We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, gorgeous rooms, brilliant views....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McGregor Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Came for a week with my sons (ages 5-8) in March to snow shoe RMNP. Came to McGregor with high expectations and boy did it deliver. Staff recommendations for restaurants, hikes, shops, etc were invaluable. Rooms were perfect and by the end of the trip we all wanted to stay and work for the owners. Have and will continue to recommend McGregor to all who will listen! Plan to be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CALee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thanks for the kind remarks regarding McGregor and all we have to offer here in this little piece of heaven on Earth. I always tell my staff (prefer to think of them as my lodge family) that when WE do it right, we make it look easy, and believe me, you all aren't the first ones that have expressed an interest to work with us when the next job opening becomes available! Ha. The snow this year has been something I haven't seen in all my 20 years of living here! And that's particuliarly referring to what is in the park, as you probably noticed, we don't have all that much around the cabins on a regular basis, but drive into the park up to Bear Lake and its a whole different story. I was up there today snow shoeing, and there is a 76" base (yes, that's 6'4"!!) I keep telling folks that there are so many WONDERFUL seasons to see the park, even though summer is typically most popular, boy if you're not here in spring to see the snow, or here over the magical holiday seasons when the property is adorned with over 750,000 lights under blanket of white, you really are missing something.

Sure hope to see you all back at McGregor in the near future.
My Best,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our new favorite place to stay near Rocky Mountain National Park - Each cabin is unique and we had a wonderful time in Caretaker #1 - The Elk made their rounds a few times a day but seem to always be there just after our great hosts filled the many on site bird feeders - Enjoyed petting the dogs and just hanging out - Very relaxing after a day of hiking or snowshoeing in the local area

Room Tip: All are fine - Mostly depends on the size of your party or if you have young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Hi..Lefty and Little Boy, as well as us lodge owners, certainly appreciate the great feedback you shared with all our trip advisor users out there! It is certainly fun to see and witness firsthand the wildlife that visits us here at this little piece of heaven called McGregor Mountain Lodge. I'm fairly certain there is no other place on earth where you can, and will see such large magnificeint animals up close. We are all truly blessed to be such wonderful animals and soon, they will be moving up to higher elevations for the summer. But, we always know that come winter once again, we get to see them!
We all look forward to your return trip in 2014 and are so appreciative of you business!

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I can't say enough good things about mcgregor. The staff is SO friendly, and they bend over backwards to give you the best experience possible. My husband and I stayed in the Heather cottage for our honeymoon, and in the same cottage for a subsequent winter vacation. It's our favorite! Perfect little setup with a great kitchenette. Now that we have a daughter, we'll have to expand our choice of rooms. In the winter, they provide cider and generous amounts of firewood. We love the proximity to the north entrance to rmnp, and we love that it feels slightly removed from Estes park. Already counting down the days until we're there again in July!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Laura,

Thanks so much for your review of McGregor Mountain Lodge. We are already looking forward to the tempid summer days here in the rockies, and cool nights and welcoming you all back in July!

It has been such a snowy year for us, and it is good to see all the moisture. I imagine mountain lakes will be filled to the brim and the wildflowers should be nothing less than spectacular for your July visit.

We hope you all are having a great spring, and July will be here before you know it.

See you all soon!

Chris and the crew at McGregor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My family and I try to stay at McGregor anytime we can. The staff is very friendly and always able to help out with anything you need. The views are unbelievable. And where else can the kids see Elk coming right up to the window to say hello. Perfect place to stay in Estes Park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Allen,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us a McGregor this past November. We hope things are starting to warm up and become more spring like in IA! We have had so much snow these past several months in the Mts, I know there are drifts up in the Bear Lake area over 15' deep. Should be an amazing spring with the run-off and spring thaw. I imagine the rivers will be full, and the waterfalls fantastic along with the spring flowers.

We wish you all the best from the crew at McGregor Mountain Lodge, and hope to see you all again sometime soon.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Real wood fireplaces, great views, animals everywhere, and phenomenal service with a warm cozy lodge. Great get away weather a small cabin for a couple or a larger one for friends and family. The lodge had fresh apple cider in the crock pot, and decaf coffee at night. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Heather... Thanks so much for your kind words. Its amazing the love and support we get from our guests, and we love that we are able to share such a beautiful part of our country with so many people from around the world.

We wish you the best in the spring season, and hopefully we get to see you all soon before the busy summer!
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We had the most wonderful stay. Our cabin was so warm and cozy while it snowed outside. There were a ton of birds to watch at all the feeders. And there were at least 2 bull elk roaming around. The hostess (I think her name was Jeann) was so nice and helpful. The place is spotlessly clean. Due to our schedule we could only stay one night, but I'm trying to plan when we can go back again for a week! I can't wait!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FamilyVacationJuly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi Guys! Thanks so much for your GREAT review, you helped secure us in the TOP 5 out of 74 specialty lodgings in Estes Park. As we strive to be the best in the Colorao/Rocky region your review means a lot to us! We certainly look forward to having you back with us for a longer stay next time around. Wont be long now and our 500+ spring bulbs will be pushing through to welcome us spring...at least, I hope! Have a great rest of your Monday and we certainly look forward to your return trip.
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I have stayed at McGregor for years. We always say we are going to go somewhere different on vacation, but when it comes down to it there is no place better than McGregor and Rocky Mountain National Park. Wildlife viewing, comfortable and clean cabins, and friendly staff is just a start to what you can expect. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dee,

Thanks for your kind remarks and wonderful recommendation. But, foremost, thanks for your McGregor loyalty. It means so much to us at McGregor that you all return time and again to be with us at this "little slice of heaven in the Rockies!" We always appreciate the guests that come year after year (and sometimes even multiple times a year), as you all truly become a part of our "lodge family." Happy Valentine's Day, and we look forward to welcoming you back to this lovely part of the country soon!
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
84 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#33 of 78 in Estes Park
286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#14 of 78 in Estes Park
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGregor Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGregor Mountain Lodge

Address: 2815 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9212
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: £60 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the serenity of the Rocky Mountains with breathtaking views from each of our stand alone cabins, or fully equipped suites. All our units come with kitchens, and the newly renovated and well maintained cabins and suites also have wood burning fireplaces, private patios with BBQ for that summer's eve cookout, jetted bath tubs with access by reservation to our private hot tub. Adjacent to Rocky Mountain National Park (1/2 Mile to US 34-Fall River Entrance) and just a 5 minute drive to the quaint village of Estes Park, McGregor boasts some of the most spectacular views in the area. Enjoy frequent visits from our resident wildlife that include large bull elk, mule deer, foxes, coyotes, and the Rocky Mountain big horn sheep. A myriad of birds frequent our bird feeders strategically placed (and filled daily) at each cabin so you never have to leave the comfort of your "home" to observe these winged and furry critters. Enjoy a warm cup of tea/coffee or spiced cider (seasonal) in our inviting lobby while visiting with our friendly staff about your day hikes and adventures in the surrounding area. Fresh baked chocolate cookies will welcome you every afternoon, a wide selection of reading materials, books and magazines, games and puzzles are free for your perusing while here at McGregor. Open Year-Round, with seasonal rates, and discounts for extended stays. Weekly rates available. Dogs are allowed in select cabins for a charge. Late check outs available upon request for additional fee. WI-FI High speed internet FREE and available throughout the property. We look forward to introducing you to a little bit of heaven, right here on Earth! Call now!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mcgregor Mountain Hotel Estes Park
McGregor Mountain Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing