plenty of gorgeous vistas as well. On the other hand, the architecture is not built for privacy. The openness echoes noise from the weddings and bars to the rooms. This led to a noisy experience at times. Overall, I would recommend it, but it wasn't the EPIC experience I had hoped for.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very nice hotel with beautiful views and close to Rocky Mountain National Park
Close to downtown Estes shops
Peaceful and quiet with activities for family and children
Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with nice balconys

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

You're paying for the view. We didn't eat there after seeing the prices. Had to wait for our room at check-in. We weren't upset about it, but the person at the front desk gave us a couple free drink tickets so we could enjoy adult beverages at the bar(we thought that was very nice). Later when we went to use our free drink tickets, we were questioned by a bartender about them. Why did he feel the need to question us like children as to why we had them? We didn't like that we had to defend ourselves as to why were were given complementary beverages. Besides the fantastic view of Lake Estes, the free drinks were the only other great thing about our stay there.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake, otherwise you'll be looking at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsC422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Although we only could do a one night, last second "escape", the Estes Park Resort Lodge was perfect for my wife and I and did the trick.

First, it's location is perfect as you enter Estes Park it's one of the first hotels and it's easy access is great as the more you have to drive through this summer resort the greater the chance of grid lock and wasted time. It is located adjacent to the Marina and on the lake so the view of water and mountains is spectacular. It's pretty cool to walk a few feet and rent a boat or go fishing.

We had a great breakfast and afternoon/evening cocktails are a must do...whether inside or out the views are spectacular.

At check-in the staff was friendly and professional, and although we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, we found it to be very clean and comfortable. Yes, the rooms are quite pricey, but July in Estes Park is the busiest time of year so all hotels are at a premium price. We justified it as the price to pay to be in "Gods Country", and only can imagine what it costs for land value and trying to recruit employees in a remote area.


We look forward to a return visit and will never forget the incredible views here at Estes Park Resort.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Kent S,

Thank you for spending your short getaway with us in our wonderful mountain town! I am so happy to see that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan on returning. You are very right about Summer being peak season and usually expensive in Estes Park - we aim to provide amenities that will reflect the rates as well, including our heated pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room, game room, restaurant, bar, and massages and facials by appointment. If we can be of any assistance in booking your future stay with us, please let us know. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Property: The Estes Park Resort
Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8928
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park
The Estes Park Resort CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing