We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Restful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McGregor Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Keller, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Restful Stay!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at McGregor Mountain Lodge for 3 days on our August vacation. We wanted to stay someplace outside of the town area, someplace more remote. McGregor is about 4 miles out of town toward Rocky Mountain National Park. Close enough to town to be convenient, but far enough away to be more private. Our stay was a welcome break from my fast paced life.

We enjoyed just sitting on our personal rustic wooden swing and hearing the wind blow thru the trees. We got a real kick out of the chipmunks and ground squirrels who came right up to us. We also enjoyed the hummingbirds who frequently visited the feeders by our room. So quiet we could hear their wings humming.

The team at McGregor obviously take great pride in this property. It was in great shape! The folks in the office were very friendly and personable. We stayed in unit #16, which was part of a 4-plex rustic building. Despite having neighbors, everything was very quiet - until I accidentally set off my car's panic alarm at 6:30 one morning.

I will definitely stay here again when returning to the Estes Park area. I'm sure you won't be disappointed if you decide to stay here as well.

Room Tip: If you want a separate chalet or cabin, it's best to book early as those were occupied when we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55ChevyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks for your time in writing a review of McGregor Mountain Lodge so that others may help experience and know what we are all about!

The birds are always fun to watch. One guest once asked, seeing us unload a pick up truck of Birdseed, just how much bird seed do you all go through in a year!? Well, the latest, and most recent calculation was aproximately 4400 lbs! Thats a lot of bird seed. Thanks to some of the resident wildlife, most often seen in the Oct-May time frame, the birds aren't the only ones eating the seed.

It is a joy to see all the animals, hear the enthusiasm echoing from your voices at the various wildlife sightings, and how rewarding it is to hear so many times that individuals are staying with us for the first time because their good friends recommended us to them.

Hope you have a great fall, and we look forward to seeing you back with us soon!

Chris, Michael, Susan, Carlos, Steve, Amanda, Izzie and the pups!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    22
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
89
98
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My wife and I have spent a total of 20 days at McGregor in the last 3 years. It has never failed to impress. The staff is wonderful, rooms spotless, and the full kitchen is a real money saver. We prefer to go during the off-season when it is peaceful. I would recommend either early November or April for great rates and outstanding scenery with NO CROWDS! We prefer the Upper Chalet because of the view. The local wildlife (elk, deer, big-horn sheep, fox and turkey) are constantly on display on the lodge grounds. A great place to kick back and relax. Won't stay anywhere else in Estes Park!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Stephen,

Thanks so much for your review! We certainly appreciate your loyalty to McGregor as well. It feels like fall (maybe even a bit of winter in the air) today as the peaks are socked in and I'm just waiting for the sun to come out and reveal the snow on top! At least, I'm guessing it will do that. Will see.

We appreciate your kind remarks, and always strive to build our business with maintaining and improving the property we have. We love that guests leave here thinking of the next time they will return. Our entire staff's vision is helping people leave here in a better place than when they came. Both mentally, and spiritually...rejuvenated.

Thanks again for sharing, and we look forward to your next visit.

Chris, Michael, Susan, Carlos, Steve, Amanda and Izzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated my retirement with a first time ever adventure to the Rocky Mountains and stayed in Chalet #16 for seving stargazing nights. Chris and his entire staff lived up to previous blogs with exceptional hospitality which includes lobby amenities, most friendly owner and staff dogs on the planet, and personal evening chats about lodge history and area attractions. As an experienced traveler with over a million frequent flyer miles, my experience tells me that McGregor Mountain Lodge surpasses all expectations after careful review of blogs and recent reviews. Our room was well equipped with wood burning fire all week, room service was fantastic, guests at large were extremely courteous and respectful of one another, and the mountain views were just like a slice of heaven. Believe me when we tell you that this is a best value property, well maintained, best in class staffed, with trusted reviews. My hats off to Chris and staff for all the fantastic memories and hoping this feedback brings your lodge many, many happy customers in the future as was our experience.
Bob and Sherry from Cincinnati, OH and recent retiree from Procter & Gamble whom just happened to be lodging adjacent to another previously unknown retiree as pleasant surprise,

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
HI Bob and Sherry!

Thanks so much for sharing with others your experience here at McGregor Mountain Lodge. Was fun to meet both of you and have you with us in what we consider just a "bit O' heaven on Earth!" Hope both of you have a lovely rest of your summer, and pleasant fall season ahead!

It won't be long now and we'll start seeing the regular "guests" back around property including regular, and often daily visits from our big elk....Brat, Lefty, Little Boy and Big Boy! Always fun to "live among the animals." Seems too that fall is quickly approaching, and with that comes the change of weather as well as cooler temps and eventually too snow up on the higher peaks. Always a beautiful time of year to cozy up by the wood burning fireplace and watch the world go by. Or the animals, and birds for that matter!

All the best, and we hope to see you here again with us soon!

Chris, Michael, Susan, Carlos, Steve and Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign IL
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We planned to spend several days in Rocky Mountain National Park, but some of us whose joints are not so nimble preferred to sleep in a real bed. After rejecting lots of overpriced and routine-looking listings for hotels in Estes Park, we stumbled across a listing for McGregor and managed to reserve a room for a four-night stay. The room turned out to be a cozy little cabin, attached to another one but with a welcoming
outside porch entrance. For two people, it had all we needed and much we wouldn't have expected. Every day, we enjoyed raising the blinds and taking in the spectacular Deer Mountain from the beautiful bay windows. One day I enjoyed just sitting on the porch watching the hummingbirds, magpies, ground squirrels and chipmunks go about their business. Most amazingly, our first morning there we were greeted by an elk who had ambled in to steal the hummingbird nectar and bird feed. Apparently he's a regular, just one more McGregor resident. Very special credit goes to the wonderful Susan, who called us on our way in from Denver to give us tips on where to eat on the way in to McGregor, and even called back to leave detailed directions on my voicemail. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to the area, we'll plan to stay here again, and make it a longer stay.

Room Tip: Room 8A, probably the cheapest one on the property, has a spectacular bay window and hummingbird fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi Joyce!

So glad you are back safely home in IL! Thanks again for staying with us and learning just what it is that makes McGregor Mountain Lodge different from all the other places to stay in Estes Park. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, and do wish you a return someday...for a longer stay too perhaps!

Hope you have a glorious fall as the kids return back to school we see cooler temperatures, more frequent visits from our lodge crittiers...namely the Elk that you got to meet and his "buddies" and soon the Big Horn sheep show up too! A little slice of heaven I'd have to say!

All the best, and thanks for taking the time to share your experience, and post pictures, with other potential guests!

Chris, Michael, Susan, Carlos, Steve, Amanda, Izzie and the pups!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was my third stay at McGregor. It's a perfect place to relax. We were in Columbine #7 and it was just perfect. The grounds are meticulously maintained. The cabin had comfortable furniture and bed and it was very clean! They knew we had three in our party and even added a third chair to our patio prior to arrival. We sat in those chairs and enjoyed the great view. The owner and staff are genuinely nice and helpful. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Nancy,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at McGregor Mountain Lodge with others! We also appreciate your return trips to the Mts and choosing McGregor time and again over the many other options here in Estes Park. It wont be long that we will be seeing our Big Horn sheep down and around the property.

If you are a frequent visitor, and like to escape the city in the winter months, you may want to check out our Winter Pass which works for ANY 5 WEEKNIGHTS in the Winter time (Oct 21-Memorial Day next year--excluding holiday periods) for just $599! Use em all at once, or come 2 nights, here and there, or just one night at a time. Seems to have been very popular with our guests who like to visit us throughout the wonderfully majestic winter season.

Hope to see you all again soon! And all our best for a happy and safe fall.

Chris, Michael, Susan, Carlos, Steve, Amanda, Izzie and the pups!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family and I stayed here for a family vacation, August 5th-August 7th, 2014. It was so incredible! The cabin was absolutely perfect--cozy, with everything one would need. It was CLEAN, as well. The highlight of the trip, aside from much-needed family time, was seeing the abundant wildlife around the area. My fiancée and I are getting married in less than a month, and this trip was exactly what we needed to unwind before our big day. Thanks so much for making it a wonderful, memorable vacation!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea64506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Andrea,

It was so great having you both with us (if even only for a few days) before your big event! We send our heartfelt congratulations to both of you as you embark on this wonderful journey of life with each other. Wishing you all the best in your planning as your special day approaches, and hope to see you both back with us soon. Perhaps a bit of an "unwind" once you need to refocus again!

Have a most blessed and happy Wedding day, and thanks so much for choosing McGregor Mountain Lodge and taking the time to write a review for us.

Chris, Michael, Susan, Carlos, Steve, Amanda and Izzie (Pups too!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in chalet #18 for four nights and it was perfect. The view can't be beat, the service was friendly and helpful, the room was super clean and comfortable. The only negative was one night our neighbors had their tv on loud and we could hear it as if it was our own. This is no fault of the lodge and it would not keep me from staying here again. The location was wonderful as well...far enough from town to be quiet but close enough to have everything at your finger tips. I hope to be able to visit here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiLuvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
To our Fellow Floridian Friends!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is important to us that you are happy in every way, and tho you are right that there isn't much we could do about the TV Neighbor "sound" it is indeed on our "fixes". Have looked into insulating walls, etc, just was set a bit back with floods of last year, and fires the year before that. I'm sorry they had they TV on too loud... You are right however that Chalet Suite 18 boasts some of the finest views on the property (tho they are all pretty darn good!) I hope you have a great rest of your summer (what is left) and that we do get to see you all with us back soon!

Our best to all of you, and as always, we sincerely appreciate your business!

Chris, Michal, Susan, Carlos, Steve, Amanda , Izzie and the Pups!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
1.7 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
593 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
280 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#12 of 78 in Estes Park
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGregor Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGregor Mountain Lodge

Property: McGregor Mountain Lodge
Address: 2815 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9212
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the serenity of the Rocky Mountains with breathtaking views from each of our stand alone cabins, or fully equipped suites. All our units come with kitchens, and the newly renovated and well maintained cabins and suites also have wood burning fireplaces, private patios with BBQ for that summer's eve cookout, jetted bath tubs with access by reservation to our private hot tub. Adjacent to Rocky Mountain National Park (1/2 Mile to US 34-Fall River Entrance) and just a 5 minute drive to the quaint village of Estes Park, McGregor boasts some of the most spectacular views in the area. Enjoy frequent visits from our resident wildlife that include large bull elk, mule deer, foxes, coyotes, and the Rocky Mountain big horn sheep. A myriad of birds frequent our bird feeders strategically placed (and filled daily) at each cabin so you never have to leave the comfort of your "home" to observe these winged and furry critters. Enjoy a warm cup of tea/coffee or spiced cider (seasonal) in our inviting lobby while visiting with our friendly staff about your day hikes and adventures in the surrounding area. Fresh baked chocolate cookies will welcome you every afternoon, a wide selection of reading materials, books and magazines, games and puzzles are free for your perusing while here at McGregor. Open Year-Round, with seasonal rates, and discounts for extended stays. Weekly rates available. Dogs are allowed in select cabins for a charge. Late check outs available upon request for additional fee. WI-FI High speed internet FREE and available throughout the property. We look forward to introducing you to a little bit of heaven, right here on Earth! Call now!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mcgregor Mountain Hotel Estes Park
McGregor Mountain Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing