We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground close to Estes Park and RMNP”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aspenglen Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park
Chatsworth, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice campground close to Estes Park and RMNP”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We made reservations early to ensure a spot at Aspenglen Campground the weekend of July 4th. We picked the site via recreation.gov. We had a very nice spot during a busy weekend. This is a nice campground in a NP especially compared to some other NP campgrounds, e.g. Yellowstone. Facilities are clean providing flush toilets and sinks. The grounds are well maintained and the campground has a nice intimate feel to it. We stayed at loop B site 15 which has shade and privacy.

EVen though the grounds are close to Estes Park for shopping, fire wood and ice can be purchased at the campground. Important for those on a motorcycle :)

Deer do visit the campground but I don't think there is a big chance to see any bears.

The campground is located right at the entrance of the park and offers a great way to start exploring.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Brand new restrooms were a bonus, although no showers. Clean and quiet for our visit. Pretty good room between sites. Just inside the park, so very close to Estes Park for any grocery or other needs. I did get the last bag of ice one night, so buy early.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
1,695 reviews
272 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 679 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place is great all around unless you are looking for a KOA experience. That is there are no showers, no hook ups, and not many people around! The sites are all nice and relatively flat. The restrooms are new and nice. Guaranteed to see wildlife here every morning. Views are stunning. Best campground IN the park. Reserve early!!

Room Tip: C loop if you want to run a generator at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was the first to enter the campground in 2014, as it opened just last Thursday, May 22. There were even elk droppings in the camp. I reserved Site C, which is the most-isolated of the spaces and situated under trees near the river. A perfect spot! My nephews were in the similarly-remote site E, also located near the river but without any tree cover. You just can't go wrong with any of the walk-in sites.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank BayouRnnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chickasha, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This particular campground is just before you go out the east entrance and right on the boundary of Rocky Mountain National Park. These are fairly basic campsites with trees. However, they offer no hookups and/or dump station whatsoever. Generators are allowed but only during various times throughout the morning and evening. There are picnic tables and fire rings at each site. This particular campground has nice restrooms but no showers. They also offer firewood, ice, lighter fuid, icecream bars and soft drinks...and this little shop is only open for a very few hours each day. There is a host ranger who lives at one of the campsites and also a park ranger in the office at the campground entry. Our particular campsite (38) was very basic however, we were toward the very back of the campground and it allowed us to have a huge open field directly behind our RV and an awesome view of the mountains. We even had some turkey right behind our RV. We also heard elk bugling all through the evening and did spot one upon the ridge. Overall, a very nice peaceful campground...but if you like noice, electricity and hookups for your RV...forget it. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We camp here a couple of times a year. Aspen glen is reservable and pretty with a creek the kids can play in., every time we go we discover another beautiful hike. The kids love o play around the Alluvial fan - you can climb next to the waterfalls. My favorite hike of all time is sky pond!!! 10 miles of pure bliss

Helpful?
6 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If entering RMNP from the East, this is a wonderful campground. It's at the base of the mountains so it's much more temperate (avoid freezing nights in the Summer). It's a stone's throw from the entrance to the park, but set back a good quarter mile so you're removed from all the park traffic. Our site was nice, though our neighbors were loud way past quiet time and I did not see a ranger to request them to quiet down.

Has drinking water and bathrooms. No showers. There is also a nightly ranger talk at 8:30pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Chaim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Shadows Resort
Mountain Shadows Resort
#48 of 78 in Estes Park
108 reviews
1.8 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#18 of 78 in Estes Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#35 of 78 in Estes Park
197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#42 of 78 in Estes Park
71 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspenglen Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspenglen Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park

Property: Aspenglen Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park
Address: 1000 US Highway 36, Estes Park, CO 80517-8311
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Aspenglen Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing